PDA

View Full Version : need help with chipset drivers please.



Leslie
02-08-2010, 09:11 AM
Hi all, I just installed a new installation of XP on my nieces laptop, its been years since i have installed new drivers and forgotton exactly how to find the right drivers but remember the chipset drivers must go in first.

I used Everest Program and when clicking on chipset i get-
north brige Intel Montana -GM i855GM
south bridge - Intel 82801DBM ICH4-M

which one do I look for ? I have tried Intel site but can't get nothing.

really appreciate any help.

Trev
02-08-2010, 09:27 AM
Chipset drivers are on the mother board disk.
:)

Leslie
02-08-2010, 09:29 AM
Thanks Trev, but haven't got that disc.

pctek
02-08-2010, 09:38 AM
Download drivers from mnaufacturers website.

Trev
02-08-2010, 09:54 AM
Thanks Trev, but haven't got that disc.
Then download the drivers from the mother boards manufacturers site. You will have to know the mb model.
:)

Leslie
02-08-2010, 10:44 AM
Thanks guys, i am still in trouble though.
I went to the manufacturers site - its a H/P Presario M2000 [PT365PA#AB2 ]
but there is 2 options M2000 CTO notebook PC
M2000 notebook PC

Using everest, is doesn't say what motherboard it has just says - unknown.
but does have an ID- ALL1.86C.1008.D.0508081336.

bk T
02-08-2010, 10:52 AM
Go to BIOS setup, it should show the exact hardware you have.

Leslie
02-08-2010, 11:22 AM
Checked out BIOS all that says is Presario M2000
and system board ID - 09B8

I am at a loss.

Terry Porritt
02-08-2010, 11:33 AM
Just go here and download the drivers:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareCategory?lc=en&dlc=fr&cc=fr&lang=fr&os=228&product=433559#N888

They are the same as for the CTO suffix.

pctek
02-08-2010, 11:34 AM
I went to the manufacturers site - its a H/P Presario M2000 [PT365PA#AB2 ]


Underneath the laptop is a sticker - it has the EXACT model number of the laptop, M2xxxx - whatever. Look for that on HPs site.

Speedy Gonzales
02-08-2010, 11:35 AM
Its probably the ones here http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareCategory?os=228&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&sw_lang=&product=443405#N2860

Under Enhancements - Intel chipset Install util. Dont worry about what the mobo is. The brand/model is enough

Leslie
02-08-2010, 04:32 PM
Thanks very much for all the help guys, sorry I couldn't answer for a while, had to go out, I shall try it now.

thank you

Leslie
03-08-2010, 12:13 PM
Everything seems to be working now, thanks so much, can connnect to the internet but down on the task bar there is 2 small monitors with a red crosses through them, but the internet is working,
I went to control /panel [ network connections] and there is 4 monitor icons there, the top 2 are ' local area connection 2 " and
1394 connection that says connected.

However the 2 bottom icons have the red cross are - wireless connection 2 - not connected and the other is local area connection - network cable 2 not connected.

any help would be really appreciated.

Agent_24
03-08-2010, 12:47 PM
Does the laptop have two ethernet cards?

Leslie
03-08-2010, 01:15 PM
thanks for your reply, i don't have a clue, its my neices laptop , this is the first time i have used a laptop, so my knowledge isn't the best.

also the time keeps on going back to 2004, would that be a
battery inside like the desktop pc's have :rolleyes:?

Speedy Gonzales
03-08-2010, 01:20 PM
Disable the wireless if you dont use it. Network cable 2 maybe the 1394 - firewire. Dont worry about that.. You dont normally use it anyway. Go into its properties and untick the option so it wont appear on the taskbar

Agent_24
03-08-2010, 01:27 PM
the time keeps on going back to 2004, would that be a
battery inside like the desktop pc's have :rolleyes:?

Yes they have a small battery for the clock like desktops. However it is often much harder to replace, usually buried inside somewhere and sometimes even soldered to the board to make things even more fun.

But I would start with opening all the bottom panels and seeing if you can find it underneath, it might be next to the RAM slots or something.

Leslie
03-08-2010, 02:38 PM
Everything is working good, just want to thank everyone for the help, you guys are very helpfull which is really appreciated.

many thanks.