PDA

View Full Version : BSOD computer help!!



angchick
13-10-2010, 09:11 AM
:) Hello everyone,

I am new here and first want to say hello! I am having serious problems with my computer. I am also not good with the computer, I am slowly learning about it and everything I do know I have taught myself from playing around on it. I am currently in college and taking classes online. My computer has been shutting down on me and going to a blue screen very often, losing what I have been working on. I have to take tests that can only be opened ONE time and I am so afraid that my computer will shut down and blue screen on me during a test so I have been doing them at someone elses home. I would like to fix this problem if I can.

I have windows Vista and here what I copy and pasted after it has happened

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: a
BCP1: 983CD574
BCP2: 0000001B
BCP3: 00000001
BCP4: 828C45BC
OS Version: 6_0_6002
Service Pack: 2_0
Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini101210-01.dmp
C:\Users\Angela\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-85519-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Angela\AppData\Local\Temp\WER3310.tmp.ver sion.txt


This is all a foreign language to me so is there anyway I can fix it? I appreciate anyone who reads this

Angela

Speedy Gonzales
13-10-2010, 10:40 AM
WHEN does it crash? When youre doing certain things, or most of the time / anytime?

Install this http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html its down the bottom. Then run it. Tell us what files show up in pink

I think you can also copy and paste what it shows. If it does copy and paste the info back here

pctek
13-10-2010, 10:58 AM
It's better to give the actual STOP error:
For instance:

0x0000007E or whatever it was.

angchick
13-10-2010, 01:21 PM
It's better to give the actual STOP error:
For instance:

0x0000007E or whatever it was.

Well, I only get to see the blue screen for a second and then it restarts so I turned that option off, so when it happens again I can look at it. The info I gave you above is from the check for a solution box (which never does check for a solution)

angchick
13-10-2010, 01:25 PM
WHEN does it crash? When youre doing certain things, or most of the time / anytime?

Install this http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html its down the bottom. Then run it. Tell us what files show up in pink

I think you can also copy and paste what it shows. If it does copy and paste the info back here

It crashes randomly, I can be surfing the net, doing school, writing a paper in word, and it does not happe everyday but maybe every other day a few times a day.

Okay, please bear with me, but I am not sure which one I am supposed to install? And, will doing this have me lose anything I have saved (for example my college papers?)

Sorry for not understanding, but I do not know much about computers

SoniKalien
13-10-2010, 01:36 PM
I would just like to say that now would be a good time to backup anything important while you can. Consider the possibility that you might have to reinstall Vista :)

Speedy Gonzales
13-10-2010, 01:37 PM
This http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/bluescreenview_setup.exe install it, then go to the end menu, it'll find the dmp files load them. It'll highlight the file/s in pink

Tell us what the name/s of the file/s are. Reboot hold F8 down, wait for the menu to appear. Select disable auto restart I think it is. Next time it crashes it'll stay on the screen

nassin
13-10-2010, 10:29 PM
maybe possible virus infection you could try an online scan here

http://www.eset.com/online-scanner

i have used this with very good results.
wont work in firefox you must use I.E.

angchick
14-10-2010, 04:38 PM
This http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/bluescreenview_setup.exe install it, then go to the end menu, it'll find the dmp files load them. It'll highlight the file/s in pink

Tell us what the name/s of the file/s are. Reboot hold F8 down, wait for the menu to appear. Select disable auto restart I think it is. Next time it crashes it'll stay on the screen

Okay, I believe I did it right. The files that were higlighted in pink are these:

aswSP.SYS aswSP.SYS+16489 0x8e737000 0x8e75dc80 0x00026c80 0x4c865191 9/7/2010 10:52:01 AM avast! Antivirus System avast! self protection module 5.0.677.0 AVAST Software C:\Windows\system32\drivers\aswSP.SYS
BHDrvx86.sys BHDrvx86.sys+10328 0x8e6f5000 0x8e737000 0x00042000 0x4a70ecfd 7/29/2009 8:44:45 PM
fltmgr.sys fltmgr.sys+345b 0x805b4000 0x805e6000 0x00032000 0x49e01907 4/11/2009 12:13:59 AM Microsoft® Windows® Operating System Microsoft Filesystem Filter Manager 6.0.6000.16386 (vista_rtm.061101-2205) Microsoft Corporation C:\Windows\system32\drivers\fltmgr.sys
luafv.sys luafv.sys+b6aa 0x887d0000 0x887eb000 0x0001b000 0x47918afb 1/19/2008 1:30:35 AM Microsoft® Windows® Operating System LUA File Virtualization Filter Driver 6.0.6001.18000 (longhorn_rtm.080118-1840) Microsoft Corporation C:\Windows\system32\drivers\luafv.sys


