PDA

View Full Version : foobar2000 playlist



goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 04:35 PM
Ok, i've loaded my playlist from xp back into foobar2000 in 7.

The only problem is, that the mp3 file paths are different in 7.

How can i get foobar2000 to search for the new file paths?

I really don't want to have to make a new playlist as i have lots of songs and it would take me hours to get them in exactly the same order.

wratterus
23-12-2010, 04:45 PM
Never used foobar myself but if the worst comes to the worst you could just re-create the old file path...

Zippity
23-12-2010, 04:53 PM
Load i-tunes instead :)

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 04:55 PM
Load i-tunes instead :)

iTunes is bloated, stupid, and Apple. I refuse to use anything made by Apple Computers.

GameJunkie
23-12-2010, 07:03 PM
but it (just) works

Zippity
23-12-2010, 07:32 PM
iTunes is bloated, stupid, and Apple. I refuse to use anything made by Apple Computers.

Good for you, but it works and is much better than poobar :clap:clap

I used to have FB installed on my PC but I got rid of it in favour of the Apple product that you so despise :)

Each to his own I guess.

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 07:33 PM
Is anybody gonna actually answer my question?

wainuitech
23-12-2010, 07:42 PM
What was the path to the music in the Old XP ?

Was it C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\My Documents\ My Music

One easy way, is mainly for future use, not now. Move the whole music collection to the root of C drive, Eg: C:\Music OR have the music on a separate drive, E for example, that way it will never change.

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 07:45 PM
What was the path to the music in the Old XP ?

One easy way, is mainly for future use, not now. Move the whole music collection to the root of C drive, Eg: C:\Music OR have the music on a separate drive, E for example, that way it will never change.

Most of my music was on my secondary drive, which was C:, because remember, when i had XP the drive letters somehow got the wrong way around. Now i have win7, they are correct, c: is my windows drive and D: is my secondary with E and F as my dvd drives.

I'm able to locate the files then re add them to the playlist and delete the old ones, but that'll take me days.

wainuitech
23-12-2010, 07:55 PM
So the folder containing the Music is C:\Music Folder ?

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 07:56 PM
So the folder containing the Music is C:\Music Folder ?

There is some in the My Music Folder.

But most of it is spread across in different folders in Downloads folder on my secondary drive.

bob_doe_nz
23-12-2010, 08:08 PM
Why not modify the playlist in a text editor?

Find and replace the path to whatever the directory (or directories) contain the music.

Chilling_Silence
23-12-2010, 08:15 PM
What bob_doe_nz said, basically playlists such as .m3u or .pls are just plaintext files that you can open in Notepad or Wordpad :)

Fire it up in Wordpad and Ctrl + H for find + replace

kahawai chaser
23-12-2010, 08:24 PM
foobar2000 has a command line (http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Foobar2000:Commandline_Guide), so possible to rename/make directories in bulk. But of course you need to know the command switches and commands.

There are are bulk file/directory rename utilities (http://bulk-rename-utility.bulk-rename-utility.blueprograms.com/) that may help.

Or another way is try a tag editor, i.e. see if can import the play list files, edit (including titles, etc), then export.

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 08:30 PM
All i need to do is change the C: to a D: and vice versa on some files, (in the playlist of course. not moving the files)

the playlist format is .fpl

Chilling_Silence
23-12-2010, 08:31 PM
...and if you open it in Wordpad ?

wainuitech
23-12-2010, 08:32 PM
Right - GOT IT.:punk Well worked on One i just made up any way. Foobar saves the play lists as .fpl -- which cant be changed in a txt editor and work. ( I tried)

This is what I did and it worked.

1st -- Save the current playlist - file/Save Playlist. ( this is only a back up).

NOW the actual work -- click the play list File/ Save playlist - from the drop down box Save as M3u Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Playlist.jpg). Save it some place easy to get to.

