PDA

View Full Version : Is my wireless router had its time

bruciebear
14-09-2010, 03:31 PM
I have had a D-Link DSL-G604T for a few years worked fine. Now either my laptop says everything is fine full strength but you cant access the Internet or it also drops the line completely. Have to re boot the router up to 5 times a day, then it comes on fine.
Is it time to get a new one?
We run 2 laptops off it, dont do a heck of alot, just emailing and surfing and remote access to work. No gaming.
If its time for a new one any suggestions at a reasonable price? Cheers.

Speedy Gonzales
14-09-2010, 03:38 PM
Is the firmware up to date? And how far is the router from the laptops? And is it secure? And what OS's are on them?

forrest44
14-09-2010, 04:19 PM
Routers can suffer from the bad capacitor problem, could pay to pop the top and check if any are bulging/leaking

bruciebear
14-09-2010, 04:31 PM
It is secure and the laptops operate within the same small room as the router.
I am a novice bout the other querys but the router has not been touched or upgraded in any way. This has only been happening for the past 2 months. Cheers.

Speedy Gonzales
14-09-2010, 05:09 PM
Did you buy the router or did you get it with telecom (if you're with them)

Because Revision C (if you brought it), the first version did lock up in some circumstances

bruciebear
16-09-2010, 08:54 AM
Not from Telecom we brought it. I also notice that Telecom says my address has ADSL2. This DLink is not ADSL2 so I presume it would be worth getting a new router anyway to improve speed?

WarNox
16-09-2010, 09:50 AM
Not from Telecom we brought it. I also notice that Telecom says my address has ADSL2. This DLink is not ADSL2 so I presume it would be worth getting a new router anyway to improve speed?