PDA

View Full Version : HDD Backup software?



davidmmac
17-10-2010, 12:30 PM
We've just bought a Seagate 1TB external hard drive from DSE ($99) and I'm now looking at making a backup of each of the computers on the network. Does anyone have any recommendations on which software to use (preferably free:p)?

wainuitech
17-10-2010, 12:45 PM
Do a search back over the last couple of weeks, there have been several posts regarding this. One for example (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=113227).

I recommend Active@ Disk Image, does backups over a LAN. You could connect the Drive into the Router if it has Network capibility, or one PC and share the Drive, then image to that from all PC's.

I have even made videos showing how easy.

Not free, but it DOES work, where as some others dont. Its cheap enough ( around $53 - $57 NZ) and will license for 3 PC's INSTALLS . Or from the Bootable CD, as many as you want ;). Has a 21 day trail as well.

IF you have Windows 7 Pro or above, the inbuilt backup will work fine, windows 7 Home doesn't allow network backups.

davidmmac
17-10-2010, 01:04 PM
Ooops, searched for the wrong thing :o

Thanks for that wainui, I'll give the Active@ Disk Image a shot.

Thanks for your help :thumbs:

wainuitech
17-10-2010, 01:12 PM
So theres No Confusion - the downlaod you want that contains the bootable CD is The one circled (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Active@1287274152.jpg) - and the Video I made Is here at youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJK6EcVxly4) The shared folder I made was on a Server, called test. BTW - you dont need to disable the firewall as the video shows.

When you log into the PC over the LAN, you use the PC's log in name and password.

davidmmac
17-10-2010, 01:32 PM
So theres No Confusion - the downlaod you want that contains the bootable CD is The one circled (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Active@1287274152.jpg) - and the Video I made Is here at youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJK6EcVxly4) The shared folder I made was on a Server, called test. BTW - you dont need to disable the firewall as the video shows.

When you log into the PC over the LAN, you use the PC's log in name and password.

Wow, thanks Wainui :).

gary67
17-10-2010, 01:56 PM
Second what Wainui says as it was aimed at me when he made the video for which I am eternally grateful. That program works flawlessly on Win7 where as some of the free ones don't especially on 64bit