PDA

View Full Version : Simple power cord help



CaptainVincent
17-12-2010, 02:19 PM
Kiaora everyone. Just bought a new power supply (600W) for my new computer but it didn't come with a power cord as it was second hand.

Of course the input for the power cord on the power supply is exactly like my other power supplies that were 250W or even 400W.

I was just wondering whether all power supplies use the same universal cord as my other ones as it appears to fit perfectly, also is it safe.

Thank you very much.

wratterus
17-12-2010, 02:32 PM
It's fine - they all use a standard IEC C13 lead.

CaptainVincent
17-12-2010, 02:43 PM
Awesome. Also the cord says 10A 250V~ does this play any significance?

inphinity
17-12-2010, 02:56 PM
They're all the same, until you get up to the high-current / high-voltage enterprise devices.

dugimodo
17-12-2010, 03:00 PM
perfectly fine, 10A rated @ 250V = 2500W.

The outlet itself is rated at 10A so you should never be drawing any more than that.
They are standard cords.