PDA

View Full Version : Recording streaming radio



rob_on_guitar
18-09-2010, 08:12 PM
Hey guys,
I have my tunes being played on the rock tomorrow night, am I able to record streaming radio?

I used to do the old cassette thingy, but dont have that option anymore.

Is it even legal?

Cheers
Rob

--Wolf--
18-09-2010, 08:24 PM
I know you can stream the rock online so there's probably a way, just don't know it sorry.

Is it being played on Pauls show?

rob_on_guitar
18-09-2010, 08:25 PM
Yea man, just finished a song yesterday and he was wrapped as with it. Dont know if he will play one or more but still cool lol

ubergeek85
18-09-2010, 08:29 PM
Woah, that takes me back...

Anyway, I'm looking at it now. They use mms, which isn't bad. VLC can handle it. To play it, just hit open network stream, and point it to mms://ac1.streaming.net.nz/tvworks-rock or if you want to record it, go file-convert/save, then hit the network tab, put in the same address, hit convert/save, for your destination file, make sure that it ends in .mp3, because VLC by default will try to save it as a container-based format (eg .avi, .mp4). Hit 'display output' if you want to listen to it as it's recording/transcoding. Then change the profile to 'Audio - MP3'. Hit the spanner icon, make sure encapsulation is RAW, then head to the audio tab, choose your bit rate (I'd stick with 128, anything higher is a bit of a waste as the mms stream won't be much higher anyway).

Hit 'start'. When the counter starts ticking over, it's finished buffering and should start recording. MAKE SURE YOU TEST IT!! It works fine for me, but you don't want to find out that with 5 mins to go, it fails for some reason.

Edit; just done a bit more checking, for the record, the mms codec is WMA2, and the bitrate is 64Kbit/s. Pretty good sound for that rate.

Edit 2; Bear in mind that VLC will sit there for quite a bit while it buffers, if feels like an age, but it's less than 30s.

Edit 3; I don't mind recording it for you and sending it to ya if you're interested.

rob_on_guitar
18-09-2010, 09:11 PM
Super sweet man, Ill be keen for a back up copy, Ill test it out after work tomorrow at 4, so should give me 4 hours to get it right lol
Ill see how it goes and send an update:thanks

SurferJoe46
19-09-2010, 12:47 AM
Why don't you just fire up Audacity and let it record while the stream is running?

This way you can record at 128kb or whatever setting you want. I do this all the time and then OPEN the files it saves in WMP and lock them into there for future playback.

Anything you can hear on your speakers or goes through your sound card, Audacity can record. ?

rob_on_guitar
19-09-2010, 06:28 AM
Oh yea....I will try this too and see!

rob_on_guitar
19-09-2010, 06:13 PM
Woo! After a bit of adjusting soundcard settings, recording straight to Audacity, clear as a bell!

davidmmac
19-09-2010, 09:20 PM
Woo! After a bit of adjusting soundcard settings, recording straight to Audacity, clear as a bell!

Sorry to hijack your thread but how did you get Audiacity to record your radio station? I'm trying to do the same thing with this (http://www.skysports.com/radio/)but won't record any sound, instead it produces a blank audio file :help:

ubergeek85
19-09-2010, 09:35 PM
I'm recording/listening now, did he just mention you coming up?

--Wolf--
19-09-2010, 09:39 PM
That wouldn't be you Mr Black, "possibly the best shredder" would it?

Not listening anymore sorry but if you decide to upload it be sure to post it.

Congrats btw, sounds like Paul is a fan of you.

ubergeek85
19-09-2010, 10:17 PM
Mr. Black, playing a song called Darkness... heh

But seriously, that's some good **** you're playin' there!

rob_on_guitar
19-09-2010, 11:59 PM
Thanks guys, yup Mr Black is me, Ill upload the segment tomorrow or something.
For audacity I used my realtek card and selected the stereo mix (just had to make sure it was unmuted) in the recording mixer part. Or select the tool bar by the volume control. Theres a good write up with links on the audcity site.
Got heaps of good words which surprised me, kinda cool!

