PDA

View Full Version : It's a long story...



ruup
29-09-2010, 12:53 PM
It's a long story...

So I'll cut to the chase...I'm trying to install windows 7 64 bit on to a new hard drive (WD 2T Caviar Black).It loads some set up files,goes through to the start page allows me to chose the language etc...then the blue screen of death appears.I have had Windows 7 running for about 7 months on the same computer (legit copy).

I replaced the hard drive because I thought it was faulty (Seagate 1.5 TB).How can I get Windows to load?

Error message is:

0X000007E (0XFFFFFFFFC 0000005,0XFFFFF8000CEAF22B,0XFFFFF88003B16908,0XFF FFF88003B16160)

I have googled it and checked out Microsoft to no avail ... suggestions please.

Asus Motherboard
8GB ram
1 gb Video card
2.6 Quad core CPU processor

God I hate computers...

CYaBro
29-09-2010, 12:56 PM
Try without some of the RAM first, may have a faulty module.

pctek
29-09-2010, 01:16 PM
I agree with Cyabro, new install, and on install, so most likely a RAM fault.

faith1806
29-09-2010, 01:27 PM
it is very important to figure out the right module. if u are not sure, ask the manufacturer for help. good luck

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2010, 01:38 PM
Whats the model of the mobo? Remove 6 GB while you install, once it installs (if it does that is), put it back in

SolMiester
29-09-2010, 02:02 PM
It's a long story...

So I'll cut to the chase...I'm trying to install windows 7 64 bit on to a new hard drive (WD 2T Caviar Black).It loads some set up files,goes through to the start page allows me to chose the language etc...then the blue screen of death appears.I have had Windows 7 running for about 7 months on the same computer (legit copy).

I replaced the hard drive because I thought it was faulty (Seagate 1.5 TB).How can I get Windows to load?

Error message is:

0X000007E (0XFFFFFFFFC 0000005,0XFFFFF8000CEAF22B,0XFFFFF88003B16908,0XFF FFF88003B16160)

I have googled it and checked out Microsoft to no avail ... suggestions please.

Asus Motherboard
8GB ram
1 gb Video card
2.6 Quad core CPU processor

God I hate computers...

Yeah, when 7 x64 1st came out, a few people were having issues with this. Install the o/s with only 2GB RAM, then once o/s installed, re-insert the rest.
You may want to check the QVL for that RAM, perhaps a BIOS flash to latest version might help

ruup
29-09-2010, 02:28 PM
Thanks for the replies,the motherboard is a

ASUS P5Q SE/R

Cheers

ruup

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2010, 02:33 PM
Ah the same mobo I'm using here. Which Quad is it?? . I would update the BIOS first (update it in the BIOS using a flash drive). Unzip it first. Just make sure its formatted in FAT

ruup
29-09-2010, 02:37 PM
Hi Speedy,why 32 bit?

ruup
29-09-2010, 02:38 PM
Sorry meant why fat,been using NTFS?

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2010, 02:38 PM
Because thats what the manual says it has to be formatted in. The hdd can be formatted in NTFS. The USB flash drive no. If you flash the BIOS (if you do it in the BIOS). Which is quicker than making a USB flash drive bootable

Snorkbox
29-09-2010, 03:18 PM
Because thats what the manual says it has to be formatted in. The hdd can be formatted in NTFS. The USB flash drive no. If you flash the BIOS (if you do it in the BIOS). Which is quicker than making a USB flash drive bootable

You have got me confused. You can flash a BIOS in Windows but not recommended. Normally create a bootable floppy but if you want to flash a BIOS from a USB stick you need the stick to be bootable and have the flashing program like awdflash.exe plus the new BIOS file on there as well.

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2010, 03:49 PM
With that mobo, (well more recent ASUS mobos), you can flash from within the BIOS itself (Its called EZ flash 2). You dont need a bootable floppy / flash drive, (or the util), and you dont have to flash it in windows.

You can use ASUSupdate (get the update first unzip it, then load it). Most people make the mistake of using the program to download the update then flash it. This is what can cause it to freeze and kill a BIOS. (If it doesnt support Crashfree BIOS, or similar then youre in trouble).

All you need is a flash drive with the updated BIOS on it (unzipped of course)

Deimos
29-09-2010, 04:15 PM
:thumbs: FYI I managed to kill an Asus mobo with their winflash util, the EZ flash tool is great though, never had any problems with it.

You may also want to try running memtest86+ (up to version 4) download the ISO, burn it and boot off it, run at least one pass to see if you have faulty ram.

ruup
30-09-2010, 08:28 AM
better late than never!

http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/paragon-backup-and-recovery-10-home-special-edition-english-version/

Snorkbox
30-09-2010, 11:06 AM
better late than never!

http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/paragon-backup-and-recovery-10-home-special-edition-english-version/

I hope it works for you. I downloaded same and installed. Did a backup of C and D which reside on one hard drive. I created the rescue CD.

The backing up closed unexpectedly and no solution found in Win 7 64 bit Pro. This after time left counted down to zero seconds left on an External USB drive.

I tried booting the CD I made and it moaned about my BIOS for some reason and refused to boot.

So far I'm not really impressed and will carry on using my usual way of doing backups.

Snorkbox
30-09-2010, 12:47 PM
Further to the above. I have tried again booting the recue cd in other modes and it still won't therefore the CD has been consigned to file 13 along with the Paragon software.

Try it if you want as your mileage may vary.