PDA

View Full Version : wifi security

globe
01-09-2010, 08:56 PM
have got a laptop and it has wifi. at work i can log onto the local public wireless network (parnell) that is free.

Providing I have got windows firewall and mse turned on is that all the security i need or do i need to install / initiate other software ?

am running windows 7.

thanks

nedkelly
01-09-2010, 10:14 PM
It should be good enough, I think windows Vista and 7 block things if you are on a public connection, but not sure if you have to do it or if it is automatic

globe
01-09-2010, 10:43 PM
It should be good enough, I think windows Vista and 7 block things if you are on a public connection, but not sure if you have to do it or if it is automatic

cool thanks. as i'm completely new to Windows 7 any ideas where i might look for this setting ?

On a slightly different note, if i get a wireless router at home can both a macbook and a windows machine use the same wireless router/connection ?

nedkelly
01-09-2010, 10:50 PM
Hmm sorry I dont use 7, I think it is in Network and Sharing center.
Yes, does not matter what the devices are running for the operating system, the hardware does the same job.

Speedy Gonzales
01-09-2010, 11:01 PM
Yup thats where it is NK

nedkelly
01-09-2010, 11:06 PM
I really should learn where things have been moved to in Win7

Agent_24
02-09-2010, 12:25 AM
I would never trust a public WiFi connection, you have no idea who else is connected and what kind of attacks they might be trying.

Any sensitive data you should route through a secure tunnel to another connection (say your home internet connection) before letting it out onto the internet.

http://www.comodo.com/home/internet-security/wifi-security.php

02-09-2010, 10:54 AM
Hackers & crims can fairly easily fake known public wifi networks, so all your activilty goes through their systems 1st.
Just dont use it for banking etc

Agent_24
02-09-2010, 10:56 AM