PDA

View Full Version : Identifying USB 2.0 plugs



supersi
19-08-2010, 05:23 PM
From time to time when I swap-around/ plug back-in a USB device I get a little pop-up message saying 'this device could work faster'...see pic.

Attached file: USB1282194832.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/USB1282194832.jpg) (82 KB)

That's all very nice...but how do I match all those different ports up to the physical ports on my Windows 7 PC and tell which physical ports are USB2.0 or could be enabled as such? I have 4 plugs on the back and 2 at the front of my PC case, as well as 2 on the back of my Logitech G15 USB keyboard.

Speedy Gonzales
19-08-2010, 05:30 PM
Make sure USB is on the higher speed in the BIOS

Renmoo
19-08-2010, 06:37 PM
I have 4 plugs on the back and 2 at the front of my PC case, as well as 2 on the back of my Logitech G15 USB keyboard.
Just a speculation here, but I supposed unpowered hubs (applies to the G15 USB keyboard) would not be able to provide you the expected USB 2.0 data transfer speed.

Perhaps you can rule out these two ports?

supersi
21-08-2010, 05:07 PM
Checked that, it's enabled.

autechre
23-08-2010, 09:42 AM
Do you only get that message when connecting to the ports on the front of the case? I know some motherboards only had a USB1 header on the board for front ports and had USB2 on the back panel.

Speedy Gonzales
23-08-2010, 10:01 AM
Whats the specs of the system? Brand / model of the mobo? Did you install the chipset drivers after you installed Windows 7?

GreacherTech
23-08-2010, 10:09 AM
Just a speculation here, but I supposed unpowered hubs (applies to the G15 USB keyboard) would not be able to provide you the expected USB 2.0 data transfer speed.

Perhaps you can rule out these two ports?

That's correct Jamuz

The USB ports for the G15 keyboard will NOT provide you with USB 2.0 speeds

jareemon
23-08-2010, 11:13 AM
bazinga

jareemon
23-08-2010, 11:14 AM
you can use a system information program
www.cpuid.com
to find out which usb ports are high speed and which ones are low speed.

DeSade
23-08-2010, 11:15 AM
The G19 keyboard does have USB 2.0 support.

jareemon
23-08-2010, 11:27 AM
The G19 keyboard does have USB 2.0 support.
he has a g15 not a g19

Renmoo
23-08-2010, 11:44 PM
The G19 keyboard does have USB 2.0 support.
Does that require the use of two USB ports on the mainframe, out of curiosity? Or does it rely on a separate power source in order to provide the data transfer rate as expected from a USB 2.0 port?

Cheers :)

Snorkbox
23-08-2010, 11:52 PM
you can use a system information program
www.cpuid.com
to find out which usb ports are high speed and which ones are low speed.

Except that cpuid says nothing about USB ports that I can see in the version I have.

DeSade
24-08-2010, 04:27 AM
he has a g15 not a g19

I know that.
I was just pointing out that some do and its a viable upgrade if you need that functionality.


Does that require the use of two USB ports on the mainframe, out of curiosity? Or does it rely on a separate power source in order to provide the data transfer rate as expected from a USB 2.0 port?

Cheers :)

It has a power socket as well as a USB interface, the keyboard needs it as does the USB 2.0

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/keyboards/keyboard/devices/4956

http://gamingkeyboard.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/Logitech-keyboard.jpg

Renmoo
24-08-2010, 08:07 AM
Thanks. That's one heck of a sexy keyboard ^^