PDA

View Full Version : BSOD errors



cyanide
11-09-2010, 06:29 PM
ok one of my friends recently had a video card have a fan go bad in it and I was trying to fix it, so I put it in my computer to test it and see if the fan turned on... I was never able to fix it so about 3 or 4 hours after this I start getting the BSOD and every time it was different I get System service exception and IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL or PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
I also get "The system encountered an uncorrectable hardware error" which from what I have heard its either ram or driver issues with the video card. I have done absolutely everything I can think of.. I never even touched my video card at all so I don't think its that, I was thinking it was a motherboard problem from when i put his card in, like something with the PCIe? Please help

Speedy Gonzales
11-09-2010, 06:35 PM
What are the stop errors?? If you see the BSOD, does it show the name of a file / driver? Disable auto restart (Press F8 select it here). What version of windows is it?

cyanide
11-09-2010, 07:14 PM
I have windows 7. the stop errors 0x000000D1 is one of them I actually just got that one it didn't give me enough time to write down all the numbers.

cyanide
11-09-2010, 07:18 PM
I've tried reformatting too...

Speedy Gonzales
11-09-2010, 07:26 PM
Must be ram or video if it does it while or after you've formatted then

How much ram have you got, and whats the specs of the system?? Are you doing a clean install / not upgrading from vista or XP?

cyanide
12-09-2010, 06:41 AM
I have 2 gigabytes of patriot memory at 800 MHz
XFX GTS 250
XFX 750i motherboard
500 gigabyte WD hardrive
and a dual core processor at 2.93 GHz

I tried takeing each of my memory sticks out to test if one of them is screwed up but it still gave me the BSOD.

cyanide
12-09-2010, 06:44 AM
and it still gives me the BSOD when I start in safe mode

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 07:40 AM
Is it overclocked?

cyanide
12-09-2010, 07:51 AM
no its not

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 08:02 AM
So, is there any OS on it now?? Or is the hdd empty? If Win7 is still on it now,. reboot, press / hold F8 down, and select the memory test / diag option. Wait for it to finish. Are you in NZ, or somewhere else?

cyanide
12-09-2010, 08:07 AM
I'm in the US but I already tried the mem test and it came back clean.

cyanide
12-09-2010, 08:10 AM
yes there is an OS on it now and it was actually crashing while I was trying to reformat. but I finally got it to go through and when it was done I updated all the drivers and it worked for about 4 hours and then it started doing it again.

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 08:14 AM
If you can manage to get into windows for a few mins, you could get bluescreenview http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

Install it, then load the dmp files. Tell us what files come up in pink

cyanide
12-09-2010, 08:38 AM
ok I managed to do it after about the 3rd try but here's what I got, ntoskrnl.exe, NTFS.sys, hal.dll, win32k.sys, storport.sys, and nvstor64.sys

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 08:46 AM
I take it, its 64 bit you installed?? Not 32 bit? nvstor64.sys are the SATA drivers. Umm, did you add the SATA drivers before the install of Win7??. I would get WD's diag program from their site. Then test the hdd

cyanide
12-09-2010, 08:50 AM
yes it is 64 bit.. I didn't install the drivers for it only because I don't have my motherboard driver cd with me. but I've had this computer running for nearly 3 months and its never had a problem until i plugged my friends video card in it 2 days ago.

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 08:56 AM
So is your friends card still in your system now? If it is remove it. When you installed his card, did you remove yours?? Are / Were they the same kind of card (ie: Nvidia, or was yours ATI)??

cyanide
12-09-2010, 08:59 AM
no I did not remove my card when I put his in. and yes it is removed now i only had it in there for a few min. and they are both Nvidia his was a 8800 GS and mine is a GTS 250

cyanide
12-09-2010, 09:07 AM
maybe its a bios thing? I have a clear cmos button on the back of my mobo too idk if that will help.

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 09:22 AM
You can try, but you may have to reconfigure the BIOS after

cyanide
12-09-2010, 09:32 AM
so do you think its a video card problem or is it my motherboard?.. cause I'm probly gonna end up replacing one of them

Speedy Gonzales
12-09-2010, 10:42 AM
It's hard to tell. But it doesnt help it crashes after or while you're reinstalling windows. You did boot from the win7 dvd when you tried to reinstall windows didnt you?? You didnt try and reinstall win7 from within wind7 did you?

Agent_24
12-09-2010, 11:26 AM
Did you knock any cables loose? try disconnecting and reconnecting them all?