PDA

View Full Version : Best Razors?

pantera989
21-09-2010, 05:48 PM
I have been using an electric shaver for a few years and have gotten so sick of breakages and blades going blunt long before their supposed to that I'm ready to give them up.

Anyone have recommendations on shaving razors?

robbyp
21-09-2010, 05:51 PM
I have been using an electric shaver for a few years and have gotten so sick of breakages and blades going blunt long before their supposed to that I'm ready to give them up.

Its sounds like you are using a cheap electric one? I would recommend the more expensive braun ones, which use a foil. Far better than those philips rotary ones, or the cheaper brand ones

Erayd
21-09-2010, 06:25 PM
Anyone have recommendations on shaving razors?I've found that most things with 3+ blades seem to do the job pretty well. Avoid the bic cheapies, they're evil!

Edit: This (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/5/7798564_460c1eccca.jpg) is mine (and again without the packaging (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/69/216981056_0c1c9d993b.jpg)). Blades seem to last several months, and replacement blades are stocked by most supermarkets.

SurferJoe46
21-09-2010, 06:28 PM
The Norelcos are junk. They nip and you bleed more from their electric than if you used a straight razor for the first time.

Actually - the cheapie BICs without the white lubrication strip were pretty good and they discontinued them. Figgers.

My dad had an old Schick 1066 that he used on submarines during the war and after until he retired and then some.

It was so good that he gave it to my mother to shave her legs. I think she demanded to be cremated with it in the end.

Trev
21-09-2010, 06:59 PM
I use a Gillette Fusion Powered. Uses a 5 blade cartridge. You buy the cartridges in a pack of 4 for about $26. I can get over a fortnights use from a cartridge.
:)

ubergeek85
21-09-2010, 07:45 PM
Personally I use a Gilette Mach 3, not fancy or anything, but it does the job.

SP8's
21-09-2010, 08:49 PM