PDA

View Full Version : Busines class laptops - Lenovo or HP?

southern_jas
13-10-2010, 11:49 AM
Quick question. I am looking to purchase a couple of laptops for business use and have been quoted priving on some Lenovo T410s. I have never used a Lenovo laptop before (always used HP business laptops at previous job) so was wondering how they stack up in comparison? I can get a very similar looking spec HP 6450b for around $500 - $1000 less.

For those who have purchased these for business in the past would you prefer Lenovo or HP?

Gobe1
13-10-2010, 12:02 PM
We have both types here and but only the one lenovo (T61), several HP 8530p
I would rate both about the same but the Lenovo keyboards are nicer to use

For that kind of savings if the specs are similar i would be going for the HP

pctek
13-10-2010, 12:25 PM
Personally, whatever the use - I'd stick with the reliable ASUS or Toshibas.

wratterus
13-10-2010, 12:26 PM
Well if you're talking about high end business notebooks, I quite like HP, and the amount of bloat the lenovo manages to cram onto their notebooks is nothing short of obscene. Either should do the job well though. I agree with Globe's comment that the Lenovo keyboards are nicer...

have you looked at Asus or Toshiba at all?

Gobe1
13-10-2010, 12:34 PM
Bloat!! true Wratt, Give it a clean OS as soon as it turns up, start fresh.

kahawai chaser
13-10-2010, 12:40 PM
HP's seem to be everywhere in retail stores, some with discounts, as I noticed yesterday in large retail chains. HP have a great online resource learning centre (http://h30187.www3.hp.com/), which include dozens of tutorials (and include pdf's), including business, IT, and much more. Many NZ businesses I think grew up with HP products...

13-10-2010, 01:20 PM
The Large retail chains tend to sell the 'home user' type of PC/laptop.

The Tosh Tecra's are also excellent, but again full of bloatware.