PDA

View Full Version : HELP with hard drive viewing



kwikfix
19-08-2010, 09:16 PM
:confused:

ok my hard drive on laptop crapped out so i removed and replaced the drive,brought external hard drive case with usb cord put craped out drive in case,now i want to retrieve some info off craed out drive but it wont let me,
craped out drive shows up then i go and open it and it tells me it needs to be formatted.
i dont want to do this i think as it will wipe all data off it
how do i get the infomation off the drive and put it on my new drive in my laptop
someone help :badpc:

Snorkbox
19-08-2010, 09:24 PM
Perhaps the drive is stuffed which would be why you would replace same.

Don't format it or further play about with it.

The fact that the drive shows up is a good start toward recovery.

More info needed.

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 09:31 PM
Perhaps the drive is stuffed which would be why you would replace same.

Don't format it or further play about with it.

The fact that the drive shows up is a good start toward recovery.

More info needed.

i just want to use old drive as portable hard drive but would like to get some stuff off it or at least access it
i not shaw what other info to give sorry

Snorkbox
19-08-2010, 09:41 PM
Well operating system, make and model of PC, make and model of hard drives would be a good start if you want data back.

Sorry but I forgot to welcome you to PressF1.

gary67
19-08-2010, 09:45 PM
Where in New Zealand do you live as it seems this task might be beyond your skill set

feersumendjinn
19-08-2010, 09:45 PM
how do i get the information off the drive and put it on my new drive in my laptop
You most likely can't recover the drive yourself, sounds as if the file system is corrupted (is why it wants to be reformatted (dont do that!, you will lose everything)), take it to a data recovery specialist (like these guys http://www.datarecovery.co.nz/datarecovery.html ), will cost though (but if you must have your data....). Dont mess with the drive any more as further attempts will reduce the likelihood of getting any data off it.
Did/do you have any recovery discs to reinstall windows with?

SP8's
19-08-2010, 09:48 PM
I think you might have to put the old HD in the external case and then hook it up to a working system to find out what's going on and transfer your backup stuff to discs or other backup drive.

You don't actually say whether you've put an OS on the new HD in the lappy - if not, maybe the lappy is asking to format the new HD, not the external one.

SP8's
19-08-2010, 09:51 PM
Where in New Zealand do you live as it seems this task might be beyond your skill set

+1

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 09:59 PM
ok new hard drive is working fine and im running the lovely vista and have all the recovery discs

MY PROBLEM IS I CANT READ ANY INFO OFF THE OLD HARD DRIVE
IT SHOWS UP ON COMPUTER AS CONECTED (VIA EXTERNAL CASE AND USB CORD) I GO TO OPEN THE DRIVE AND ALL IT SAYS IS PLEASE FORMAT
THE DRIVE WAS RUNNING WINDOWS VISTA IT IS OUT OF MY TOSHIBA A200 SATALILE PRO HARD DRIVE THAT HAS CRAPPED ITSELF IS HAITASHI (SOMETHING LIKE THAT) 120 gig



GARY67 what does it matter where i live as for skill set F**K off this is a help form is it not????

Speedy Gonzales
19-08-2010, 10:02 PM
Chill out dude. He doesnt want to know your address.. Depending on where you live, someone here maybe able to help you. And no need to yell, we're not deaf

GameJunkie
19-08-2010, 10:05 PM
ok new hard drive is working fine and im running the lovely vista and have all the recovery discs

MY PROBLEM IS I CANT READ ANY INFO OFF THE OLD HARD DRIVE
IT SHOWS UP ON COMPUTER AS CONECTED (VIA EXTERNAL CASE AND USB CORD) I GO TO OPEN THE DRIVE AND ALL IT SAYS IS PLEASE FORMAT
THE DRIVE WAS RUNNING WINDOWS VISTA IT IS OUT OF MY TOSHIBA A200 SATALILE PRO HARD DRIVE THAT HAS CRAPPED ITSELF IS HAITASHI (SOMETHING LIKE THAT) 120 gig



GARY67 what does it matter where i live as for skill set F**K off this is a help form is it not????

settle down, he's just trying to help.

and there's no need to write in capitals, looks as though your shouting at those giving up their time to help you.

