PDA

View Full Version : GTX 480 Questions



DeSade
27-07-2010, 07:21 PM
Has anyone got one of these cards working?
I know they run hot but has anyone encountered a issue with this heat or noise?

qazwsxokmijn
27-07-2010, 07:29 PM
I think you may be the only one on this that has it. And JJJJJ. :D

I've never even seen one in real life yet, but from all the stuff I've read of GTX 480 users around the net they do run hot, high 90s during Crysis is not unheard of.

DeSade
27-07-2010, 08:11 PM
I am considering getting two of them in SLI but the heat concerns me.

SolMiester
27-07-2010, 08:41 PM
I have to ask, do you have a need for 2?

qazwsxokmijn
27-07-2010, 08:43 PM
I've seen a couple of people Tri and even Quad-SLI-ing these babies. Heat is probably an issue in a mid-tower case, but in a spacious, high-airflow full tower case with a fan at the side blowing onto the exposed heatpipes they should be alright.

Besides, you can always go watercooling! :D

icow
27-07-2010, 09:00 PM
I've seen a couple of people Tri and even Quad-SLI-ing these babies. Heat is probably an issue in a mid-tower case, but in a spacious, high-airflow full tower case with a fan at the side blowing onto the exposed heatpipes they should be alright.

Besides, you can always go watercooling! :D

Quad vid cards :drool

DeSade
27-07-2010, 09:12 PM
I have to ask, do you have a need for 2?

Hah I am sure you know my answer mate :)
One of them is not a upgrade and I always upgrade

qazwsxokmijn
27-07-2010, 09:25 PM
http://www.overclock.net/attachments/nvidia/149919d1270855522-evga-gtx-480-quad-sli-unboxing-untitled.png
Open bench, not in an enclosed case. I wouldn't have four GTX 480s in any enclosed case anyway, too pretty to not be in the open!

icow
27-07-2010, 09:36 PM
Just looked at the picture. Holy F$%#. Do you know what mobo they used. I'm so doing that when I have a lot of money spare.

qazwsxokmijn
27-07-2010, 10:10 PM
Looks like an EVGA Classified 4-Way SLI.

Gobe1
28-07-2010, 11:10 AM
Guy at work here brougt one of these with a single 295 to play games and run autocad and solidworks at home
Made from Playtech and overclocked i7 to 3.8
Have to admit he had the advantage on grid...... :envy:

Deimos
28-07-2010, 11:17 AM
Guy at work here brougt one of these with a single 295 to play games and run autocad and solidworks at home
Made from Playtech and overclocked i7 to 3.8
Have to admit he had the advantage on grid...... :envy:

GRID? seriously? I can run that @5670x1080 with 4xAA and max detail on my single 5870!

Gobe1
28-07-2010, 12:09 PM
They actually use grid as a benchmarking program
5870....nice, oh to have ONE of those

pablo d
28-07-2010, 12:55 PM
i was running a GTX 480 and an HD 5870 in my averagely-ventilated mid tower case...no heat "problems" (i.e. it didn't crash, but yeah they run pretty darn hot).

I'm not fussy about noise so didn't really pay much attention...but nothing out of the ordinary there either from memory.

Deimos
28-07-2010, 05:41 PM
They actually use grid as a benchmarking program
5870....nice, oh to have ONE of those

Who is "they"? no tech website I visit uses GRID as a benchmark tool, it's too old to stress a modern video card, even my 4870 can run it at 1920x1080 with 8AA at max detail...

Agent_24
28-07-2010, 07:05 PM
http://www.overclock.net/attachments/nvidia/149919d1270855522-evga-gtx-480-quad-sli-unboxing-untitled.png
Open bench, not in an enclosed case. I wouldn't have four GTX 480s in any enclosed case anyway, too pretty to not be in the open!

Cooling has got to be terrible on that, I think water cooling would be needed.

Makes me wonder why they don't make a new form factor for boards which support 4 video cards so there is actually a gap between the cards...

qazwsxokmijn
28-07-2010, 07:44 PM
Makes me wonder why they don't make a new form factor for boards which support 4 video cards so there is actually a gap between the cards...
Because enthusiast-grade cards are a small part in the entire body of profit ATI and nVidia makes. I believe around 10 - 20% of their entire profits come from enthusiast cards, the rest from the mainstream and industrial cards like the FireGL from ATI and Quadro from nVidia.

Dual card users (SLI and Crossfire) are an even smaller part of their customer base, and those who use three or even four cards in SLI or Crossfire are too rare for anyone to start bothering with a new form factor.

SolMiester
29-07-2010, 10:08 AM
i was running a GTX 480 and an HD 5870 in my averagely-ventilated mid tower case...no heat "problems" (i.e. it didn't crash, but yeah they run pretty darn hot).



Can you tell me the purpose of such a combination please, as I am struggling to understand how that would work....I guess if you hacked PhyX, you could use the 480 for that?

