PDA

View Full Version : How to run a 16-bit pgm under Vista or XP?



Tony
11-10-2010, 10:02 PM
I have a really old program I want to get to run under Vista or XP. It is so old that the instructions tell you it will automatically detect whether you have a colour or monochrome monitor!

I would like to be able to run this under Vista or XP - just enough so I can extract some data and then bin it. If I try it, I get the message in the attachment.

It is not important enough to go through lots of hoops to get it to run, but I'd like to do it if I can simply. I've tried all the compatibility settings, and telling it to run full-screen, but nothing works. I'm presuming it is the fact that it is 16-bit that is the obstacle.

Any ideas?

GameJunkie
11-10-2010, 10:04 PM
dosbox?

Tony
11-10-2010, 10:25 PM
That did it. I'd forgotten about Dosbox - thanks for the tip. :thumbs:

GameJunkie
11-10-2010, 10:47 PM
no worries

feersumendjinn
12-10-2010, 12:53 AM
I've found Dosbox much easier to use with a front-end like Ampshell (http://ampshell.tuxfamily.org/).

Tony
12-10-2010, 06:48 AM
I've found Dosbox much easier to use with a front-end like Ampshell (http://ampshell.tuxfamily.org/).Crikey, the Ampshell website doesn't inspire confidence! Blue on black?

Doesn't mean the product won't work though - just that you might not be able to read it. :)

feersumendjinn
12-10-2010, 07:57 PM
Yeah, the colour choice isn't great on the site but the software works fine (and colours are normal :rolleyes:).