PDA

View Full Version : wifi repeater mode ?

10-12-2010, 03:48 PM
Hi there
Has any one has some experience with (newer) wifi hubs in repeater mode??
good, flaky, avoid??

If it is solid & reliable it would be a good option for some homes with wifi across multiple floors or a option for poor wifi signal in parts of the house/office

I have a Dlink I'm trialing, Dlink recommends that WZC NOT be used as the network connector needs to be bound to only one of the wifi hubs mac address's : which is not possible with WZC but possible with some OEM wireless drivers/software.

Cheers
-------------
WZC=Windows Zero Config, ie the std win wifi select/connect tool
:)

BBCmicro
10-12-2010, 08:41 PM
I can't help you (I'm not a professional) but I have often wondered about that. It would be nice to simply plonk a wireless repeater upstairs to improve the signal. ie, wireless receive - packet into buffer - wireless transmit. The only 'routing' being not retransmitting packets that have nothing to do with the wanted network.

Obviously there would be a significant throughput hit because each end of the link would get its own packets echoed back. Plus there would be overspill directly between the two ends. I wouldn't be surprised if throughput went down by a factor of 4 (But the signal would be strong!)

If the repeater had cat5 on one port it could distinguish the two directions...
Unfortunately where I live it is very difficult to get a cable between floors

jwil1
10-12-2010, 10:33 PM
I have done this, between a Belkin router and a ASUS WL502gU running DD-WRT for about a year. Worked, but really slow. I tested it by copying a file across it - and going by Windows 7s' file copy dialog, was going at about 600kb/s! I also noticed the Internet was faster on the main router too.

I also managed to get it to hand off the wireless connection to whichever router was closer :)

Chilling_Silence
11-12-2010, 07:47 AM