PDA

View Full Version : RAM and overclocking



lostsoul62
07-10-2010, 11:52 AM
I'm building a new computer a i5 or Amd 965 and I was told by one of the store geeks that DDR3 1333 is as high as you can go without overclocking. So buying 1600 or 2000 would be a waste of money. Does anyone know anything about this?

SolMiester
07-10-2010, 11:59 AM
I'm building a new computer a i5 or Amd 965 and I was told by one of the store geeks that DDR3 1333 is as high as you can go without overclocking. So buying 1600 or 2000 would be a waste of money. Does anyone know anything about this?

If you are uninterested in overclocking the CPU, this would be correct! The i5 would be a better CPU than the AMD Phenom BTW!

Agent_24
07-10-2010, 12:25 PM
Yes the Phenom II can only support up to DDR3-1333 officially, anything higher will overclock the integrated memory controller and results are not guaranteed.

But if you do manage a stable overclock then it's not a waste of money.

OR, you could buy the faster RAM, then run it at the slower speed, and tighten the timings.