PDA

View Full Version : My new DVD writer



sarel
24-09-2010, 07:18 AM
Last night I copped a bit of flak from SWMBO about my new DVD writer that is not working right. I does not want to burn any discs - it always shows a "problem" somewhere in the middle whilst burning. I've downloaded the latest driver set, etc. but it still happens. It also disappears from My Computer and does not want to do anything, and to get it back I need to reboot. It plays music and games DVD's quite well.

Installing it on another PC - same problems.

Asus DVD drive, XP SP3

Suggestions?

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
24-09-2010, 07:44 AM
You mean you updated the firmware?? It shouldnt need any drivers

Did you install any programs like Daemontools?? Or any Roxio program??

This could be the prob

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929461

Did you jumper it properly (if its IDE). And if its on the same IDE connection as something else?

sarel
24-09-2010, 07:54 AM
B*gger, I may have a thing like Daemontools - it creates a virtual DVD I think - installed but I didn't do it. I think the son installed it last time he visited. (I've got no need for it and never will). B*gger x 10. Thanks for that.

Yes you're right Speedy, I updated the firmware.

sarel

sarel
24-09-2010, 04:33 PM
Where do one look for this program. Right clicking on the drive shows nothing. Going through Control Panel - A/Remove shows nothing I don't recognise. I know there is a virtual drive, but I got no idea how to kill it?

sarel

wainuitech
24-09-2010, 04:42 PM
instructions here (http://www.ehow.com/how_5394559_uninstall-daemon-tools.html)

Just found this advice as well

"Just make you you don't have any drive mounted before uninstalling plus use MSCONFIG after the uninstall to remove the D-Tools from Startup."

sarel
25-09-2010, 07:21 AM
B*gger. It's not Daemon Tools or even D Tools lite. It's something else. All I see on my computer is my real DVD drive (C) and then the "other" DVD drive, K. I do not get the options in the removal tools on my XP. I will now trawl this PC to see if I can recognise anything that shouldn't be there.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
25-09-2010, 07:26 AM
If its C, then what letter is the hdd? Get teamviewer, and I can check from here, and see what virtual cd programs (if any) are installed

sarel
25-09-2010, 07:33 AM
Speedy, I found Alcohol xx% and uninstalled it via its own uninstaller.. The virtual DVD drive disappeared, but unfortunately my own DVD drive as well. I tried the firmware again but it says there is no drive. So how do I make the DVD drive reappear - install it again?

TeamViewer - will go looking for it.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
25-09-2010, 07:37 AM
www.teamviewer.com

We'll see whats under upper and lowerfilters in the registry

sarel
25-09-2010, 07:49 AM
pm'ed the id and pw Speedy.

sarel

Agent_24
25-09-2010, 09:39 AM
Maybe you have a faulty cable?

Speedy Gonzales
25-09-2010, 09:43 AM
Once he comes back (if he does) I'll check again. It looked like a few burners had been installed (3-4). He may reformat, I think. Just have to remember not to install anything like daemontools / any virtual cd/dvd programs. Thats what can happen

Agent_24
25-09-2010, 10:07 AM
I've installed Alcohol 120%, Daemon tools, MagicDisk and Virtual Clone Drive on many computers and none of them have ever caused this kind of problem.

It might be possible, but I've never seen it.

Speedy Gonzales
25-09-2010, 10:19 AM
I know it can happen with DT and Alcohol. Altho, most of the computers I've seen it happen to have XP. And it can also happen with Kaspersky

sarel
25-09-2010, 04:26 PM
Helloooooooo everybody. Well, that was exciting. After Speedy done some wonderful things, I had to reboot and that's when the sh*te started. BSOD, only the Compaq splash screen, various kinds of problems. Mouse dead, Win screen frozen - at various stages various pieces of cr*p.

So I reinstalled XP - not a reformat, just a reinstall. Lost a bit of info that I would have liked to put on the external before but what the heck. In System the DVD drive shows "this device is working properly". Haven't yet tried to burn anything. The whole reinstallation took a bit of time, and I wanted to remove Nortons ans reinstall Nod before anything else. Updated Java, removed that Systemcare but I'm hesitant to remove my Poker link - it would have been picked up if it was malware?

Speedy, you want to have another look? There;s lots still to tidy up (lots of Compaq and HP links and Games) but otherwise it looks good.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
25-09-2010, 04:29 PM
Yup alright. I'll umm install 2 files, so I can see whether it does fix something up / the dvd. If it doesnt work

sarel
26-09-2010, 04:15 PM
B*gger. When I restarted yesterday after the SP3 install, chaos. Went into a startup loop, never past the WinXP splash screen, mouse went dead. Reinstalled a few times, same result. Then I did a destructive install of XP today, and I still haven't installed SP3 - for some reason this version of SP3 is not working for me. The PC was also exceedingly slow - if I click on say FF it will take minutes to open. Part of the reinstall was Nortons, that's been uninstalled and it would seem to be back to normal. Currently trying to d/l Java update, then I will uninstall all the cr*ppola that is usually installed with this version of XP.