Open Notepad -- File open/ ( on the right bottom - select all files) Navigate to the play list. M3u file you just saved. You will see the playlist --- From Notepad - Edit/ Replace -- in the top box ( find what) type in the current folder location as shown in the path right up to the point of the actual folder the music is in - in the Next box, type in the new location - hit replace all. The new location will now show. Save the file.

Example Only:Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Example1293089927.jpg) -- Notice first My music is taken out. (You would see the actual Playlist

Go back to Foobar -- ( ignore all old playlists) File /Load Play list --Navigate to the altered playlist ( .M3u) Teh Music "should now play' Assuming it does -- delete the old playlist.

NOW this will only work if all the music is in one main folder or sub folder within that folder -- not scattered all over the place.

EDITED: Its one hell a lot harder to write than to do :rolleyes:

kahawai chaser
23-12-2010, 08:44 PM
Since you have scattered mp3 directories, you may want to consider a mp3 organizer, and re-tag/rename/export play lists for your player. Something like mp3 cat (http://www.wizetech.com/amc/) or the popular media monkey (http://www.mediamonkey.com/) (free version) or The Godfather (http://www.jtclipper.eu/thegodfather/)

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 08:46 PM
Right - GOT IT.:punk Well worked on One i just made up any way. As chill said, foobar saves the play lists as .fpl -- which cant be changed in a txt editor.

This is what I did and it worked.

1st -- Save the current playlist - file/Save Playlist. ( this is only a back up).

NOW the actual work -- click the play list File/ Save playlist - from the drop down box Save as M3u Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Playlist.jpg). Save it some place easy to get to.

Open Notepad -- File open/ ( on the right bottom - select all files) Navigate to the play list. M3u file you just saved. You will see the playlist --- From Notepad - Edit/ Replace -- in the top box ( find what) type in the current folder location as shown in the path right up to the point of the actual folder the music is in - in the Next box, type in the new location - hit replace all. The new location will now show. Save the file.

Example Only:Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Example1293089927.jpg) -- Notice first My music is taken out. (You would see the actual Playlist

Go back to Foobar -- ( ignore all old playlists) File /Load Play list --Navigate to the altered playlist ( .M3u) Teh Music "should now play' Assuming it does -- delete the old playlist.

NOW this will only work if all the music is in one main folder or sub folder within that folder -- not scattered all over the place.

EDITED: Its one hell a lot harder to write than to do :rolleyes:

These are the bits i need to change, but it will only highlight the whole lines

wainuitech
23-12-2010, 08:58 PM
Open Edit / Replace.

( you can high light the text or type it in)

Top box (Find What)
D:\Documents and Settings\Nathan\My Documents (note: no \ here)

Bottom box(Replace With)

C:

Hit Replace all ----- That will then change EVERY file that says

D:\Documents and Settings\Nathan\My Documents\Downloads to C:\Downloads


The little dog log that has C:\Downloads\S_BG I assume you want to read D :\Downloads\

How many are there ?? --- ( please don't say the rest) :horrified If those are only a few, you will have to do them manually 1 at a time, OR move them to the Current C drive.

goodiesguy
23-12-2010, 09:14 PM
Open Edit / Replace.

( you can high light the text or type it in)

Top box (Find What)
D:\Documents and Settings\Nathan\My Documents (note: no \ here)

Bottom box(Replace With)

C:

Hit Replace all ----- That will then change EVERY file that says

D:\Documents and Settings\Nathan\My Documents\Downloads to C:\Downloads


The little dog log that has C:\Downloads\S_BG I assume you want to read D :\Downloads\

How many are there ?? --- ( please don't say the rest) :horrified If those are only a few, you will have to do them manually 1 at a time, OR move them to the Current C drive.

Thank you soo much!! it worked!

wainuitech
23-12-2010, 09:16 PM
Sweet :thumbs: --- That'll cost ya -- making us think this time of the year and night :p :lol: :lol: