PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible?



goodiesguy
13-10-2010, 07:58 PM
I've taken out my ATI Radeon 9600, to see if its why my pc keeps on freezing.

I have put in my old 64mb NVIDIA (unsure of the model, but will let you know once i install the driver).

I need to be able to have 2 monitors running, but my Nvidia only has 1 VGA and no DVI output.

Am i able to enable my onboard video and set that as my secondary (its only 32mb)?

As i need to be able to extend my desktop to the second monitior.

EDIT: according to Device Manager Its a "NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420"

Snorkbox
13-10-2010, 08:02 PM
It ain't going to work.

The Error Guy
13-10-2010, 08:14 PM
its got (as far as i know) a 0% chance of working and a 100% change of not working.

unfortunately for you! however you could try to borrow a card to test with

goodiesguy
13-10-2010, 08:23 PM
Over the next few days, i will have to try my dads card, which is the 256mb version of the ATI Radeon 9600

utopian201
14-10-2010, 10:03 AM
Why can't you run both adaptors at the same time? Eg in the old days if you wanted dual screens, wouldn't you simply add another PCI video card?

Speedy Gonzales
14-10-2010, 11:19 AM
Because most systems disable onboard. No you brought a card with more than 1 output on it

fred_fish
14-10-2010, 11:36 AM
Why can't you run both adaptors at the same time? Eg in the old days if you wanted dual screens, wouldn't you simply add another PCI video card?

Yes you would. I recall having 4 x PCI video cards in one machine in addition to the on-board AGP :)
I had to scale back though, for fear of being crushed by an avalanche of CRT monitors :lol:
However, you can only run ONE AGP card at a time (specialised chipsets excepted).
Given the OP's "old 64mb NVIDIA (unsure of the model)", I assume it is AGP.
Boards with an AGP slot would likely also use the AGP bus for onboard video, so it is one or the other.
Don't know about PCIe though, haven't played with it in such a fashion.

ManUFan
14-10-2010, 12:07 PM
Try it?

I'm running 2 screens at work. 1 from the motherboard (onboard video) and the other from a video card.

Chilling_Silence
14-10-2010, 12:17 PM
Some of the newer machines are capable of using the onboard with a PCI or AGP, however many of the older machines disabled it.

I remember having 6 PCI cards, all the S3 Trio64 cards at like 800x600... Flying through Space screensaver on Win98 has a limit to the number of stars, and that number is the same limit regardless of how many machines you have. It looks cooler with 5 monitors instead of 6 I found :p

inphinity
14-10-2010, 12:59 PM
Depends entirely on the motherboard and it's ability to handle graphics across multiple transport bus types.

goodiesguy
14-10-2010, 01:11 PM
The NVIDIA is AGP like my ATI Radeon 9600. i have lots of old PCI video cards, but they are only 1 to 4MB which is far too small.

I'm gonna troubleshoot

Chilling_Silence
14-10-2010, 01:20 PM
Not really. You can get a good 1024x768 on 1MB at 16 million colors ....

goodiesguy
14-10-2010, 02:23 PM
Yes, but thats a 1024x768 resolution. thats ok for my secondary monitor as thats its max resolution, but for my main one, no. I used a 1280x1024 resolution on that.

Chilling_Silence
14-10-2010, 02:59 PM
So use your AGP card as that, then? Yeah? Seems logical to me ...