SurferJoe46
20-09-2010, 03:12 AM
Sorry to hijack your thread but how did you get Audiacity to record your radio station? I'm trying to do the same thing with this (http://www.skysports.com/radio/)but won't record any sound, instead it produces a blank audio file :help:

Set up might be confusing - but if you can hear it on your puter, then Audacity can grab it.

Fire up Audacity and get your stream playing, then goto Audacity and from the drop-down, pick the source you want to record - there will likely be a few of them - and watch for a signal to pop into the stereo channels.

If you see sound oscillations, then it's getting it.

Be sure to have also downloaded "LAME (http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBwQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Flame.sourceforge.net%2F&rct=j&q=lame&ei=6SeWTPOnBJTCsAO7nenkCQ&usg=AFQjCNHA3pZfKI5KFsGYTZDq3JqOE9D4zA&sig2=BQRKZkcxdpAN7lAYOIsshg&cad=rja)" and put it right next to the program file for Audacity so it can find it. LAME will allow you to create MP3s of your recordings at your choice of bitrate so you can put them on a CD later.

There are so-o-o many options in Audacity that it may be intimidating for you - but roll around in it for a while and you'll get the hang of it.

Editing is a breeze with COPY/PASTE and DELETE, etc., with all sorts of assignable macros.

B.M.
20-09-2010, 06:58 AM
I've found Mp3MyMp3 (http://www.mp3mymp3.com/) excellent.

rob_on_guitar
20-09-2010, 05:38 PM
Here the track being played on the show, not bad quality: http://www.box.net/shared/xo529mdb5h

davidmmac
20-09-2010, 06:37 PM
Set up might be confusing - but if you can hear it on your puter, then Audacity can grab it.

Fire up Audacity and get your stream playing, then goto Audacity and from the drop-down, pick the source you want to record - there will likely be a few of them - and watch for a signal to pop into the stereo channels.

If you see sound oscillations, then it's getting it.


I feel really stupid asking this, but where's the dropdown box? :o

Edit: Is this it? http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/6854/66526387.jpg

rob_on_guitar
20-09-2010, 06:43 PM
This might help you out: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/index.php?title=Mixer_Toolbar_Issues#Using_the_Con trol_Panel

--Wolf--
20-09-2010, 07:55 PM
Here the track being played on the show, not bad quality: http://www.box.net/shared/xo529mdb5h

Bloody awesome Rob. Would be keen to hear the Phil Collins cover

rob_on_guitar
20-09-2010, 09:00 PM
Heres the Phil Collins track, I did it around 5 - 6 years ago now http://www.box.net/shared/xghnqzmoks

GameJunkie
20-09-2010, 09:07 PM
impressive stuff rob:thumbs:

--Wolf--
20-09-2010, 10:51 PM
Heres the Phil Collins track, I did it around 5 - 6 years ago now http://www.box.net/shared/xghnqzmoks

Wow that was actually really cool. Pulled it off brilliantly.

+1 fan here.

SurferJoe46
21-09-2010, 04:04 AM
I feel really stupid asking this, but where's the dropdown box? :o

Edit: Is this it? http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/6854/66526387.jpg

You don't appear to have the full screen there.

I have a lot more control panel than you do::

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_cRmowvPKcq4/TJeFiB_riNI/AAAAAAAAE_o/u2qExIWSwyY/s640/Audacity%209202010%2090146%20AM.jpg

On mine, you can see the drop-down I think.

rob_on_guitar
21-09-2010, 07:41 PM
Thanks guys for the kind words!
David: You got to go to the View menu, select 'Toolbars' then select 'Devices' I think it's called and you will see what Joe is showing or very similar.

xyz823
21-09-2010, 07:50 PM
Loved them both man, obviously a very talented musician.

rob_on_guitar
21-09-2010, 08:02 PM
Thanks, glad you enjoyed them cheers!