PDA

View Full Version : Run VM on 7HP?



jareemon
18-08-2010, 01:58 PM
According to M$, Virtual Machine (or as they call it "windows xp mode") is only available with 7 pro or higher. I only have 7 home premium.
Can I still run another os or two within win7, and how?
Also, I'm running 64bit win7, can i run a 32 bit os in vm?

SolMiester
18-08-2010, 02:14 PM
Yes, VMWare has a free version also...
http://downloads.vmware.com/d/details/player_311/ZGp0YmRwcHRiZHcqJQ==

wainuitech
18-08-2010, 04:03 PM
If you want to use XP mode on Home pre, you can also install VMLite Workstation (http://www.vmlite.com/) - then load XP mode into that.

Last time I looked the USB setup wasn't that hot though.(but they are working on fixing that minor problem) From their Forum (http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/forums/16-vmlites/3043-installing-usb-devices)

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2010, 04:24 PM
Use Virtualbox:
http://www.virtualbox.org/

jareemon
18-08-2010, 04:35 PM
and theres no problems with me running xp32 from within 7x64?

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2010, 04:49 PM
Nope, none at all :-)

jareemon
18-08-2010, 05:38 PM
chilly, the virtualbox setup download says x32/amd64, i have an intel64, that's still ok innit?

Chilling_Silence
18-08-2010, 06:02 PM
yup, same thing :-)

jareemon
18-08-2010, 06:06 PM
Got it, installed it, then realised I dont have a copy of xp :(

wainuitech
18-08-2010, 08:06 PM
Got it, installed it, then realised I dont have a copy of xp :(
Thats why you can use VMlite that I linked to in post # 3 you can use the XP mode that Microsoft Supply free.

All you have to do is when you download it, from the OS selection, select Professional or above other wise it wont give you the link. Download XP Mode (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx) - Select pro or above 32 or 64 Example (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/XP_Mode1282118821.jpg) - Select language -- Download.

Install VMlite Real easy to set up (http://www.vmlite.com/index.php/products/vmlite-xp-mode/howto-guide) -- The manual, not really needed, its plain and simple enough.

With VMLite, you have to create a free account -- but thats no big deal.

jareemon
18-08-2010, 08:16 PM
wait so xpmode is built into 7?
what if im running xpmode with vmlite and i get a virus on it or something? how would i 'reinstall virtual windows xp'?

gary67
18-08-2010, 08:22 PM
Save the download somewhere so that you can or once installed create a system image of your entire drive and keep it somewhere safe. Might pay to install an AV on the virtual XP as well

jareemon
18-08-2010, 08:22 PM
installed, it wants to know where my 'xp mode package is'

wainuitech
18-08-2010, 08:23 PM
re #11

Simply wipe the VMlite and start again. OR you can put a AV in the XP mode.

VMLite is the same as other Virtual Machines, it creates a area on the drive to install other OS's. The main difference is its designed to run XP mode that MS Supply.

I see by the Latest Version (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/VMLite.jpg) that there is a new version today ( 17th in the USA) - so hopefully they have the USB sorted out -- Will be trying it tomorrow.

wainuitech
18-08-2010, 08:24 PM
installed, it wants to know where my 'xp mode package is'
Did you download it ? ( see Post 10 I added in links / instructions ) if so point it at the location you downloaded it to.

jareemon
18-08-2010, 08:26 PM
Did you download it ? ( see Post 10 I added in links / instructions ) if so point it at the location you downloaded it to.
I knew that :rolleyes:

EDIT: I'll have to download xpmode at 2am, when our free o/p data kicks in

angry
19-08-2010, 12:16 AM
re #11

Simply wipe the VMlite and start again. OR you can put a AV in the XP mode.

VMLite is the same as other Virtual Machines, it creates a area on the drive to install other OS's. The main difference is its designed to run XP mode that MS Supply.

I see by the Latest Version (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/VMLite.jpg) that there is a new version today ( 17th in the USA) - so hopefully they have the USB sorted out -- Will be trying it tomorrow.

could you post when you find out if they have finally fixed the usb issues, they have been the weekness of windows vm all the way through from xp.

SolMiester
19-08-2010, 08:34 AM
Use VMWare then if you want USB!

wainuitech
19-08-2010, 08:44 AM
Use VMWare then if you want USB! Does VMWare install the XP mode ?

If not then read post #5
Got it, installed it, then realised I dont have a copy of xp

wainuitech
19-08-2010, 01:04 PM
VMLite now detects USB devices fine :banana

From the USB Devices list (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/USB.png) takes a few moments for the VM to load drivers - Then Shows in My Computer (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Capture11282179559.png) then Drive contents (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Capture21282179596.png)

VMlite = Free XPMode From MS = Free -- good deal all round :)