PDA

View Full Version : Freezing computer?



EviLClouD
25-11-2010, 07:55 PM
My computer has started freezing quite a few times over the past couple of days and i dont know why.
It has happened mainly while playing modern warfare 2 or black ops, and once happened when the computer was just left idle.

Never had this problem until i done the following...
- updated graphics driver
- installed new secondary hard drive
- cleaned the dust from comp
- updated mouse + keyboard drivers and firmware

I dont think any of those could have caused the freezing though?
I have a slight feeling it could be the graphics card overheating, but not 100% sure.

Computer is running...
q9450 2.66ghz
4gb ddr2 1066
8800gts 512mb
windows 7 professional

Any ideas on what the problem could be?
Many thanks in advance.

Speedy Gonzales
25-11-2010, 07:57 PM
Scanned it for malware?? Boot into safe mode see if it freezes

EviLClouD
25-11-2010, 09:48 PM
Scanned it for malware?? Boot into safe mode see if it freezes

No malware.
Safe mode doesnt help as it seems to freeze only when playing games. Normal day to day activities dont affect it.
I've just tried playing cod before and it lags both offline and online plus graphics look poor even though no settings have been changed since the last time it was fine.

Are there any programs that can test hardware? To see if cpu/ram/graphics is working properly?

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
25-11-2010, 09:54 PM
check the ram with memtest. Whats the mobo?

wainuitech
25-11-2010, 10:28 PM
Are there any programs that can test hardware? To see if cpu/ram/graphics is working properly? Try these (http://www.passmark.com/) - Passmark software.
The performance test will give the PC a hiding performace wise, and give a result.

The Burnin test, Click on The configuration (http://www.passmark.com/products/bit_screenshot.htm) up top ( scroll down that page to the bottom to see its options window) - untick the ones you dont want, tick the ones you want. It takes about 15 - 20 minutes to run, you will get a whole lot of windows opening, sounds, really hammering the hardware/ drivers etc all at once - From memory you can crank up the loads to 100% - make sure you have a CD or DVD in the drive that about 1/4+ used.

As the warning pops up and says -- ( cant remember the exact wording) these tests CAN make hardware fail -- read as blow up !!! I've had one graphic card go raaaaasssspppppp half way through ------- Bugger -- but found the fault :D

pctek
26-11-2010, 07:18 AM
- updated mouse + keyboard drivers and firmware


Why?

SolMiester
26-11-2010, 09:11 AM
PC Freezing is usually a RAM issue or Hardware API, in this case you have updated drivers for your GPU.
I would be checking temps while gaming, the 88xx is getting long in the tooth, could be your dusting has disrupted airflow cooling for the GPU hence the lockup while gaming...

EviLClouD
26-11-2010, 10:06 PM
check the ram with memtest. Whats the mobo?

Memtest passed with no errors. I will attempt other tests now.
Motherboard is Gigabyte EX38-DQ6


PC Freezing is usually a RAM issue or Hardware API, in this case you have updated drivers for your GPU.
I would be checking temps while gaming, the 88xx is getting long in the tooth, could be your dusting has disrupted airflow cooling for the GPU hence the lockup while gaming...

I've got temp log from GPU-Z. Seems alright? However GPU load jumps to 98/99% at its peak?

Here's a copy of the log.
http://www.mediafire.com/?oeqrykwu0zzkp9i

Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
26-11-2010, 10:32 PM
Have a read of this (http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?p=3268967). Same mobo.

EviLClouD
26-11-2010, 10:47 PM
Results from Performance test...
http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/4062/39182874.jpg
http://img202.imageshack.us/img202/6894/74528316.jpg
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/460/cpurr.jpg
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/3285/diskl.jpg
http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/8485/memorypt.jpg


Have a read of this (http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/showthread.php?p=3268967). Same mobo.

Mine seems to be different? I've got the F3 BIOS. There is no F9 for it?
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=2760&dl=1#bios

Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
26-11-2010, 10:56 PM
I think their versions are from other sites, not GB's. Thats why theyre not on the GB site

EviLClouD
27-11-2010, 12:01 AM
Burn in test result
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/938/burngz.jpg

wainuitech
27-11-2010, 08:24 PM
Burn in test looks ok.

Two things I would try going by tn eh original post:

Never had this problem until i done the following...
- updated graphics driver
- installed new secondary hard drive.

Easy one first -- Disconnect the new Second HDD.

Next roll back to the old drivers.

Only other thing I can think of off the top of my head :rolleyes: (bugger less hair now) :D ----- Possible PSU problem.