PDA

View Full Version : Backup software?



bluezone
27-09-2010, 03:29 PM
Hi all.

Just wanting some advise on a backup softare.

I have got 2 Stardom SohoRaid SR2. Both with 2x WD 1Tb green hdd's.
http://www.stardom.com.tw/sohoraid_sr2_feature.html

http://www.macsimumnews.com/images/uploads/SohoRaid.jpg

I have got a copy of Memeo Backup Professional but just wanting to know if there is better software out there.

With memeo it make a folder on the hdd and then has another 3 files and 2 folders in it and inside 1 of the folders its got another foler with your backup of your files in it. Is there any backup software that that just makes a backup copy of your files on the a external HDD without all the other xtra files?

Thanks

SolMiester
27-09-2010, 03:39 PM
You using Windows 7?, if not F-Backup!

bluezone
27-09-2010, 03:56 PM
Windows XP pro SP3

wainuitech
27-09-2010, 04:19 PM
X2 for FBackup (http://www.fbackup.com/) - I use it myself, and quite a few of my customers do as well.

bluezone
27-09-2010, 04:28 PM
When you have done a backup with it can it run and just update new files or edited files on the backup or has it got to copy all the backup over each time?

SolMiester
27-09-2010, 04:29 PM
per file if you would or any combo!

bluezone
27-09-2010, 04:32 PM
Also if you delate a file off your pc can you setup your backup drive to delate the old files after a set time off the backup drive?

SolMiester
27-09-2010, 04:39 PM
Also if you delate a file off your pc can you setup your backup drive to delate the old files after a set time off the backup drive?

It would get deleted if part of a job schedule, otherwise no!

bluezone
27-09-2010, 04:41 PM
ok thanks. Also anyone used SyncBack? freeware version

Deimos
27-09-2010, 06:40 PM
If you just want a copy of all your data (i.e. you don't need historical data) then you can just use robocopy, free download from Microsoft.

Snorkbox
27-09-2010, 06:48 PM
Karens Replicator does a reasonable job. Runs on a schedule and will do incremental backups.

gary67
27-09-2010, 06:59 PM
I use Active@disc image for a weekly C drive image unfortunately it cannot do incremental's on that image yet then I use syncback free to synchronise my D drive which is all my documents, music, videos and .pst file for outlook. I use both of the above as I backup over a network and win7 home pre doesn't do network backups

bluezone
27-09-2010, 07:24 PM
just trying out Syncback at moment. :)

gary67
27-09-2010, 08:01 PM
I use syncback as I can access the data from any computer that I am using as opposed the the C drive image that can only be read using the software that creates it

bluezone
28-09-2010, 09:44 PM
Just when you think you have the right amount of hdd storage you go nuts like me.

Now got:

1x Sonnet Fusion D500P-0TB, 3.5" SATA to eSATA, Enclosure, Silver, Retail $1.157.00
5x Western Digital RE2-GP WD1000FYPS Hard Disk Drive, 1000GB, Retail $250.00 each

http://www.smartdv.co.uk/shopimages/products/thumbnails/D500P.jpg

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/fusiond500p.html


A total of 9.5Tb of HDD stroage in my bedroom.

Speedy Gonzales
28-09-2010, 09:48 PM
Money to burn :rolleyes:

bluezone
28-09-2010, 10:34 PM
lol yeh.

Nice blue glow in my room off the 2 Stardom units and UPS screen. Also blue leds on my netbook. lol.

took photos when i was running backup.

http://i713.photobucket.com/albums/ww134/Markdeg2009/Other%20things%202/DSCF2711.jpg

http://i713.photobucket.com/albums/ww134/Markdeg2009/Other%20things%202/DSCF2706.jpg

Digby
29-09-2010, 11:49 AM
@bluezone

You must have a lot of critical spreadsheets to store !

I know what you mean about storage capacity.
I had a 1Tb and now am upgrading to a D: data drive of 1.5 TB

But seriously, what do you do about off site backups.

bluezone
29-09-2010, 01:05 PM
got a 2Tb hdd i backup onto and put it in my shed in a sealed box. :)

Gobe1
29-09-2010, 03:29 PM
I think file hamster does incremental and then deletes after 1 week or set time

MikeTech
02-10-2010, 12:58 AM
Hi all.

Just wanting some advise on a backup softare.

I have got 2 Stardom SohoRaid SR2. Both with 2x WD 1Tb green hdd's.
http://www.stardom.com.tw/sohoraid_sr2_feature.html

http://www.macsimumnews.com/images/uploads/SohoRaid.jpg

I have got a copy of Memeo Backup Professional but just wanting to know if there is better software out there.

With memeo it make a folder on the hdd and then has another 3 files and 2 folders in it and inside 1 of the folders its got another foler with your backup of your files in it. Is there any backup software that that just makes a backup copy of your files on the a external HDD without all the other xtra files?

Thanks

As you don't need image backup, try [edited]. It can either sync your folders or back them up, but if you choose second, it will create some additional files. And if you sync, you'll just get a copy of your folders. Task-based, quite user-friendly. Runs as services. Drawback is that it's not free.
BTW cool photos, but doesn't it interfere with sleep? ))

bluezone
02-10-2010, 05:19 PM
Yeh sofar Syncback is working good. setup to do a backup and a sync backup to both units at 7.00pm only of changed and new files.

Thanks. :) yeh are bright I just turn over and look at the wall till i go to sleep lol. Thats when i sleep lol

Will have to get a photo of the 5Tb unit working. :)