PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 10.04 - no internet connection



dkjMusic
10-09-2010, 02:50 PM
I have Ubuntu 10.04 installed on a HP PC. I can get no internet connection thru the wired ethernet. Googling gives many suggested solutions, none of which have worked.

Can someone here help me to get it working?

nedkelly
10-09-2010, 03:00 PM
Might be a good idea if you also posted the model of the machine

Erayd
10-09-2010, 04:01 PM
Could you please post the following (these are commands that need to be run in a shell):
The output of 'uname -a'
The output of 'sudo ifconfig -a'
The output of 'sudo lspci'
The output of 'sudo lsmod'
The entire contents of the file '/etc/network/interfaces'

johnd
10-09-2010, 08:48 PM
Googling gives many suggested solutions, none of which have worked.


Would be helpful to know what you have tried in response to the Google potential solutions?

dkjMusic
11-09-2010, 02:45 AM
the model of the machine:
HP Pavilion a1723w
Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

dennis@dennis-desktop:~$ uname -a
Linux dennis-desktop 2.6.32-24-generic #42-Ubuntu SMP Fri Aug 20 14:24:04 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux

dennis@dennis-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
[sudo] password for dennis:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:fa:1b:16
inet6 addr: fe80::218:f3ff:fefa:1b16/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2725 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:167317 (167.3 KB) TX bytes:684 (684.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:9425 (9.4 KB) TX bytes:9425 (9.4 KB)

dennis@dennis-desktop:~$ sudo lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ/P/PL Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GH (ICH7DH) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 RAID bus controller: Intel Corporation 82801GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA RAID Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 01)
01:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW322/323 (rev 70)
01:05.0 Communication controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. HSF 56k Data/Fax Modem
01:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family LAN Controller (rev 01)

dennis@dennis-desktop:~$ sudo lsmod
Module Size Used by
nls_iso8859_1 3249 1
nls_cp437 4919 1
vfat 8933 1
fat 47767 1 vfat
nls_utf8 1069 1
isofs 29250 1
binfmt_misc 6587 1
ppdev 5259 0
ipt_REJECT 1928 1
ipt_LOG 4542 5
xt_limit 1382 7
xt_tcpudp 2011 13
ipt_addrtype 1631 4
xt_state 1098 7
ip6table_filter 2343 1
ip6_tables 11227 1 ip6table_filter
snd_hda_codec_realtek 203310 1
nf_nat_irc 1124 0
nf_conntrack_irc 3332 1 nf_nat_irc
nf_nat_ftp 1836 0
nf_nat 15735 2 nf_nat_irc,nf_nat_ftp
fbcon 35102 71
tileblit 2031 1 fbcon
font 7557 1 fbcon
bitblit 4707 1 fbcon
softcursor 1189 1 bitblit
nf_conntrack_ipv4 10672 9 nf_nat
nf_defrag_ipv4 1073 1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
nf_conntrack_ftp 5381 1 nf_nat_ftp
vga16fb 11385 0
vgastate 8961 1 vga16fb
nf_conntrack 61583 7 xt_state,nf_nat_irc,nf_conntrack_irc,nf_nat_ftp,nf _nat,nf_conntrack_ipv4,nf_conntrack_ftp
iptable_filter 2271 1
ip_tables 9991 1 iptable_filter
x_tables 14299 8 ipt_REJECT,ipt_LOG,xt_limit,xt_tcpudp,ipt_addrtype ,xt_state,ip6_tables,ip_tables
snd_hda_intel 21941 2
snd_hda_codec 74201 2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 5412 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss 35308 0
snd_mixer_oss 13746 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 70662 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 1338 0
snd_seq_oss 26726 0
snd_seq_midi 4557 0
snd_rawmidi 19056 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 6003 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 47263 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 19098 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 5700 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
i915 285586 3
usblp 10481 0
uinput 6312 2
snd 54148 16 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec, snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_se q_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
drm_kms_helper 29297 1 i915
soundcore 6620 1 snd
drm 162409 4 i915,drm_kms_helper
i2c_algo_bit 5028 1 i915
intel_agp 24119 2 i915
agpgart 31724 2 drm,intel_agp
snd_page_alloc 7076 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
video 17375 1 i915
output 1871 1 video
lp 7028 0
parport 32635 2 ppdev,lp
usbhid 36110 0
hid 67032 1 usbhid
usb_storage 39425 2
ohci1394 26950 0
e100 28211 0
ieee1394 81181 1 ohci1394
mii 4381 1 e100
ahci 32200 3

contents of the file '/etc/network/interfaces':
#auto lo
#iface lo inet loopback

what you have tried in response to the Google potential solutions:
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+question/90414/+index
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-nettool/+question/114294/+index
https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gnome-nettool/+question/94359/+index
http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/howto-linux-renew-dhcp-client-ip-address/
http://www.ehow.com/how_5817603_force-ip-address-dhcp-server.html
http://help.lockergnome.com/linux/force-Linux-reacquire-IP-address--ftopict415034.html
http://serverfault.com/questions/42799/how-to-force-linux-to-reacquire-a-new-ip-address-from-the-dhcp-server
http://whynotwiki.com/GNU/Linux_/_Networking#How_to_renew_DHCP_lease

