PDA

View Full Version : Seagate 1TB Sata wont spin up



Digby
27-09-2010, 11:34 AM
Hi Guys

I have a Seagate 1TB Sata drive about 1 year old.

This morning turned PC (Windows 7) on and it wont spin up so it cant find the drive.

Have changed all the cables and still no go.

Any suggestions ?

There is lots of data on it that I want.
But most of my critical data I have backed up.

GameJunkie
27-09-2010, 11:36 AM
can you put it in an enclosure to see if it can be seen then?

could be dead though

ronyville
27-09-2010, 12:13 PM
could possibly be dead power adaptor, try another adaptor or if you can, take it out and connect it directly to one of the power connectors off the PSU and see if it still spins or not.

1101
27-09-2010, 12:20 PM
Try it in another PC 1st. See if the bios detects it.


Good source of DIY HD data recovery techniques
http://www.myharddrivedied.com/

==========
last gasp,clutching at straws actions only:try less extreme methods 1st

1) freezing (it works.but rarely)
2) pick the drive & give it a quick spin in your hand (to try & free a stuck platter) -have seen this work
3) give it a good thump on the desk- saw the boss do this, I was horrified but it actually got the drive working
4) logic board swap, has to the the same model & firmware revision.Last success I had with this was a Bigfoot :groan:
5) open it up & spin up the drive manually. In theory the worst thing to try, but Ive seen this work as well (once)

SolMiester
27-09-2010, 12:27 PM
Cant believe the amount of hard drives failing now-a-days, which is probably why I run Raid 1.....

Erayd
27-09-2010, 12:27 PM
5) open it up & spin up the drive manually. In theory the worst thing to try, but Ive seen this work as well (once)Don't ever do this unless you want to destroy your drive completely. A single spec of dust on the platters can completely ruin the disk surface, and unless you're in a very good clean-room that piece of dust will land.

The rest of the ideas on that list aren't terribly smart either - while you may get a useful result, you may also ruin any chances of getting your data back.

If the data is valuable, and you can't easily get the drive running, take it to a company specialising in data recovery. Yes, they are expensive, but they will do a far better job of it that you'll be able to. Bear in mind that the more you mess with it, the more you damage even their chances of recovering something.

1101
27-09-2010, 12:50 PM
Don't ever do this unless you want to destroy your drive completely. A single spec of dust on the platters can completely ruin the disk surface, and unless you're in a very good clean-room that piece of dust will land.

The rest of the ideas on that list aren't terribly smart either - while you may get a useful result, you may also ruin any chances of getting your data back.



pfft, I thought I made it perfectly clear to try that list LAST.
Not everyone can justify the $1000++ to take it to a specialist with a certified clean room- although they do work miracles.

DESPITE the theory regarding clean rooms etc, I have seen ALL those techiques work : giving a full data recovery. The success rate is low however.

Again, when you have nothing left to loose, and have tried other methods to no avail, then why not try these wackball methods.
Even a 1% success rate is better than 0.

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 12:52 PM
Whats the model of the hdd?? Its not one of the models that needed a firmware update is it?

wratterus
27-09-2010, 01:31 PM
Whats the model of the hdd?? Its not one of the models that needed a firmware update is it?

Yeah does it have the SD15 firmware? I had a 500 gig drive the other day, about 18 months old. It had died so badly that the PC wouldn't even POST with the drive plugged in.

Naughty, naughty seagate. :badpc:

Snorkbox
27-09-2010, 01:39 PM
More like naughty naughty people that do not have a robust backup schedule in place!

We all know hard drives can and do fail do we not?

Digby
28-09-2010, 11:49 AM
@Snorkbox I did have a good back schedule in place, but it did not cover everything and my data files are getting quite big, so its getting a bit tedious.

I will open my PC later today to let you know what model it is.

Snorkbox
28-09-2010, 12:07 PM
Digby. By definition it can't be a good backup schedule if it does not cover ALL the files you want to backup. Rescuing files can be far more tedious and expensive if the only place they reside is a dead hard drive surely!

Bryan
28-09-2010, 12:31 PM
Have you a Linux distro? You could see if it recognises the Seagate and therefore recover your data that way.

Digby
28-09-2010, 01:44 PM
@snork box - touche

@Bryan - no I don't have linux, but I did try it in a different machine and the bios still wont see it.

I have got one more place where I think I have the files I want - its on a DVD but I cant find it !

Speedy Gonzales
28-09-2010, 02:05 PM
So for the 2nd time, whats the model

wainuitech
28-09-2010, 02:10 PM
Having a good backup is essential, not one just for data, but take a worse case - one day you turn on the PC and everything is gone. Or the PC gets stolen.

Question - How much heartache and time is it going to be to replace the items lost (if at all). If a person works on a worst case then anything less is a blessing.

My own backups - nightly backups of the Whole PC, as well as secondary backups of the important data - all fully automatic.

I have had the worst case a couple of times now - start the PC in the morning - HDD died. :crying - curse and swear - throw in another New HDD, and 40 -60 odd minutes later all back up and going again, OS, Programs everything, right up-to date from 8.30 the previous night.

So all that was lost was anything done after 8.30PM.

Edited: as for recovery of the data from the drive - dont mess with it, if its that important, then let the professional recovery experts get it back.

Thats one thing I often hear - Its very important, must have -- then when a price is given its not quite so important after all :)

If the Drive wont spinup at all, as in completely DEAD, thats usually a fault with the circuit board, not a firmware problem.