PDA

View Full Version : Avast



hp4200
29-12-2010, 12:45 AM
Hi
My wife used Avast on her notebook. She uninstalled the program and tried to install MSE but on restarting, the computer did not work.

could anyone tell me the proper procedure to uninstall avast and install MSE please? She is using a TOSHIBA notebook with Windows Vista. Tks

gary67
29-12-2010, 06:55 AM
Uninstall it using something like Ccleaner then do a reg scan with the same program see if that removes it fully

SP8's
29-12-2010, 08:18 AM
I assume it's a legit version of Vista ... MSE wont work unless it is and has been verified.
That being said ... +1 for Gary's suggestion.

jackM
29-12-2010, 08:47 AM
http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

smurf
29-12-2010, 09:05 AM
Try this uninstaller. http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_free_download.html

hp4200
29-12-2010, 09:16 AM
Uninstall it using something like Ccleaner then do a reg scan with the same program see if that removes it fully
Hi Gary
Your suggestion worked perfectly. Thank you
Thank you to SP8's, JackM and Smurf

problem now is that whenever computer is started, there is a popup from avast " License key is not entered".
any suggestion how to get rid of it?

SP8's
29-12-2010, 09:28 AM
That should have been removed when you did the reg scan with CCleaner ... Try jackM's uninstall utility ... seems a bit odd tho

feersumendjinn
29-12-2010, 09:49 AM
Could try this
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902

PPp
29-12-2010, 12:09 PM
I would reinstall Avast and then use Revo Uninstaller on it, and ccleaner afterwards just in case.

PENTIUM
30-12-2010, 01:13 PM
Avast offers options when you follow the Windows uninstall procedure. You might well take the time to take all the steps that Avast then takes you through. I did one this morning successfully and then installed MSE.

hp4200
30-12-2010, 01:19 PM
Thank you guys. I will try suggestions here and see how goes. Hopefully the problem will be resolved. Much obliged

hp4200
30-12-2010, 01:40 PM
Hi Guys. jackM's suggestion worked well. no more pop-up. I did not start the computer in safe mode however asw5clear utility worked.

Thank you all.