PDA

View Full Version : Partition of HDD for RAM



18-09-2001, 11:56 AM
Is it posiable to partition my HDD into two blocks and use the smaller block as an extention to my current Ram

18-09-2001, 01:34 PM
Hi Dean, your swap file is already acting as substitute ram, but it's a good idea to put your swap file into a separate partition so as to prevent it fragmenting your C drive.

If you have Partition Magic its dead easy to make another partition without having to Fdisk , reformat or reinstall.
If you right click on My Computer to open System Properties, then on Performance, then on Virtual Memory button you will find the place to set the size and place for your swap file.

More ram is always better than more swap file though.

Cheers

19-09-2001, 05:47 PM
If your regularly using your swapfile, then you really need more ram as its slowing your system down.

RAM works in the nanosecond range (10^-9s), while your HDD works in the millisecond range (10^-3s).