PDA

View Full Version : My macbuntu .. :D



ronyville
05-11-2010, 04:38 PM
Its a slow Friday arvo so decided to install ubuntu 10.04 on one of the iMacs at work. I call it macbuntu. :D Everything went smooth.. and I must say ubuntu looks kinda pretty on a Mac screen. Here's a pic (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/macbuntu.jpg), my camera is a little crap.

Chilling_Silence
05-11-2010, 07:50 PM
Nice! :D

lakewoodlady
05-11-2010, 08:13 PM
Nice imac....nice Transformer?

LL

Gobe1
06-11-2010, 12:44 PM
now load up windows in a virtual box

The Error Guy
06-11-2010, 01:13 PM
Too bad the bad apple won't play nice. their incompatiblity (OS wise) is a slight inconvenience. Spent 30 mins trying to get the iTouch 4th gen to play nice with a belkin wireless router. it can see network on default settings, it can connect to network broadcasting wireless N only. but it doesn't like changing the SSID or the bandwith.

vowed never to buy one for myself. ever.

ronyville
06-11-2010, 01:17 PM
it can connect to network broadcasting wireless N only but it doesn't like changing the SSID or the bandwith.

??? care to explain more. I have the 4th Gen and can connect to most wireless..

ronyville
06-11-2010, 01:28 PM
now load up windows in a virtual box

yea.. already got virtual box setup on my main work pc. currently have the following running

mint 7, mint 9, ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, 10.10, server 2003, 2008, number of XPs, Win Vista and Win 7, Untangle... i wonder if plod will lend me his new server :p

plod
06-11-2010, 02:46 PM
yea.. already got virtual box setup on my main work pc. currently have the following running

mint 7, mint 9, ubuntu 9.04, 10.04, 10.10, server 2003, 2008, number of XPs, Win Vista and Win 7, Untangle... i wonder if plod will lend me his new server :p
NO, not ours yet. we are only testing at this stage.

The Error Guy
06-11-2010, 03:39 PM
??? care to explain more. I have the 4th Gen and can connect to most wireless..

not sure why exactly it was being a pain, I reset to default settings and slowly worked my way through settings trying to see what was causing the problem.

if i changed the SSID it was fine. if I set the mode to N it was fine but if it did both changes is wouldn't find the network.

if I set it to 20/40Mhz it wouldn't find the network. unusually, if I tried to go back on changes (eg put 20/40 back to just 20) it still wouldn't find the network. somehow, by changing the SSID to something completely now it will do SSID + N only + WPA2 but it still won't accept the full 300mb 40Mhz bandwith.

anyway, ill stop trolling this and admire itouch 4.0 from a thankful distance. must say, it does look pretty nice though. retina display and all.

ronyville
06-11-2010, 04:22 PM
Did some testing on my wireless router (TP Link TL-WR941N) and the ipod connected fine on all settings.

Mode g only - connected fine
Mode b only - connected fine
Mode n only - connected fine

Changed Channel to 20MHz, 40MHz and Auto - connected fine. I did have to turn wireless off n on once or twice though.

And yea.. do love the ipod 4 Gen.. have been playing with some useful apps like banking, news, tech utilities etc .. I must say I havnt done much surfing on my pc since I got this.. the thing I love is the crystal clear display especially when surfing.. and reading stuff.