PDA

View Full Version : can't play dvd



GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 10:18 PM
hi all,

my brother got a dvd from the warehouse today(beverly hills cop)
and so we thought we'd watch on the pc .

but neither, MPC-HC, VLC, WMP nor WMC will play it, (and not the 360 either)

normally VLC would play 'imported' dvd's without any issue.:confused::confused:

guess we'll have to use the dvd player on the tv :annoyed:

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2010, 10:19 PM
Do any messages about why it doesn't play come up? That was on C4 last week (2), and on tomorrow (BHC 3)

GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 10:23 PM
VLC: no message, just a big cone- going into the dvd and selecting the video_TS folder doesnt work.
MPC-HC:Copy-Protect fail
the others have a spaz about it being the wrong region

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2010, 10:24 PM
So what region is it?

GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 10:32 PM
region 2.

i've just tried on my laptop and it plays fine in MPC-HC.

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2010, 10:35 PM
The Xbox probably wont play it, since its only 4. Unless its been modded

GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 10:37 PM
yea , but i wonder why it works on my laptop in MPC-HC but not the desktop with the same codec pack?????????

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2010, 10:54 PM
Hmm I take it this is in XP or Vista? What version of VLC is it?? 1.1.2 just came out. Altho, I dont think that'll make any diff

GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 10:56 PM
the desktop runs vista home premium SP2
yea its 1.1.2 on both pc's

Speedy Gonzales
31-07-2010, 11:05 PM
Well dont know, I dont think having codecs will let you watch different zoned dvds anyway. What codecs did you install?

GameJunkie
31-07-2010, 11:07 PM
k-lite mega codec pack 5.6.1 on both.
maybe because my laptop in 64bit?????

KarameaDave
31-07-2010, 11:49 PM
My friend uses this.

http://www.dvd43.com/

Roger Hunt
01-08-2010, 12:37 AM
I use windows vista 32Bit MPC-HC dvd work fine I use the Combined Community Codec Pack (cccp)

GameJunkie
01-08-2010, 07:18 PM
update:

installed DVD43, rebooted , then put dvd in and started up MPC-HC, navigated to the dvd and all is well.

cheers KarameaDave :thumbs:

PCT Joe
01-08-2010, 07:45 PM
Although this isn't necessary now, using DVDfab or DVD Decrypter to copy it in .iso to the computer should work, then you could also make a working dvd copy if you wanted. (This is legal so-long as he only makes 1 'backup' copy)

plod
01-08-2010, 07:49 PM
Although this isn't necessary now, using DVDfab or DVD Decrypter to copy it in .iso to the computer should work, then you could also make a working dvd copy if you wanted. (This is legal so-long as he only makes 1 'backup' copy)
No its not.

PCT Joe
01-08-2010, 08:25 PM
No its not.

Ok, I got my facts mixed up. Copying a MUSIC CD/DVD is ok solong as theres only 1, Copying a Movie DVD is not allowed at the present time.

KarameaDave
01-08-2010, 08:29 PM
update:

installed DVD43, rebooted , then put dvd in and started up MPC-HC, navigated to the dvd and all is well.

cheers KarameaDave :thumbs:
Glad it worked:thumbs:

Roger Hunt
01-08-2010, 09:30 PM
DVD43, So it was a copyright issue.