PDA

View Full Version : How to disable drivers from Vista recovery console



wratterus
22-10-2010, 02:30 PM
You know in XP, with it's lovely, simply recovery console, how you could type in (for example) disable intelppm and the intelppm.sys file would no longer load during bootup, does anyone know how to do the same thing from the recovery console command line in Vista? I've done a bit of googling, but so far come across nothing...

Anyone know if it can be done?

Cheers.

wainuitech
22-10-2010, 03:04 PM
Wouldn't renaming them have the same effect as disabling, so intelppm.sys could become intelppm.old.

Standard Commands (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial147.html) near the bottom of the page

wratterus
22-10-2010, 03:08 PM
Thanks Wainui - I thought about renaming the file, and I did try that, however it hasn't fix my BSOD issues after switching motherboards.

Its entirely possible the issue isn't with the intelppm file.

wainuitech
22-10-2010, 03:10 PM
Whats the Problem - Apart from BSOD -- Error code :nerd: Geek hat on at the moment (this is to late for a Friday wratterus) :D OK switched motherboards -- Will it boot in Safe mode ?

If it starts in Safe mode, you may be able to rip out drivers.

wratterus
22-10-2010, 03:14 PM
:lol: Cheers.

Its 0x0000007B (0x80399BB0, 0xC0000034, 0x000000000, 0x000000000) No safe mode (before the chkdsk anyway)

No actual message, just the thing about running chkdsk. I've switched a hard drive from a HP desktop running Vista HP with a C2D to a new AMD machine, and the BSOD appears during bootup.

I know the error doesn't relate to the intelppm file, but i've had plenty of PCs in this exact situation running XP where disabling the intelppm.sys file did fix the BSOD on startup.

I'm running a chkdsk at the mo, i'll try safe mode again after that, and will also do a HDD diag later just in case.

1101
22-10-2010, 03:32 PM
this may help (probably wont give a working fix,been there)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314082

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2010, 03:55 PM
Did someone change the mobo?? This is the same stop error

http://www.pchelpforum.com/blue-screen-errors/52094-blue-screen-death-startup-just-installed-new-motherboard.html

A repair install may fix it. Or did someone disable AHCI when Vista was installed then turn it back on after?