PDA

View Full Version : Is 17% packet loss acceptable?



jareemon
28-08-2010, 10:59 AM
I did a slingshot speed test, came up 17% packet loss. Is this normal? The wiring technician tells me I have a good connection and am very close to the box.
Also, when I first changed to slingshot around 3 weeks ago, I was getting around 12mb/s download, now i cant get more than 6 at the best of times. Any ideas?

Speedy Gonzales
28-08-2010, 11:06 AM
Could be the modem / cables you're using

SP8's
28-08-2010, 11:34 AM
Any new phones in the house, other computers connecting via wireless etc.

You probably need to try and give a bit more information like modem / router type before anyone can give possible causes.

Do you do regular scans for virus / malware and what firewall do you have ?

Chilling_Silence
28-08-2010, 11:48 AM
Slingshot issues today ... Saw this coming ;)

Trev
28-08-2010, 12:10 PM
Doing a Pingtest.net test it says I get a 96% packet loss, always has done. My internet connection works alright though.
:)

Chilling_Silence
28-08-2010, 12:24 PM
If you're getting 96% packet loss, there's a good chance you'd be getting disconnected semi-frequently. Somethings not right there ...

Trev
28-08-2010, 01:19 PM
No disconnects. I'm with Actrix.
:)

jareemon
28-08-2010, 01:28 PM
ive got a netcomm adsl2+ wifi n modem router
router firewall and win 7 firewall,
win 7 antivirus etc

SP8's
28-08-2010, 02:36 PM
I have it from a reliable source that Pita Sharples is trying to get the Southern Cross cable included in the Foreshore & Seabed negotiations .... however .... Honi Harawera says the negotiations have stalled so he is doing a Honi Heke and try to cut the cable as we speak.

Reports of this should be on Campbell Live, Monday 30 August.

:devil

Roger Hunt
28-08-2010, 06:36 PM
Any packet loss is not good

KarameaDave
28-08-2010, 08:37 PM
Is 17% packet loss acceptable?
No, neither is Slingshot! :D

jareemon
28-08-2010, 08:54 PM
Is 17% packet loss acceptable?
No, neither is Slingshot! :D
but slingshot has free downloads between 2am and 8am

Chilling_Silence
28-08-2010, 11:37 PM
...and yet for some reason, this smaller ISP thought they knew something that even the largest ISP in the country didn't, about how to run a flat-rate plan and still turn a profit.

Wait a second, that's it, they'll oversubscribe their bandwidth so terribly it'll be un-usable! Genius! ;)

Agent_24
29-08-2010, 12:20 AM
I don't think Slingshot are that stupid: Check their website, they said the unlimited plan is limited to the first 10,000 subscribers.

Regarding the original matter, I just checked mine, 0% packet loss, 36ms Ping, 2ms Jitter and a line quality rating of "A"

17% loss isn't awesome, but if you're doing it over the WiFi that may be why. Try an ethernet connection to your router if you haven't already?

jareemon
29-08-2010, 08:34 AM
whats the point in wifi if everyone keeps telling me to plug it in

Agent_24
29-08-2010, 12:15 PM
whats the point in wifi if everyone keeps telling me to plug it in

You don't have to use ethernet all the time, I was suggesting you use it just to test the packet loss.

If your packet loss goes to 0% when you use ethernet, then it's your WiFi which is losing packets...

jareemon
29-08-2010, 05:36 PM
it's not worth it :p
the router is up higher than i am tall, in a narrow wardrobe, in a cold tiny room that no one ever enters. it's probably got spiders and cobwebs everywhere. im scared of spiders.

Agent_24
29-08-2010, 05:44 PM
it's not worth it :p
the router is up higher than i am tall, in a narrow wardrobe, in a cold tiny room that no one ever enters. it's probably got spiders and cobwebs everywhere. im scared of spiders.

:stare: What kind of house do you live in? :lol:

jareemon
29-08-2010, 07:23 PM
it's a weird house.

Trev
03-09-2010, 05:03 PM
Doing a Pingtest.net test it says I get a 96% packet loss, always has done. My internet connection works alright though.
:)
Bought a new router. A Linksys Wireless-N Home ADSL2+ Modem Router model number WAG120N. Ran a Pingtest.net test and got 0% packer loss. My old router was a Belkin ADSL2+ router Model F5D5630au4. It was about 4 or 5 years old. Pages pop up alot quicker with the new router. Will keep the Belkin as a spare.
:)

Chilling_Silence
03-09-2010, 05:04 PM
Great to hear Trev! :)

jareemon
03-09-2010, 11:36 PM
nice, did you get much of a raw speed increase?

Trev
04-09-2010, 10:30 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/939649216.png (http://www.speedtest.net) I use to get around the 4 to 5 MB/ps, mind you that depends on what time of day/night I did the test.
:)