PDA

View Full Version : Second Monitor



dpDesignz
27-08-2010, 10:29 PM
I am wanting to add a second monitor to my computer. Can I have some recommendations on how I should do this? I am thinking about getting a PCI card (but can't seem to find where to get one), but I've also seen usb to VGA plugs. Any suggestions?
I am using a Compaq Presario 2100AN. Specs can be found here (http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Product/41869/HP-Compaq-PC-system-CQ2100-Atom-230-1GB-160GB-XP)

Thanks in advance

Speedy Gonzales
27-08-2010, 10:36 PM
Be better if you buy a new system. It looks like it has PCI-E. You could buy another videocard, but the power supply will probably have to be replaced to support it

The Error Guy
27-08-2010, 10:37 PM
USB to VGA > doubt the performance from that would be very good. not an expert but I assume encoding the data and the through putting to to the USB/VGA would be quite intensive for the PCI card choose your specs and it will recommend one based on that http://pricespy.co.nz/category.php?k=350

dpDesignz
27-08-2010, 10:47 PM
thanks for that. great help. :)

Agent_24
28-08-2010, 12:06 AM
Wow.. that is one tiny motherboard! I found a better link
(http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/product?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3917883&)

Your PC has a 1x PCI-E slot and not much else...

You can get 1x PCI-E cards, and they will most likely support dual monitors already, which you may need if the onboard VGA is disabled automatically when you add another card.

Any of these should be OK: http://pricespy.co.nz/category.php?k=350#rparams=k=s57316197

feersumendjinn
28-08-2010, 12:10 AM
This is probably the only way you can do what you want on that machine
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/
These guys look like the agent in NZ

Tel: +64 9 415 6220
Email: sales@datastor.co.nz
because if your link in the original post is correct, you only have one expansion slot in it and thats a PCI-E 1x slot plus your PSU is only rated at 65 watts (!?) (waay too small), like Speedy said a new system with more power/speed/capabilities would be the go.

feersumendjinn
28-08-2010, 12:40 AM
Wow.. that is one tiny motherboard!
Certainly is dinky!

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01635697&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3917883

dpDesignz
12-10-2010, 02:24 PM
Thanks for that. Yea it is really small. The main reason I got it originally. My logitech sub is bigger. :). I bought it back in January before I started working, that's why I wanted dual for graphics work. Now looking at getting a new computer anyway. But thanks.