PDA

View Full Version : Help with buying a PC for video editing

Jessicagee
20-12-2010, 09:18 PM
I'm on the market for a new computer for HD video editing, as my old one can not cope and is well past upgrading. I'm far from an expert in regards to computers but have a budget of $1300 roughly and happy to buy of trademe. Apart from needing at least 8gb ram an at least a 1tb HDD and having no integrated graphics I'm open to suggestions (I also own a copy of Win7 64bit from my old computer). I am using Adobe Premiere for editing with 1080p 60fps footage so it can be very taxing. Really I'm just after someone to post a link and someone else to back them up and hopefully I'll be editing by next week. :thumbs:
I've tried to research AM vs Intel... but there seems to be a lot of conflicting advice so I've given up and hoping someone in the know can help.
Kind regards, Jessica. :thanks
http://www.trademe.co.nz/mcat-0002-4715-4717-/page-6/sort_order-buynow_desc.htm

Nomad
20-12-2010, 09:21 PM
TM might not be that cheap if you are looking for a relatively grunty machine.

Have you checked prices at say computerlounge.co.nz?

TM is good for 2nd hand clerical PCs for the mostly Ordinary Joe and Jane.

I suggest you look at a i7 CPU if you can afford it, or a i5, 8GB as you said, HDD as you said, any compatible motherboard should be fine if you are not overclocking etc...

Got a screen yet.

PS. The video card, any one should be fine if you are not in games as long as it free's up the system shared video RAM by not getting onboard.

Jessicagee
20-12-2010, 09:32 PM
Thanks Nomad really cool advice, I do have a screen a 42" LCD so def all good their. I just had a quick look but keep running into gaming pc's which are probably similar, what would you suggest? Thanks for the quick reply.

Speedy Gonzales
20-12-2010, 09:32 PM