PDA

View Full Version : Win 7 frezing.



Cicero
06-09-2010, 11:48 AM
When Win goes to sleep,if left for say 15 mins it goes through the motion of opening,but freezes and the only way I can get it going is to reboot via the small reboot button.

inphinity
06-09-2010, 11:50 AM
Has it always been this way? Has anything changed since it was working correctly? Does the large reboot button work as well?

pctek
06-09-2010, 11:59 AM
Does the large reboot button work as well?

:D Large reboot button.......:D

Using hibernation? It is dodgy........

Cicero
06-09-2010, 12:35 PM
Thatsthe little button below normal start up button in box.

New install, hasn't work since the word go!

Lawrence
06-09-2010, 01:28 PM
When I upgraded to Win7 from Vista on a HP I had hibernation problems as stated

Went to the HP forums and the problem was wide spread on HP comp's

Not long after HP came out with a Bios update to correct the problem

May be see if their is a bios update for your board or a Forum for your comp to see if anyone else is having problems

Cicero
06-09-2010, 01:53 PM
When I upgraded to Win7 from Vista on a HP I had hibernation problems as stated

Went to the HP forums and the problem was wide spread on HP comp's

Not long after HP came out with a Bios update to correct the problem

May be see if their is a bios update for your board or a Forum for your comp to see if anyone else is having problems

Thanks Law and others.

I actually changed to Win 7 in the hope that I would solve similar problem I had with Vista.

pctek
06-09-2010, 02:57 PM
So what - you did a new install or an upgrade install? Because I wouldn't trust an upgrade.

Cicero
06-09-2010, 04:04 PM
So what - you did a new install or an upgrade install? Because I wouldn't trust an upgrade.

New install on a new H/Drive.

Cicero
07-09-2010, 09:46 AM
I will assume this is unsolvable.

Nomad
07-09-2010, 10:35 AM
downloaded the mobo drivers?

mine works fine, not sure if i have enabled hibernation on mine however.

Cicero
07-09-2010, 10:56 AM
downloaded the mobo drivers?

mine works fine, not sure if i have enabled hibernation on mine however.

Ya all drivers down.

I think they are on auto download.

Speedy Gonzales
07-09-2010, 11:18 AM
You dont get them through windowsupdate. Download them from the site and install them

Cicero
07-09-2010, 12:52 PM
I have driver doctor or similar!

Speedy Gonzales
07-09-2010, 01:01 PM
Dont trust programs to look. Go to the mobo site and get them

1101
07-09-2010, 01:09 PM
I have driver doctor or similar!

Id uninstall that

Lawrence
07-09-2010, 01:27 PM
In your earlier posting on wanting to go with Win7 I think you listed your motherboard.

I would find if any bios upgrade is available for Win7 if any bios update is available assuming there is no other obvious issues

Cicero
07-09-2010, 02:00 PM
In your earlier posting on wanting to go with Win7 I think you listed your motherboard.

I would find if any bios upgrade is available for Win7 if any bios update is available assuming there is no other obvious issues

From another forum........

It seems that if you do a bios upgrade windows 7 see's it as a different machine and just errors out without trying to load. There seems to be nothing you can do to recover from it.
Only option I have it to install another oppperating system on it and then see if I can downgrade bios. See if that will work.

Just be aware of this as not something that will show to often as not to common to have to upgrade bios. Hope this helps someone. ??

Speedy Gonzales
07-09-2010, 02:03 PM
That sounds like a load of bollocks

Lawrence
07-09-2010, 02:20 PM
You have a few on here that can help more than any other forum like speedy/wainuitech etc

Cicero
07-09-2010, 03:01 PM
You have a few on here that can help more than any other forum like speedy/wainuitech etc

Law,I don't need to be told how good these lads are,I have been here for 7 years,

I googled you suggestion re bios and came up with that.

I have this habit of listening to who ever knows more than me,so as you can guess,that is most!

Cicero
08-09-2010, 11:40 AM
Could it be hardware,I may need to get a new box?

Speedy Gonzales
08-09-2010, 11:41 AM
Could be a bug. Its still got them. Wait for SP1 to come out later this year

Snorkbox
08-09-2010, 12:07 PM
So have you done what has been said like update all hardware drivers from the manufacturers site yet?

Cicero
08-09-2010, 12:25 PM
So have you done what has been said like update all hardware drivers from the manufacturers site yet?

I have indeed,didn't I say that?sorry.

SolMiester
08-09-2010, 12:42 PM
Freezing is usually a memory issue?, is this a desktop or laptop?...Try different slots or relax the timings in the BIOS

Snorkbox
08-09-2010, 12:43 PM
No you did not say that!

So you only have problems coming out of hibernation I presume?

Sorry for asking one question at a time but I feel I have to do this for those that don't give answers, feedback etc and apparently do not know the difference between a file and a folder. Not to try and belittle you at all but I can't see what is going on at your place from my place.

Cicero
08-09-2010, 08:46 PM
No you did not say that!

So you only have problems coming out of hibernation I presume?

Sorry for asking one question at a time but I feel I have to do this for those that don't give answers, feedback etc and apparently do not know the difference between a file and a folder. Not to try and belittle you at all but I can't see what is going on at your place from my place.

Ah and there I was thinking you were psychic Snort!:rolleyes:

Snorkbox
08-09-2010, 09:07 PM
Sigh.

So do you only have problems coming out of hibernation then?

Cicero
09-09-2010, 07:35 AM
Sigh.

So do you only have problems coming out of hibernation then?

A desktop Solly.

When I leave the computer for more than half an hour,not sure exactly when it decides it's not going to open again withouth the reboot button.
Usually I move the mouse and it start up,but instead...



it brings up the welcome page, goes throgh the motion of doing the right thing but then freezes,at which point I have no alternative but to get a pecil out and give it what for!

SolMiester
09-09-2010, 09:22 AM
Okay, so AHCI instructions wake all the components however the box freezes!?....You have a memory issue, not 100% compatible or the memory isnt running at its best timings for stablilty. SO, take out your RAM, get SKU details and look up the memory timing and set your BIOS to match, or the memory could just be faulty...replace!

Cicero
09-09-2010, 09:40 AM
Okay, so AHCI instructions wake all the components however the box freezes!?....You have a memory issue, not 100% compatible or the memory isnt running at its best timings for stablilty. SO, take out your RAM, get SKU details and look up the memory timing and set your BIOS to match, or the memory could just be faulty...replace!

Thanks for that,will pass on to Rob 99,he does my hardware stuff.

Speedy Gonzales
09-09-2010, 09:56 PM
This sound like your prob?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982635

SolMiester
10-09-2010, 09:14 AM
This sound like your prob?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982635

Dont think so, he said the PC was freezing and required power off then power on....

Cicero
10-09-2010, 09:34 AM
This sound like your prob?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/982635

Sounds like my problem,but didn't get the solution,I mean I do not understand it.

Speedy Gonzales
10-09-2010, 09:36 AM
Well request the hotfix, it gets emailed, install it. Then you'll find out

Cicero
15-09-2010, 08:21 AM
Whilst waiting for Rob to come and look at this mess,I now find that all seems to be working reasonably well.

I have done nothing,other than what has been discussed.