Seems the DVD writer is good.

Speedy, I lost all those files with the reinstall

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2010, 04:30 PM
What is it AMD?? If it is, you may have to run this first

http://msinfluentials.com/blogs/jesper/archive/2008/05/08/does-your-amd-based-computer-boot-after-installing-xp-sp3.aspx

Run the VBS file before you install SP3. Or I'll do it

sarel
26-09-2010, 04:35 PM
I'll let the master do it. I've had too many reinstalls today, and I still need to d/l SP3. Also Team Viewer.

sarel
26-09-2010, 04:57 PM
Done. Sent pm

sarel

sarel
26-09-2010, 05:42 PM
Thanks Speedy. It seems to have done the trick, SP3 is in and everything looks good. I'm checking the DVD drive currently.

sarel

sarel
26-09-2010, 05:56 PM
Haven't installed Comodo - going to run without it for a while and see how it goes.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2010, 06:06 PM
Sweet, SP3 wont stuff up the writer. Be careful what virtual cd / dvd program you install

sarel
26-09-2010, 07:04 PM
I don't install any virtual programs (I don't need it) and I will keep the son from installing any as well

sarel

sarel
27-09-2010, 06:23 AM
I started to wonder last night if my old DVD burner was b*ggered after all - if you look at the problems with the new one it all looked very familiar and similar. I will therefore install the old burner into the second DVD bay. Is there a specific way of setting up the second DVD (like with HD's where you have master/slave)?

Then I probably need to copy an image of my system as it is now and save it somewhere for future use. I did have an image made via Backup4All, but it did not want to do anything. Suggestions?

sarel

wainuitech
27-09-2010, 07:23 AM
Is there a specific way of setting up the second DVD (like with HD's where you have master/slave)? If the Drives are SATA, then no - they will sort themselves out. If they are IDE, then yes master/Slave.

sarel
27-09-2010, 08:44 AM
I can't remember whether they are SATA/IDE, I think they are SATA. Will check. Thanks Wanui.

I must say that I'm impressed with TeamViewer and with Speedy - it was excellent checking/seeing what Speedy did on my PC. Just a pity I could not follow all his actions (some were hidden from my sight), but still impressive. Thanks Speedy.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 08:47 AM
Sweet no probs, that vbs file, copy it to something. Because you'll have to run it, (if) you format again. And before you install SP3

sarel
27-09-2010, 08:54 AM
I've copied the vbs, SP3, Nod32 d/l to a CD already because I wanted to make sure if it happened again I'm ready. With all the rebooting and reinstalls I had to d/l Nod32 and SP3 4 times. Slow learner, hey.:blush:

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 08:56 AM
:lol: Cool. Probably better if you get the SP3 iso. Then burn it http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=2fcde6ce-b5fb-4488-8c50-fe22559d164e. Dont copy it as is, you need a program to burn it with

sarel
27-09-2010, 09:11 AM
Yep, the burner is working and I have ImgBurn for the ISO

Thanks

sarel

sarel
27-09-2010, 09:21 AM
Last comment on the installs. As mentioned a reinstall copies a lot of Compaq cr*ppola onto the system, which I then delete or uninstall. Part of this install is Nortons 2006. The system was so sluggish after the reinstall, I thought some of my RAM went missing. Took 5 minutes to open up say FF. Uninstalling Nortons took an immense 3 hrs. Immediately after Nortons was uninstalled - utter bliss. System back to it's normal fast way of doing things.

I was just peeved off that I could not pick, from a Custom install menu, what to install and what not. Could have saved me a lot of time - e.g. it also copies a lot of cr*ppy Oberon games onto the system, and I had to uninstall each of them by hand - all 60 of them. Needless to say, my HD is now quite empty, lots of space. Will try and keep it that way.

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 09:31 AM
ALWAYS uninstall, DON'T delete folders (without uninstalling whatever first). or you'll have probs. Only way to fix that, dont use the restore cd's / dvd.

But then, you'll have to buy a separate version of XP, then download all the drivers, before you reformat again (if you have to).