SoniKalien
19-08-2010, 10:05 PM
You're going to need to install some data recovery software of sorts such as R-Studio. Most will cost however, well the good ones do anyway.

gary67
19-08-2010, 10:08 PM
I guess you don't want any help then. Tough luck

SP8's
19-08-2010, 10:08 PM
Kwikfux ..... People can only help when you are pleasant and give adequate information to give you the correct advise to stop you from completely fu@k!ng your equipment up.

I suggest you do the same as you told Gary67 to .....

Snorkbox
19-08-2010, 10:08 PM
ok new hard drive is working fine and im running the lovely vista and have all the recovery discs

MY PROBLEM IS I CANT READ ANY INFO OFF THE OLD HARD DRIVE
IT SHOWS UP ON COMPUTER AS CONECTED (VIA EXTERNAL CASE AND USB CORD) I GO TO OPEN THE DRIVE AND ALL IT SAYS IS PLEASE FORMAT
THE DRIVE WAS RUNNING WINDOWS VISTA IT IS OUT OF MY TOSHIBA A200 SATALILE PRO HARD DRIVE THAT HAS CRAPPED ITSELF IS HAITASHI (SOMETHING LIKE THAT) 120 gig



GARY67 what does it matter where i live as for skill set F**K off this is a help form is it not????

OK. I was going to help maybe but after that post I have suddenly became rather unmotivated for some reason.

There may be people near you that could recover your data for free rather than you paying a heap possibly.

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:09 PM
Well operating system, make and model of PC, make and model of hard drives would be a good start if you want data back.

Sorry but I forgot to welcome you to PressF1.

vista home preium toshiba a200 satalite pro hard drive that wont play the game is haitachi hts541616j9sa00 5400rpm sata 160gb

i have put it into an external case and connected it to laptop it reconizes the external drive but wont let me open it and come up this drive is not formated would you like to format
i have not formatted it

Snorkbox
19-08-2010, 10:12 PM
As I just said. Due to your other post I have lost motivation.

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:13 PM
settle down, he's just trying to help.

and there's no need to write in capitals, looks as though your shouting at those giving up their time to help you.
ummm thanks

Speedy Gonzales
19-08-2010, 10:14 PM
You may have to take ownership of it first. Before you do anything else. Or run this reg file. http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/112795-context-menu-take-ownership.html

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:16 PM
Kwikfux ..... People can only help when you are pleasant and give adequate information to give you the correct advise to stop you from completely fu@k!ng your equipment up.

I suggest you do the same as you told Gary67 to .....

THANKS :+)

coldot
19-08-2010, 10:28 PM
Kwikfix,
Re: your general whereabouts. If you live within 5km of me I could probably help you. (North Shore). And there are other people watching this thread in different areas who are willing to help - maybe one of them in your street!. It's very difficult to prescribe a cure from a distance and so much easier to handle the problem with some live tests on the spot. Like the local doctor doesn't usually sort out pneumonia via internet forum!
Cheers!

wainuitech
19-08-2010, 10:29 PM
i have put it into an external case and connected it to laptop it reconizes the external drive but wont let me open it and come up this drive is not formated would you like to format One of two things will have happened.

1. VERY badly corrupted drive and windows cant read it in the form it is.
2. More than likely Possible hard Drive failure, Failed sectors etc, once again Windows wont see it.

The data (or some of it depending on what has happened) should be recoverable Via several Methods.

The problem is, without actually seeing the drive and being able to actually knowing what has happened, any software suggested here to recover,may actually cause data lose.

While many peoples suggestions here and their skill is fine, and we do know what we are doing - some suggestions may be guess work.

Best suggestions have already been made -- take it to someone who does know what they are doing, not someone who "thinks they know".

Seen it hundreds of times, where people lose data through "Fiddling", then techs like myself have the hard job of fixing someones mess.

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:48 PM
Kwikfix,
Re: your general whereabouts. If you live within 5km of me I could probably help you. (North Shore). And there are other people watching this thread in different areas who are willing to help - maybe one of them in your street!. It's very difficult to prescribe a cure from a distance and so much easier to handle the problem with some live tests on the spot. Like the local doctor doesn't usually sort out pneumonia via internet forum!
Cheers!

oamaru south island new zealand

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:50 PM
One of two things will have happened.

1. VERY badly corrupted drive and windows cant read it in the form it is.
2. More than likely Possible hard Drive failure, Failed sectors etc, once again Windows wont see it.