Did I do it right????? I hate knowing nothing about these things

SoniKalien
14-10-2010, 04:57 PM
Uninstall Norton and see if it still crashes

Speedy Gonzales
14-10-2010, 04:58 PM
You did it right. Uninstall Avast. Try uninstalling it in safe mode. If you cant boot into normal windows. Is this 32 or 64 bit Vista?

angchick
15-10-2010, 03:43 AM
You did it right. Uninstall Avast. Try uninstalling it in safe mode. If you cant boot into normal windows. Is this 32 or 64 bit Vista?

Actually, and I am not sure if this is related, I had Norton has my security and the subscription was up on it so I do not full coverage anymore which is why I downloaded avast (someone told me it was the best free anit virus)

How do I put my computer into safe mode? and also where can I look to see if the Vista is 32 or 64 bit?

I am so sorry about all this, like I said, I have no clue what I am doing. I had someone pick out my computer for me since I do not know anything about them

Thank you all for being patient with me

gary67
15-10-2010, 06:42 AM
To get safe mode you usually press the F8 key at startup. Safe mode looks kinda weird as it only loads the bare minimum of drivers to run

pctek
15-10-2010, 12:51 PM
I had Norton has my security
How do I put my computer into safe mode?

. I had someone pick out my computer for me since I do not know anything about them



:groan:
Safe Mode - Boot and immediately start pressing F8. Choose Safe Mode from the menu that comes up.
Not the other choices.

Did you uninstall Nortons before Avast? In fact best to download the Norton Removal Tool from their website and run it anyway, because often it leaves bits of itself behind that cause problems.


How do you know the person who chose your PC had any more clues than you? Ask here first next time, best to ask real techs.......

Snorkbox
15-10-2010, 01:28 PM
To check if 32 or 64 bit Vista, Click start, control panel, system. It should tell you there.

angchick
15-10-2010, 05:21 PM
It is a 32 bit, and I unistalled Norton. However, if I unistall avast then I will not have any protection, is that okay?? Also, does one have to buy antivirus and all that stuff or is there free ones that work good? I am so nervous about all this, I just want my computer fixed. I do thank those who are helping me. After I unistall avast, then what do I do after that?

Speedy Gonzales
15-10-2010, 05:32 PM
It'll be better, if you uninstall Avast, since its one of the causes of the crash. Then install Microsoft's AV program

angchick
18-10-2010, 08:48 AM
Okay so what do I do after I unistall avast? Will that fix the problem? Rigth after I do that should I download the other anti virus thing from microsoft???

Speedy Gonzales
18-10-2010, 10:03 AM
Thats right, it may fix the prob. Because one of its files were causing the BSOD

SoniKalien
18-10-2010, 10:18 AM
Speedy- Could Nortons conflict with Avast causing the avast .exe to crash? Just curious :)

Speedy Gonzales
18-10-2010, 10:37 AM
Possible since one file from Avast and Nortons is crashing the system. Theyre probably trying to fight each other, trying to protect the system

SoniKalien
18-10-2010, 10:39 AM
lol sounds like our govt :p

angchick
18-10-2010, 02:21 PM
Okay, Nortons is completley gone, however, I can not figure out how to uninstall avast. I can not find that option anywhere???? I tried in safemode but it would not let me do anything with avast, it said it was not working in safemode. So I tried in regular mode I guess you call it, and I can not find anything that says unistall. Any ideas??

SolMiester
18-10-2010, 02:26 PM
Use this uninstall util

http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

angchick
18-10-2010, 06:51 PM
Okay, I want to thank all of you for your help! It is really appreciated!! I got rid of nortons and avast. I down loaded microsoft essentials, is there anything else I need?

Also, is there anyway to check to see if my computer is at risk of blue screening again? I am afriad to try to do any of my college test on it just incase it does it again.

Speedy Gonzales
18-10-2010, 07:02 PM
You cant really tell until it crashes again (if it does). Leave it on for a few hrs see if its stable

angchick
18-10-2010, 07:05 PM
You cant really tell until it crashes again (if it does). Leave it on for a few hrs see if its stable

Okay, I will do that tomorrow, it is 2 am my time so I am going to bed. I will test it tomorrow and see what happens. Again thank you all, this is an awesome place. I hope to learn a few things from here!! :D

Speedy Gonzales
18-10-2010, 07:18 PM
Sweet no probs :)