PDA

View Full Version : Format Query



amyes5
20-10-2010, 08:10 PM
I want to format a drive that has ME on it (ie Remove it altogether).When I chose format by R/click on C in "My Computer" it says "no can do" because certain Windows files are in use.The computer has no A drive so I can't do it the original way of using a boot disc/dos format etc. Any other way around this apart from reinstalling an A drive? --or have I missed something real obvious???
It's been quite some time since I fiddled with ME!

P.S Here's an afterthought! If I slaved the drive into another computer so that it becomes f/g etc would the r/click format function work then??

jareemon
20-10-2010, 08:36 PM
put a windows OS cd and choose the reformat option during pre-install

wainuitech
20-10-2010, 09:03 PM
P.S Here's an afterthought! If I slaved the drive into another computer so that it becomes f/g etc would the r/click format function work then??
Yep that will do it. Slow way, but it will work. Would be faster doing it as Jareemon suggested, OR get some free partition software and blow away the partition (if doing a fresh install) or format that way.

LynX
20-10-2010, 09:32 PM
A Linux Live CD would also do the trick... In case you don't have a Windows CD.