Erayd
11-09-2010, 04:27 AM
Edit the file '/etc/network/interfaces' to add the following two lines:
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcpOnce you've done that, reboot the system.

Did that fix your issue, or are you still having problems with it?

When you tried to renew the dhclient lease, did this temporarily fix things, or not?

Have you rebooted the router since having this problem? If none of the above helped, it's possible that the router's DHCP server has simply crashed.

dkjMusic
11-09-2010, 03:37 PM
Erayd, I really appreciate your help. I feel that with your assistance, I will resolve this problem. Here are the answers to your questions:

Did that fix your issue, or are you still having problems with it?:
No, I still have no internet connection. In fact, after adding the lines to /etc/network/interfaces, the icon for network connectivity disappeared from my panel. Strange, no?

When you tried to renew the dhclient lease, did this temporarily fix things, or not?
No it did not.

Have you rebooted the router since having this problem?
I have no router.

Agent_24
11-09-2010, 04:34 PM
Have you rebooted the router since having this problem?
I have no router.

What do you have then?

dkjMusic
11-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Agent_24, I have an Aaris modem from Comcast.

Agent_24
11-09-2010, 06:14 PM
Agent_24, I have an Aaris modem from Comcast.

It should probably still have a DHCP server though. Have you tried rebooting it?

Erayd
12-09-2010, 03:19 PM
No, I still have no internet connection.OK.


In fact, after adding the lines to /etc/network/interfaces, the icon for network connectivity disappeared from my panel. Strange, no?That's supposed to happen - adding eth0 to this file should override the default config mechanism Ubuntu is using. Noting it didn't fix the issue, you can remove these lines again.


When you tried to renew the dhclient lease, did this temporarily fix things, or not?
No it did not.When you run dhclient, what output is displayed?


I have no router.If you don't have a standalone router, you probably either have a router built into your comcast modem, or your comcast modem is operating as a straight bridge, and the lease comes from comcast directly.

Does rebooting your modem, then running 'sudo dhclient eth0' 5 mins later solve things?

Can you describe your physical network? How many devices are accessing the internet via this modem, and how are they all connected?

Is the Ubuntu PC connected directly to the modem via a cable, or are you using some other method?

Xam
12-09-2010, 10:36 PM
A few months ago I had a similar problem with my newly installed Ubuntu 10.4 in that I could not connect to the internet and, again like you, Erayd replied. His patience over more than a week, his concise questioning and undoubted knowledge had my problem fixed and Ubuntu has run without fault ever since. To me he is a tremendous guy and I am still grateful to him for his help. :clap

johnd
12-09-2010, 10:41 PM
dennis@dennis-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig -a
[sudo] password for dennis:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:f3:fa:1b:16
inet6 addr: fe80::218:f3ff:fefa:1b16/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2725 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:167317 (167.3 KB) TX bytes:684 (684.0 B)


Looks like you are using IPv6 rather than IPv4. Is there a reason for this?

Erayd
12-09-2010, 10:58 PM
Looks like you are using IPv6 rather than IPv4. Is there a reason for this?That address is a zeroconf address - it's automatically generated by the system in the absence of any proper ipv6 configuration information. The entire fe80::/16 network space is reserved for this purpose. In most cases it has no impact, and can be safely ignored - it's not related to the OP's problem.

If you're interested, you can find a fairly useful overview of the various zeroconf implementations here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zero_configuration_networking).

dkjMusic
13-09-2010, 12:15 AM
Looks like you are using IPv6 rather than IPv4. Is there a reason for this?

No reason at all.

I just now edited my 'Auto eth0' connection to ignore IPv6 and, viola, I got connected. :clap

Thank you all for your help.

Now if I could figure out how to scroll-wheel a page at a time. :rolleyes:

Agent_24
13-09-2010, 12:21 AM
Good to know it works now!

Strange though, as Erayd pointed out, it shouldn't make any difference...

Erayd
13-09-2010, 12:29 AM
I just now edited my 'Auto eth0' connection to ignore IPv6 and, viola, I got connected. :clapGlad to hear it now works :D.

