PDA

View Full Version : Newly built PC won't bootg

lostsoul62
22-10-2010, 12:53 PM
I'm 63 and my memory isn't that good plus I haven't built a system in almost 3years. I turn my computer on and I get power to the motherboard and I have my video card plug into the power supply. I only have my New WD hard drive hook up to my SATA and I tried 3 SATA ports and I can't get it to boot. Now I only have my Power SW from the case to the motherboard so do I NEED to hook something else up? I pulled my power cord and SATA and reinstalled them. I'm an old man with anxiety so any help would be great. I spent $1,000 on building this system and I just have to get it running. To think I use to do this for a living and now I can't even get my Computer to get past the POST and I have nothing on my screen except a green light. Oh yea I have my DDR3 RAM in Slot 1 and 2 so that's ok.

Speedy Gonzales
22-10-2010, 12:55 PM
Is there anything on the hdd? Did you install windows on it?

fred_fish
22-10-2010, 01:14 PM
Does it POST?
If so, any error msg?
If not, any beeps?

forrest44
22-10-2010, 02:04 PM
Try with 1 stick of ram at a time. (One may be faulty). Try each slot. What beeps does it make, if any? Do you have the 12v 4 pin CPU power connector plugged in (in addition to the main 24 pin one)?

pctek
22-10-2010, 02:04 PM
[QUOTE=lostsoul62;959959] To think I use to do this for a living and now I can't even get my Computer to get past the POST QUOTE]

LOL. WE have all had similar situations. Inc me, and I'm a tech. Hah. It's not permitted really is it, our hardware should behave it self and not do these things to us.

Basic troubleshooting.
Are all the parts new? Including the PSU?
You have the 4pin (or 8pin) CPU power cable connected to the motherboard as well as the main 24pin cable?

The RAM modules are in the right 2 slots?

Tried each RAM module i at a time - in case one is dead?

Did anything power on,. like did you hear anything happening at all? Or zilch......