Only good thing with the restore cd/dvd, is the drivers are part of it. And the bad thing, (as you found out), it installs all the crap programs. This applies to most branded PC's (not just HP/Compaq). That's one reason I've never brought a system

sarel
27-09-2010, 09:50 AM
Seeing that the system is quite empty, I will post a HJT log tonight and you could tell me what else I don't need. I left some installed programs because I did not know what they did or did not do. Some I use, like the Sonic CD/DVD copying programs (quite nifty), but others - I don't really know.

sarel

sarel
27-09-2010, 04:32 PM
Here's the HJT log:

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
Scan saved at 5:30:54 PM, on 27/09/2010
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.17080)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\ekrn.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPwuSchd2.exe
C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\egui.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\Program Files\Traffic Usage Checker\tuc.exe
c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iehome&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://ie.redirect.hp.com/svs/rdr?TYPE=3&tp=iesearch&locale=EN_NZ&c=64&bd=PRESARIO&pf=desktop
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IMJPMIG8.1] "C:\WINDOWS\IME\imjp8_1\IMJPMIG.EXE" /Spoil /RemAdvDef /Migration32
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSPY2002] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\PINTLGNT\ImScInst.exe /SYNC
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002ASync] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /SYNC
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PHIME2002A] C:\WINDOWS\system32\IME\TINTLGNT\TINTSETP.EXE /IMEName
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPBootOp] "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP Boot Optimizer\HPBootOp.exe" /run
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPwuSchd2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [egui] "C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\egui.exe" /hide /waitservice
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [CTFMON.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\system32\CTFMON.EXE (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - .DEFAULT User Startup: Pin.lnk = C:\hp\bin\CLOAKER.EXE (User 'Default user')
O4 - Startup: Traffic Usage Checker.lnk = C:\Program Files\Traffic Usage Checker\tuc.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: Connection Help - {E2D4D26B-0180-43a4-B05F-462D6D54C789} - C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Vendors\CN=Hewlett-Packard,L=Cupertino,S=Ca,C=US\IEButton\support.htm
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Connection Help - {E2D4D26B-0180-43a4-B05F-462D6D54C789} - C:\WINDOWS\PCHEALTH\HELPCTR\Vendors\CN=Hewlett-Packard,L=Cupertino,S=Ca,C=US\IEButton\support.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
O23 - Service: ESET HTTP Server (EhttpSrv) - ESET - C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\EHttpSrv.exe
O23 - Service: ESET Service (ekrn) - ESET - C:\Program Files\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\ekrn.exe
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
O23 - Service: LightScribeService Direct Disc Labeling Service (LightScribeService) - Hewlett-Packard Company - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LightScribe\LSSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

--
End of file - 7221 bytes

Snorkbox
27-09-2010, 04:46 PM
When you have the system the way you want it why not make an Image of the C: drive which you can just reload?

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 04:48 PM
This doesnt have to be in startup

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPwuSchd2.exe

I would use something else besides adobe reader

sarel
27-09-2010, 04:49 PM
Yeah I know, but with what?

sarel

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2010, 04:52 PM
Well, if its just for opening PDF files, Foxit, SumatraPDF to name a few

sarel
27-09-2010, 07:10 PM
Sorry Speedy, I asked the question to Snorkbox. Yeah I know - I had Foxit before

sarel

Snorkbox
27-09-2010, 07:13 PM
For an Image you could use Seagate Disk Wizard, Acronis, Ghost, Drive Image XML etc.

sarel
18-10-2010, 05:52 AM
Aaaah sh*te.

Same problems, different day. Have reinstalled XP only because I could not get my Ubuntu Live Iso to boot - it says something like "cannot boot from this disk, please update your bios". In short, DVD writer "falling off" the active list in my computer, micro-freezes starting and getting longer. Decided b*gger XP, it's Linux now and let's see if it shows the same problems. Unfortunately could not get it or Kubuntu to run.

Btw, sometimes my screen turns into horizontal lines - probably the screen driver? Where do I look for drivers that need to be updated.

I am so over all this cr*p.

sarel

Agent_24
18-10-2010, 08:30 AM
What is your video card?

But I would be checking for loose cables, bad graphics card or crap PSU.

Speedy Gonzales
18-10-2010, 08:47 AM
You dont need monitor drivers, its probably the vidcard thats playing up

How OLD is the computer, that BIOS message may have something to do with ACPI or something. And what version of ubuntu are/were you trying to install?? 10.10?

Agent_24
18-10-2010, 09:08 AM
It could be that the board is completely useless at supporting bootable CDs. I have one here which will not boot a single Linux CD. As I recall, I had to load smart boot manager from floppy first and then tell it to load the CD. Even the latest BIOS didn't fix it.

sarel
18-10-2010, 01:05 PM
NVidia GEForce 6150 LE = VidCard

Ubuntu Live V 10.04 and 10.10 - tried both

No, it did support bootable discs - used it quite a lot in the past without problems.

OK, it's time again for a shutdown, open up and check all connections.

sarel
18-10-2010, 02:03 PM
No loose connections. Took out the RAM, cleaned and reseated them. Installed my 2nd DVD drive and it shows DVD-drive, although the first one is showing as a CD-drive? Haven't installed SP3, I want to see if that did not cause it all.

So let's see.

Smart boot manager hey?

sarel

sarel
19-10-2010, 05:48 AM
I just don't know why the new DVD drive is seen as a CD drive? Both the DVD drives are SATA, btw.

sarel

Agent_24
19-10-2010, 08:54 AM
Sometimes mine shows up as a CD drive. Doesn't seem to make any difference.