PDA

View Full Version : New RAM old Machine??



06-09-2001, 10:57 PM
hi,
Friend of mine is trying to run games on his celeron 500, 32meg TnT2 M64 graphics card, Win98se, 64meg Ram. It does run them but can get sluggish, and seems to constanly load them, with huge pauses and delays. Would adding ram help?

If so, will a new stick of 64 or 128 meg pc133mhz sdram work?? can you stick new sdram into an older machine (mainboard etc unknown sorry)

Thanks in advance

06-09-2001, 11:37 PM
adding 128ram would be sweet.
what games are you trying to run?? the tnt2m64 is going to be holding the system back a bit, you will have to tone down the graphics on some of the games to get decent frame rates.

06-09-2001, 11:49 PM
thanx for the help.
I know that much, but we have to live with the old tnt2, im just wondering if i bought new ram, would it work or fit in??

runing, halflife +mods, some flight sims, close combat, and the real reason, Max Payne

thanx