I really like the look of the GTX460's, would be a perfect upgrade for me!

nofam
29-07-2010, 11:06 AM
I know I've said this before on PF1, but why are manufacturers still persisting with jamming massive, hot, power-thirsty cards inside a case?

Surely motherboard producers could design an external PCIe bus, and nVidia/ATI could just build their cards into an external housing with it's own PSU so you didn't need some 800w monster in your PC.

nVidia are already halfway there with this kind of thing? (http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_quadroplex_2200_d2_us.html)

Not being a gamer, this is my layman's take on things, so apologies if I've missed something bleedin' obvious. :D

Cellux
29-07-2010, 11:24 AM
I have one of these cards.

It's super quiet unless under heavy load (which is difficult to do).

Runs all my games super smooth.

Generally runs at around 47 degrees.
Under a super burn mode test with furmark, it maxes out at 102 degrees. I can't make it hotter unless I overclock it. It's fan has never needed to run over 70%.

100% sounds like it's freaking out though, but I'm sure it's pretty secure.


Edit: oh, and my other fans aren't plugged in. It cools itself fine.

If you ever find one running, run furmark on it with super burn mode. You'll see for yourself, it can cool itself fine. Even overclocked slightly it cools itself fine. Well designed card is well designed.

SolMiester
29-07-2010, 11:29 AM
I know I've said this before on PF1, but why are manufacturers still persisting with jamming massive, hot, power-thirsty cards inside a case?

Surely motherboard producers could design an external PCIe bus, and nVidia/ATI could just build their cards into an external housing with it's own PSU so you didn't need some 800w monster in your PC.

nVidia are already halfway there with this kind of thing? (http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_quadroplex_2200_d2_us.html)

Not being a gamer, this is my layman's take on things, so apologies if I've missed something bleedin' obvious. :D

Well, ATi hasnt made power-thirsty cards since the x1series.....they are now the opposite of Nvidia who I guess, like V8, while ATi do turbo ricers or something!

Gobe1
29-07-2010, 12:58 PM
Who is "they"? no tech website I visit uses GRID as a benchmark tool, it's too old to stress a modern video card, even my 4870 can run it at 1920x1080 with 8AA at max detail...

Dude settle down
i havent been to a benchmarking site for ages, and i cant find grid in there any more. you are correct Things like l4d 2, bad company 2 etc
Any system running a 5970 should be able to run grid at those settings you have, it is a top of the line card, and a 4870 was top of the line when you could buy one also. i wouldnt mind a 4870 myself
I was just comparing my friends pc to my pentium D with a 8500 gt which ran grid ok. His was much easier to play as i said he had the advantage

DeSade
30-07-2010, 06:28 PM
Thanks for the replies guys, will get one of these for sure, not so sure about two right now.

Thebananamonkey
30-07-2010, 08:26 PM
Thanks for the replies guys, will get one of these for sure, not so sure about two right now.

Tom's just ran an article (http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-460-sli-geforce-gtx-480,2694.html) on the SLI scalability of the 460's and found that 2x460 > 480 by 26%. They're cheaper, too. They suggest that the only reason to get a 480 is if you plan on using two in SLI.

I can't imagine a setup that would require 2x480's... are you running 3x30" monitors? Have a thing for more frames than your eyes can actually see per second? A "but mine goes up to 11" sort of thing?

Edit: Pricespy came up with 2x260 1GB at $750-770. 480's start at $720 and go upwards. Assuming a linear price scale (which we all know doesn't exist), 26% more than $720 is $907.20, so the 460's are a pretty good deal.

Agent_24
30-07-2010, 08:41 PM
Tom's just ran an article (http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-460-sli-geforce-gtx-480,2694.html) on the SLI scalability of the 460's and found that 2x460 > 480 by 26%. They're cheaper, too. They suggest that the only reason to get a 480 is if you plan on using two in SLI.

Someone was telling me about that a few weeks ago. I think he said they also ran cooler and used less power. (than a single GTX480) Don't know if that is true though.

qazwsxokmijn
30-07-2010, 08:44 PM
can't imagine a setup that would require 2x480's... are you running 3x30" monitors? Have a thing for more frames than your eyes can actually see per second? A "but mine goes up to 11" sort of thing?
Who cares, if he wants it and can afford it, why not?

I personally wish I could get it.....:crying

pantera989
30-07-2010, 08:44 PM
Someone was telling me about that a few weeks ago. I think he said they also ran cooler and used less power. (than a single GTX480) Don't know if that is true though.

Here is a comparison of 2x GTX460's vs. 1x GTX480. The GTX460's come out on top in just about everything..

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-460-sli-geforce-gtx-480,2694.html

Agent_24
30-07-2010, 08:50 PM
I personally wish I could get it.....:crying

I wish nVidia would come back to the chipset business, especially for AMD.


Here is a comparison of 2x GTX460's vs. 1x GTX480. The GTX460's come out on top in just about everything..

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-460-sli-geforce-gtx-480,2694.html

Yeah was reading it, looks like they do run a decent bit cooler anyway, although power usage is actually more on load (though less on idle)

Overall though, it does look like a much better idea than getting a GTX480.