The data (or some of it depending on what has happened) should be recoverable Via several Methods.

The problem is, without actually seeing the drive and being able to actually knowing what has happened, any software suggested here to recover,may actually cause data lose.

While many peoples suggestions here and their skill is fine, and we do know what we are doing - some suggestions may be guess work.

Best suggestions have already been made -- take it to someone who does know what they are doing, not someone who "thinks they know".

Seen it hundreds of times, where people lose data through "Fiddling", then techs like myself have the hard job of fixing someones mess.

thanks

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:53 PM
One of two things will have happened.

1. VERY badly corrupted drive and windows cant read it in the form it is.
2. More than likely Possible hard Drive failure, Failed sectors etc, once again Windows wont see it.

The data (or some of it depending on what has happened) should be recoverable Via several Methods.

The problem is, without actually seeing the drive and being able to actually knowing what has happened, any software suggested here to recover,may actually cause data lose.

While many peoples suggestions here and their skill is fine, and we do know what we are doing - some suggestions may be guess work.

Best suggestions have already been made -- take it to someone who does know what they are doing, not someone who "thinks they know".

Seen it hundreds of times, where people lose data through "Fiddling", then techs like myself have the hard job of fixing someones mess.

thanks and i think the hard drive had a knock and then it wouldnt load up again while in my lappy so took it out replaced it

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:54 PM
Kwikfix,
Re: your general whereabouts. If you live within 5km of me I could probably help you. (North Shore). And there are other people watching this thread in different areas who are willing to help - maybe one of them in your street!. It's very difficult to prescribe a cure from a distance and so much easier to handle the problem with some live tests on the spot. Like the local doctor doesn't usually sort out pneumonia via internet forum!
Cheers!

oamaru

kwikfix
19-08-2010, 10:57 PM
Chill out dude. He doesnt want to know your address.. Depending on where you live, someone here maybe able to help you. And no need to yell, we're not deaf

oamaru

wainuitech
19-08-2010, 11:16 PM
i think the hard drive had a knock and then it wouldnt load up again Possible head crash / Damage to the platters ( actual Disks in Drive) or more than likely the read/write heads touching the platter and causing damage, esp if the Laptop was running at the time.

Bugger -- but the only person I know down that way who is good is now in Auckland. PCTek -- maybe she can recommend someone else ?

Snorkbox
20-08-2010, 12:04 AM
oamaru

Would you like to apologise publicly to Gary67?

In which case I would probably get more motivated and let bygones be bygones.

Unfortunately I live in the North Island and can't help you immediately as such. My best advice was to stop mucking about with the drive if you want data off same.

Chilling_Silence
20-08-2010, 04:00 PM
Would you like to apologise publicly to Gary67?

In which case I would probably get more motivated and let bygones be bygones.


I think that's quite possibly a good idea. When I first saw your post, my first inclination was to give you 72 hours to cool down. Luckily you seemed to have calmed down yourself, now it's time to make amends.

PCT Joe
20-08-2010, 04:20 PM
I think that's quite possibly a good idea. When I first saw your post, my first inclination was to give you 72 hours to cool down. Luckily you seemed to have calmed down yourself, now it's time to make amends.

Seconded. flaming people who are attempting to help you is not a good idea. especially on a tight knit community like PressF1

Snorkbox
20-08-2010, 05:24 PM
I think that's quite possibly a good idea. When I first saw your post, my first inclination was to give you 72 hours to cool down. Luckily you seemed to have calmed down yourself, now it's time to make amends.

I hope you realise I was not trying to take over the job that you and Jen do so well but quite frankly I was not going to give help to the OP after the uncalled for comment was made until I had some evidence of contrition.

Agent_24
20-08-2010, 05:26 PM
Say what you want about skill sets, but the fact you came here asking for help seems to suggest you don't know what to do in this situation. (not that there's anything wrong with that, of course!)

However, telling someone to F*** off who is trying to help isn't exactly sensible. Like the others, I suggest you apologize so that we are more willing to help you.

Chilling_Silence
20-08-2010, 05:46 PM
I hope you realise I was not trying to take over the job that you and Jen do so well but quite frankly I was not going to give help to the OP after the uncalled for comment was made until I had some evidence of contrition.

Of course :)