Interesting to hear that it disables ipv4 by default though - it shouldn't be doing that... probably yet another useless decision by the Ubuntu packagers :(.


Thank you all for your help.No worries :).


Now if I could figure out how to scroll-wheel a page at a time. :rolleyes:Believe it or not, this is actually possible. Depending on where you're configuring your mouse, you should be able to set a 'per-click' scroll height; if you bump this up you'll be able to get it to scroll approximately a page at a time, although you won't be able to get it perfectly exact.

Agent_24
13-09-2010, 12:44 AM
Interesting to hear that it disables ipv4 by default though - it shouldn't be doing that... probably yet another useless decision by the Ubuntu packagers :(.

Well, mine works for me, I have 10.04 running, my router does not support IPv6 yet I get the link-local address for IPv6 as dkjMusic does.

Erayd
13-09-2010, 12:49 AM
...my router does not support IPv6 yet I get the link-local address for IPv6 as dkjMusic does.The zeroconf address is assigned by the local system, not by the router.

Agent_24
13-09-2010, 03:07 PM
The zeroconf address is assigned by the local system, not by the router.

Yes, I know. I suppose what I wrote didn't make much sense.
What I meant to say is that even though my router has no support for IPv6, and Ubuntu supports it, it does not cause IPv4 to fail for me.

Erayd
13-09-2010, 05:49 PM
...even though my router has no support for IPv6, and Ubuntu supports it, it does not cause IPv4 to fail for me.That's good - that's how it's supposed to behave :thumbs:.

Agent_24
13-09-2010, 08:25 PM
And as such dkjMusic's problem doesn't make much sense.

Then again, I know not much about Linux, which is why I use Ubuntu.

dkjMusic
14-09-2010, 07:40 AM
And as such dkjMusic's problem doesn't make much sense.

Then again, I know not much about Linux, which is why I use Ubuntu.

I'm beginning to think that Ubuntu, 10.04 at least, is the most problematic of the Linux distributions for newbies like me. As I mentioned above, I wish I could scroll a page at a time (or at least more than 3 lines). Also, I'd like to change the Trash icons (empty and full). But just as with this internet connection problem, I Googled the bejeezus out of both issues, got lots of hits, and am yet to find solutions.

Agent_24
14-09-2010, 12:32 PM
Maybe you should get Kubuntu instead. I have found the Kubuntu forum to be much more helpful than the Ubuntu one.

Erayd
14-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Maybe you should get Kubuntu instead...
Baaaad idea. While KDE is awesome (and in my humble opinion beats the socks off Gnome), it's very much a second-class citizen on Ubuntu.

Rod J
15-09-2010, 08:52 PM
I'm beginning to think that Ubuntu, 10.04 at least, is the most problematic of the Linux distributions for newbies like me. As I mentioned above, I wish I could scroll a page at a time (or at least more than 3 lines). Also, I'd like to change the Trash icons (empty and full). But just as with this internet connection problem, I Googled the bejeezus out of both issues, got lots of hits, and am yet to find solutions.

10.04 runs much better on my PC than did 9.04. In 9.04 the standby/hibernate function would never work but it works perfectly in 10.04; also the wireless drivers seem to be much better too. Overall the system seems more stable to me.

You might find this info useful for your mouse scroll settings:
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-861858.html

johnd
15-09-2010, 09:55 PM
I'm beginning to think that Ubuntu, 10.04 at least, is the most problematic of the Linux distributions for newbies like me.
Would have to disagree with you there. I have been using Linux since 1998 and Ubuntu seems to me to be easy to use and free of issues.

dkjMusic
15-09-2010, 10:51 PM
10.04 runs much better on my PC than did 9.04. In 9.04 the standby/hibernate function would never work but it works perfectly in 10.04; also the wireless drivers seem to be much better too. Overall the system seems more stable to me.

You might find this info useful for your mouse scroll settings:
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-861858.html

Rod J, thanks for the link. It did lead me to setting up page-at-a-time scrolling in Firefox.

dkjMusic
15-09-2010, 10:55 PM
Would have to disagree with you there. I have been using Linux since 1998 and Ubuntu seems to me to be easy to use and free of issues.

johnd, I realized after I posted that comment, with a grand total of 2 weeks' experience with Linux, that I had no basis for that opinion.:blush:

Erayd
16-09-2010, 12:43 AM
Mmm, basis or not, Ubuntu does have a track record of releasing bugs into what is supposed to be a stable distribution. That is one of the reasons why I avoid it wherever possible.

It is a good distro for people new to Linux though, as long as they don't try to upgrade it without someone available to fix it for them if something breaks.