PDA

View Full Version : WMP - slow video loading



qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:00 PM
I've noticed this problem in a few videos only, think most are AVIs. When I try to jump in the video using the slider bar, it takes the video up to 10 seconds to load, while the audio runs perfectly and in sync to whatever timing I jumped into. The video would just stay on the last frame or blackout altogether.

Anybody know of the problem and/or solution(s)??

:help:

wratterus
20-10-2010, 03:20 PM
I've not come across it before - the PC is reasonably grunty? enough ram etc?

Have you tried installing a codec pack of any sort?

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:27 PM
I've not come across it before - the PC is reasonably grunty? enough ram etc?

Have you tried installing a codec pack of any sort?
Yeah, grunty enough - i7 920, 6GB RAM, 9800GTX+. :D

I have this Windows 7 Codec package by sharky007 I downloaded back in the beginning of the year when I setup the beast.

wratterus
20-10-2010, 03:30 PM
:lol: right, no issue there...

I'd try ditching the codec pack and try again, or maybe install k-lite and see what happens there.

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:32 PM
:lol: right, no issue there...

I'd try ditching the codec pack and try again, or maybe install k-lite and see what happens there.
Sweet, will try that.

wratterus
20-10-2010, 03:36 PM
Another thought I if that doesn't work would be to clear the WMP database and let it rebuild itself.

With WMP closed delete everything in c:\users\*user*\app data\local\microsoft\media player

Speedy Gonzales
20-10-2010, 03:37 PM
Probably the same reason why that happens, if you do the same thing online, its buffering. Simple dont go forward

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:42 PM
@wrat: what does rebuilding the database do?

Speedy: I want to get to the funny parts whenever I want, don't want to wait through the boring stuff!

Speedy Gonzales
20-10-2010, 03:43 PM
Use moviemaker / download the version for win7, then cut them out !

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:47 PM
Dang, K-lite pack didn't work, the problem's still there.

Speedy: eh, I can't be bothered to cut out few-second scenes from each video!

Speedy Gonzales
20-10-2010, 03:48 PM
Oh well your loss then!

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:54 PM
Ah well....VLC seems to handle the problem quite well....so I think I'll use VLC for the few problematic videos.

wratterus
20-10-2010, 03:55 PM
Odd advice speedy...? That's not fixing the problem, only covering it up...

Yeah VLC always works. ;)

Rebuilding the database does just that - it rebuilds the database. :p I've seen WMP get all ballsed up before, and do stupid things like not add new songs to the library, and run really slow, that has fixed it for me in the past. It will give you a fresh start so you would need to add your files again.

qazwsxokmijn
20-10-2010, 03:59 PM
Funny how Microsoft, a multi-billion dollar company, cannot make a program competent enough to do the same thing a freeware can. ;)

autechre
21-10-2010, 09:36 AM
VLC seems to handle broken .avi's well, whereas WMP & MPC aren't so good. I suspect the files you're trying to play are missing their index (ie. are broken) which is why WMP takes an age to search for the part you're skipping to.

Chilling_Silence
21-10-2010, 10:10 AM
Yeah what autechre said, that's why it'll only be some AVI videos and not others :)

It depends on where those videos came from ;)

qazwsxokmijn
21-10-2010, 10:49 AM
Hmmm possibly. I just use VLC for these videos now, I don't think there's a fix. Tried googling for some answers to no avail.

autechre
22-10-2010, 08:50 AM
Hmmm possibly. I just use VLC for these videos now, I don't think there's a fix.
There are tools around that will re-index the avi files, but it's probably not worth it if you already have VLC running.

GameJunkie
22-10-2010, 09:22 AM
Personally I use K-lite mega codec pack(32bit) and the 64bit pack on my laptop, plays everything just fine.

mega pack is up to v6.5.0 and the 64bit is up to v4.0.0

what version did you use. there might be fixes to codec in newer release, but you seem to have solved the issue with VLC.

just a thought anyway

Chilling_Silence
22-10-2010, 10:28 AM
I've been using the Shark007 codec pack since it first came out, both on 32-bit and 64-bit.

Never had any issues, hence why I believe it's likely the files themselves, but VLC is just potentially a little more tolerant?