PDA

View Full Version : D-Link 302G Generation II issues



goodiesguy
08-09-2010, 01:17 PM
Wondering why i haven't been on in the past few days?

Our RTA1320 died, as in, the power and ppp lights are non existent and and the rest stay on, and it makes a humming noise. Yeah, its dead.

I have got our internet to go on a D-Link 302G Generation II router, but randomly, it will stop, and i wont be able to browse the web, then it goes again.

How do i fix this? it's getting annoying beyond belief. (if i don't reply promptly, it has happend)

Any info on how to fix this is very appreciated.

Safari
08-09-2010, 01:30 PM
Fairly obvious I would have thought, the modem is faulty.
The D-link 302 is an old modem now and was not very reliable anyway.

goodiesguy
08-09-2010, 01:36 PM
ok, i will get my parents to get a new one. Is their any short fix? as we are changing internet providers from Telstraclear to (i think) slingshot as we are fed up with clearnet, and as far as i know, slingshot give you a router (am i correct?)

SolMiester
08-09-2010, 01:38 PM
slingshot are only adsl1!

goodiesguy
08-09-2010, 01:45 PM
adsl1???? isn't that what our old RTA1320 router from 2008 is?

Speedy Gonzales
08-09-2010, 02:01 PM
A modem/router maybe ADSL2. That doesnt mean the ISP is (unless you pay extra for ADSL2)

goodiesguy
08-09-2010, 02:03 PM
I don't think we have ever had ADSL2, so i don't think we care.

pctek
08-09-2010, 02:41 PM
I don't think we have ever had ADSL2, so i don't think we care.

You should care. Unless you have something against extra speed.

And Slingshot has terrible customer service.

lakewoodlady
08-09-2010, 07:07 PM
slingshot are only adsl1!

I am with Slingshot and am getting ADSL2+ speeds. Was with xnet and speeds went up when cabinet went live 300 metres away, last year. Just changed to Slingshot three months ago and still same.

LL :punk

Agent_24
08-09-2010, 08:52 PM
RTA1320 is ADSL2+ capable and I found much better than the D-link.

However, a certain batch of them were prone to breaking. I don't actually know the issue, but I wouldn't be surprised if it was crap capacitors, probably not hard to fix actually.

Chilling_Silence
09-09-2010, 12:16 AM
:pf1mobmini:

Chilling_Silence
09-09-2010, 12:19 AM
yes that's right agent_24. Since I wrote this article some 12 months ago, I've spoken with Netcomm about that issue, it was just a particular few batches, but I've nit had a chance to update this: http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/?p=84

Goodiesguy, get a new router ;-)

yes, slingshot do adsl2+ where supported by telecom, and provided your modern also supports it...

:pf1mobmini:

Agent_24
09-09-2010, 02:51 AM
Ahh yes, the overheating problem - Guess I must have one of the good ones....

goodiesguy
09-09-2010, 02:38 PM
Our RTA1320 did get incredibly hot quite a few times, it probably over heated as its on 24/7

Speedy Gonzales
09-09-2010, 02:51 PM
Most modems are

Chilling_Silence
09-09-2010, 04:19 PM
Yeah as Speedy said it's OK to be on 24/7, but over time they *do* wear out, and the heat certainly doesn't help... My Linksys AM300 has pumped some few terabytes through it over the last however long, it's literally ran 24/7 with the exception of 2 power cuts and two ISP issues for the last 18 months now. Gotta love those AM300's!!

Agent_24
09-09-2010, 04:25 PM
I turn mine off when I go to sleep, not much point leaving it on. Maybe that is why it's still going...

goodiesguy
09-09-2010, 04:36 PM
I'm the last one to go to sleep in my house, which means i would have to go into our lounge and turn off the router, which would also confuse my pc and laptop as they are set to always be connected to the net, so we just leave it on, as its easier

Chilling_Silence
09-09-2010, 04:43 PM
Yeah it means that I can leave things on like MSN etc, as I frequently get messages left for me overnight.

Considering the amount of other devices such as printers, Wii's, TiVo's etc that we have, it's just significantly easier to leave it on ;)

How much power is an average router likely to use over a 12 month period ?

Agent_24
09-09-2010, 05:58 PM
Well, the only thing that needs the internet is me, so when I'm asleep, the router can be too.

goodiesguy
09-09-2010, 08:09 PM
We got a new router and it has built in wireless (though we are just still using our apple wireless thing that plugs into the wall as its easier). a mate sold it to us for $40, and its a decent one too, only a few months old.

lakewoodlady
10-09-2010, 06:38 PM
I'm the last one to go to sleep in my house, which means i would have to go into our lounge and turn off the router, which would also confuse my pc and laptop as they are set to always be connected to the net, so we just leave it on, as its easier

My modem/router is on 24/7 cos the phone wouldn't work otherwise. (NDSL)

LL

gary67
10-09-2010, 07:54 PM
Ours doesn't get turned off either unless we want the kid to go to bed earlier