PDA

View Full Version : Rendering Problem?



SurferJoe46
11-08-2010, 07:49 AM
I've watched YouTube for years and I always thought it was a little jerky and had gaps in the continuity.

Until I got an Acer Aspire 5532 LT - and now I can see that it's prolly this old Soyo mobo. An NVidia GeForce FX500 should be pretty good - right?

True - I'm just running a 17" CRT on the ol' Soyo, but I can't understand why I cannot get smooth flow with this system.

Any ideas?

BTW: I'm running the Acer on my WIFI and yet the Soyo is hard wired via Cat5e to the same router.

The Cat5e should be a lot faster than waiting for the electrons to jump through the atmosphere via wireless - again, is that right?

pctek
11-08-2010, 08:47 AM
An FX500, you mean an FX5200? It's rubbish, even when it was new.

So is an Acer - what possessed you to buy that?

SurferJoe46
11-08-2010, 09:19 AM
An FX500, you mean an FX5200? It's rubbish, even when it was new.



So is an Acer - what possessed you to buy that?

The Acer was $100.00 and came with Win7.

It is an FX5500. I dropped one of the 5's I guess.

autechre
11-08-2010, 10:02 AM
What's the CPU on your old PC? It may not have enough oomph to decode the videos on YouTube.
Check your CPU usage while watching a video and see if it's high.

8ftmetalhaed
11-08-2010, 10:55 AM
My old HP pavilion started skipping on youtube eventually too. Specs in sig.
Once they upped the quality/unnecessary coding they just started skipping after a while, mainly because I was driving the screen at a rather high res too.

SurferJoe46
11-08-2010, 01:39 PM
What's the CPU on your old PC? It may not have enough oomph to decode the videos on YouTube.
Check your CPU usage while watching a video and see if it's high.

1.73GHz processor Athlon XP and I have 3G RAM at the moment.

I'll check that CPU in the Task Manager.