PDA

View Full Version : Untransferable Broadband Package



stingray68
24-11-2010, 07:38 PM
We advised TelstraClear one week ago to transfer broadband package from old address to new address. So far they have done nothing. Been on the phone and email so many times and they wont do anything. We have 2 days left before moving house
Did anyone have the same problem?
Do you have better suggestion how to tell them to get on with the job?

Failing that bye bye TelstraClear and over to Telecom.

Erayd
24-11-2010, 07:44 PM
Are you talking about cable or DSL? The process for each is very different.

SP8's
24-11-2010, 07:47 PM
Send them an email advising that, because you have had no action on their part, you have no option but to cancel your contract with them and change ISP .... make sure you request a read receipt on your email so that you get confirmation that they have actually received it.

Phone Telecom or whoever and get things organised .... if TC try saying your in breach of contract, you have proof that the problem was there's and you had tried many times to get things sorted.

stingray68
24-11-2010, 07:47 PM
DSL as we are in Auckland

mikebartnz
24-11-2010, 09:02 PM
We advised TelstraClear one week ago to transfer broadband package from old address to new address. So far they have done nothing. Been on the phone and email so many times and they wont do anything. We have 2 days left before moving house
Did anyone have the same problem?
Do you have better suggestion how to tell them to get on with the job?

Failing that bye bye TelstraClear and over to Telecom.
If you've been on the phone to them what have they said?
You do realise that they have to work with Telecom to do that and sometimes you can be unlucky in that there are no free broadband lines so you end up in a queue.

pctek
25-11-2010, 06:59 AM
TelstraClear wont do anything.
What exactly do you mean by the won't do anything? They hang up on you? They ignore you? They haven't given you an ETA?

inphinity
25-11-2010, 07:37 AM
We advised TelstraClear one week ago to transfer broadband package from old address to new address. So far they have done nothing. Been on the phone and email so many times and they wont do anything. We have 2 days left before moving house
Did anyone have the same problem?
Do you have better suggestion how to tell them to get on with the job?

Failing that bye bye TelstraClear and over to Telecom.


5.
Changing your Address or the Phone Line

5.1
Due to operational restrictions, if you move your physical address
or phone line, you may not be able to take your Services with you unless you:

cancel your Services; and
reinstall your Services at your new address or on your new residential telephone
line (for which a connection and/or wiring charge will apply).
You will need to contact us at least 14 days in advance of any move so we
can discuss how to minimise any interruption in your supply of Services.

Chilling_Silence
25-11-2010, 08:13 AM
It's better with Telecom, services usually take 3-5 working days :D

That said, I share the sentiments of others, what *specifically* have they said?

stingray68
25-11-2010, 09:56 AM
No they did not hang up.
The call centre does not seem to know what to do. Their reply everytime was "5 more working days" They did not say we will get back to you etc.
FYI the call centre is based at Manilla which is in Phillipines.
As of today we are cancelling TelstraClear and changing to Telecom.

Nomad
25-11-2010, 10:21 AM
Some of Telecom's staff is now based overseas too right ;)

wainuitech
25-11-2010, 12:36 PM
You do realise that they have to work with Telecom to do that and sometimes you can be unlucky in that there are no free broadband lines so you end up in a queue. Just adding to that -- sometimes it can take 2-3 weeks even if telecom have lines available - if there are no lines available then changing to telecom wont do any good, they cant give you what they dont have.

One person I do work for, when they moved, they tried to get connections from telecom, phone and internet -- they were told there are none available in the area, and they can be put in a queue and when one comes available they can have it -- there were about a dozen people ahead of him already waiting he was advised.

mikebartnz
25-11-2010, 07:06 PM
No they did not hang up.
The call centre does not seem to know what to do. Their reply everytime was "5 more working days" They did not say we will get back to you etc.
FYI the call centre is based at Manilla which is in Phillipines.
As of today we are cancelling TelstraClear and changing to Telecom.
Well let us know if you have any more joy.

PPp
26-11-2010, 09:26 PM
"One person I do work for, when they moved, they tried to get connections from telecom, phone and internet -- they were told there are none available in the area, and they can be put in a queue and when one comes available they can have it -- there were about a dozen people ahead of him already waiting he was advised."
And they want to bid to install fibre!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

Chilling_Silence
26-11-2010, 11:54 PM
Of course they do, they've currently got the *best* network across the country. Imagine if you went in and tried to get on Orcons on equipment. There's precious few exchanges where you can, only in the Auckland region AFAIK.

Those are the older / original ADSL exchanges. Part of their ADSL2+ / VDSL rollout means that you won't have those kinds of issues because the new management in the last few years has had the foresight to predict the uptake. Back when ADSL was first rolled out to this country, the technology had only been available for ~12 months internationally, it was incredibly difficult for anybody to know what the uptake would be like. Thankfully, unlike the CFH rollout, it'll be done by the end of next year to 80% of NZ, as opposed to taking a whole decade and 70% of the country.

stingray68
30-11-2010, 09:39 AM
Telecom said it will be ready this Thursday and this is about 5 working days. Will let you know if we got it or not.

CyberHubHost
30-11-2010, 07:36 PM
I agree with Chilling_Silence, did you know that Telecom has fibre to nearly every single neighbourhood in the country already? They have done this at their own expense without any tax payers money.

You can check it here http://www.broadbandmap.govt.nz/map/

We all know what will happen if they become a monopoly with fibre, but it seems a bit silly to relay the entire country with competing fibre. So it will be interesting to see what happens with this.

Chilling_Silence
01-12-2010, 07:56 AM
It certainly will be.

stingray68, here's hoping you get some slightly better service :)