PDA

View Full Version : MsMpEng still causing problems



Colpol
18-10-2010, 01:09 PM
Clean install of XP Home.
Installed MSSE after fully updating system.
MSMPENG now hogging CPU and memory.
Found previous thread on this problem(From Chill). Put file in MSSE excluded list but it is still running.
Defender not installed.
Read lots on it but no joy.
If I cant stop it I will uninstall MSSE (Using it on other PCs with no problem) I like it so would like to keep it.
Any recomendations for alternative AV programs

pctek
18-10-2010, 01:13 PM
NOD32.

Have you donea reboot since?

Colpol
18-10-2010, 01:20 PM
NOD32.

Have you donea reboot since?

Thanks PC
Rebooted several times.
Will look at nod 32 if no other suggestions

Chilling_Silence
18-10-2010, 01:58 PM
I'm with pctek.

I was using MSSE, it's definitely second-best only to NOD32 in terms of its detections, however the processor usage was really starting to get to me, to the point where I'd have it installed but not actually doing anything realtime.
It was still causing my wife issues with her browser-based flash games...

Installed NOD32 trial, and after just a couple of days, I'm stoaked, so much so that I've gone and got myself a license for all my 3 main machines :) It's well worth the $80-odd...

Colpol
18-10-2010, 02:42 PM
Thnks Chill.
From what I read it is causing lots of probs but no one seems to have a fix that works.

Will try Nod32

Chilling_Silence
18-10-2010, 02:48 PM
Yeah for some, the fix used to be putting msmpeng.exe into the "whitelist", but not everybody.

Definitely worth grabbing the free 30-day trial of NOD32! :)

gary67
18-10-2010, 08:18 PM
Funny because I have MSE on 7 machines here, one Vista laptop, two Win7 64bit home pre, two XP pro and two XP home and they all have had the fix done and none of them run excessively at all so it must be on a use by use basis for some people

wratterus
18-10-2010, 08:32 PM
I still come across the occasional PC that just doesn't like MSSE, no apparent rhyme or reason. It's ok for the most part though, as long as your PC has a reasonable amount of grunt.

Chilling_Silence
18-10-2010, 09:50 PM
Dual core 3ghz with a fresh install of win 7 x64, 4gb ram, and told not to scam archives, it still insists in playing silly buggers :(

:pf1mobmini:

nofam
18-10-2010, 10:34 PM
Dual core 3ghz with a fresh install of win 7 x64, 4gb ram, and told not to scam archives, it still insists in playing silly buggers :(

:pf1mobmini:

P4 3.0ghz with 1Gb RAM, XPP - runs like a dream with MSSE. . . . . .Go figure :rolleyes:

gary67
19-10-2010, 06:41 AM
yeah 2 of my XP machines are P4 and one is an Athlon so not exactly fast to start with, certainly is an odd one

Chilling_Silence
19-10-2010, 07:14 AM
I had 32 bit win xp on there for a little bit (30 days un activated) but it also suffered in the same way. I went to windows 7 to see LOTRO with DX10 ;)

:pf1mobmini: