PDA

View Full Version : Lost setting on laptop.



Cicero
29-09-2010, 09:35 AM
The setting saved on this computer for the network do not match the requirements of the network,that is what it say when I try to connect.
For some reason it wants to connect via a PPoe connection,tried all that I can find,but can't change settings.??

Thanks lads and here we go again.

Should add,we are talking of a wireless connectionwhich I had b4 I tried to password system.

Nomad
29-09-2010, 09:42 AM
Sometime it is helpful to unhide SSID and t hen connect to it, and hide the SSID again.

pctek
29-09-2010, 10:20 AM
PPoe? That's wrong. This is the settings in the modem? What model, brand?

Cicero
29-09-2010, 11:44 AM
PPoe? That's wrong. This is the settings in the modem? What model, brand?

I can't find how to change settings,otherwise computer would set itself on auto!

Belkin F5D 8636-4V1

Cicero
29-09-2010, 11:50 AM
Sometime it is helpful to unhide SSID and t hen connect to it, and hide the SSID again.

It is hidden so well I can't find it!

Safari
29-09-2010, 11:52 AM
Can you get the laptop connected using the ethernet cable.
How are you connecting at the moment to post here, are you using your broadband modem on another computer.

Cicero
29-09-2010, 11:56 AM
Can you get the laptop connected using the Ethernet cable.
How are you connecting at the moment to post here, are you using your broadband modem on another computer.

Ya,it will connect by cable.

I am using my PC to Modem which has the Ethernet connection.

The above Belkin would then make a wireless connection,it is setting on laptop that is the problem,my friends Apple laptop connected ok.

Safari
29-09-2010, 12:04 PM
In IE got to Tools/Internet options and Connections Tab
Delete any connections there and select Never dial a connection.
Click Apply and OK

You may need to remove the wireless connection and reset it.
Go to Control Panel and Network and Sharing Center. On the left, click Manage Wireless Networks.
Right click on the network icon in question and click Remove.
Then you can search for wireless networks and connect again with the correct information.

Cicero
29-09-2010, 12:52 PM
Needless to say,you have fixed my laptop.

Sheer genius as far as I am concerned,so thanks a million.

Cicero
29-09-2010, 12:56 PM
This all started when I tried to password my router.

It asked questions I didn't know the answer to,such as was I WEP or WEP64 etc,so I took a guess and the problems began.
All I wanted to do was add a password,not answer 20 questions.