Except... it seems that the AM3 boards with SLI are pretty much non-existant in NZ.

qazwsxokmijn
30-07-2010, 08:55 PM
I wish nVidia would come back to the chipset business, especially for AMD.
Neh, nVidia chipsets weren't very good anyway.....the 680i was crap for overclocking from what I have gathered.[/QUOTE]

Agent_24
30-07-2010, 09:33 PM
My nForce 4 was great, rock solid and fast.

But this ATi chipset pisses me off.

For example, I can't access SMART status of my drives under XP with AHCI enabled on this one.

DeSade
30-07-2010, 10:05 PM
I have store credit and they don't have any 460's listed so its not a option for me

JJJJJ
01-08-2010, 10:50 AM
I think you may be the only one on this that has it. And JJJJJ. :D

I've never even seen one in real life yet, but from all the stuff I've read of GTX 480 users around the net they do run hot, high 90s during Crysis is not unheard of.

I have two 480 cards in SLI. They are the coolest running video cards I have ever seen. I have "real temp gt" running continuosly and I have never seen the temp above 79.
I think the answer to high temps is a very carefuly thought out selection of case and motherboard and heat sink for cpu. I have an Antec 1200 case,with six fans and a DFI motherboard. This m/b has a good space between the cards and allows a full airflow between them.
The Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B CPU cooler dual 120mm LED fans is the best I have found
Under heavy load my 890 cpu runs in the low 60's and quickly drops back to high 40's, low 50's, when load is reduced.
The cpu is overclocked to 4.2 and runs perfectly.

http://i582.photobucket.com/albums/ss264/gruschow/heat.png

qazwsxokmijn
01-08-2010, 12:46 PM
I have two 480 cards in SLI. They are the coolest running video cards I have ever seen. I have "real temp gt" running continuosly and I have never seen the temp above 79.
I think the answer to high temps is a very carefuly thought out selection of case and motherboard and heat sink for cpu. I have an Antec 1200 case,with six fans and a DFI motherboard. This m/b has a good space between the cards and allows a full airflow between them.
The Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B CPU cooler dual 120mm LED fans is the best I have found
Under heavy load my 890 cpu runs in the low 60's and quickly drops back to high 40's, low 50's, when load is reduced.
The cpu is overclocked to 4.2 and runs perfectly.

http://i582.photobucket.com/albums/ss264/gruschow/heat.png
Can you take pictures of your PC please JJJJJ? :D

JJJJJ
01-08-2010, 03:05 PM
Can you take pictures of your PC please JJJJJ? :D

I'm afraid not. I don't have a camera.
Jack

pantera989
01-08-2010, 08:05 PM
I have two 480 cards in SLI. They are the coolest running video cards I have ever seen. I have "real temp gt" running continuosly and I have never seen the temp above 79.
I think the answer to high temps is a very carefuly thought out selection of case and motherboard and heat sink for cpu. I have an Antec 1200 case,with six fans and a DFI motherboard. This m/b has a good space between the cards and allows a full airflow between them.
The Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.B CPU cooler dual 120mm LED fans is the best I have found
Under heavy load my 890 cpu runs in the low 60's and quickly drops back to high 40's, low 50's, when load is reduced.
The cpu is overclocked to 4.2 and runs perfectly.

http://i582.photobucket.com/albums/ss264/gruschow/heat.png

Agree totally, alot of benchmarks on GTX 480's are done in open chassis so there's no fans feeding the cards fresh air.

I have a GTX260 which most review sites have 50+ degree temperatures in testing, but yet it runs 36 degrees at full load in my system.

This also may have something to do with reviewers using Furmark which I believe is designed to use ALL parts of the card at 100% where alot of games may not run all parts of the card at 100% load.

DeSade
02-08-2010, 05:27 AM
I decided to go with the SLI and 2x 480's after all.

qazwsxokmijn
02-08-2010, 07:10 AM
Pictures are obligatory.

DeSade
02-08-2010, 12:14 PM
Hah of course :)

Gobe1
02-08-2010, 04:09 PM
I have two 480 cards in SLI. They are the coolest running video cards I have ever seen.

NICE, well done Desade

DeSade
04-08-2010, 02:18 PM
Right so the two cards are in but I can find NO instructions how to turn on SLI and make sure its working, the nVidia site has Win XP screenshots which are totally useless.

Can anyone help?

GameJunkie
04-08-2010, 02:27 PM
http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_howtobuild_1.html

DeSade
04-08-2010, 02:57 PM
http://www.slizone.com/object/slizone_howtobuild_1.html

......the nVidia site has Win XP screenshots which are totally useless

DeSade
04-08-2010, 03:36 PM
Outline of the SLI issue here.

http://www.gpforums.co.nz/thread/398771/?s=

JJJJJ
04-08-2010, 04:30 PM
Right so the two cards are in but I can find NO instructions how to turn on SLI and make sure its working, the nVidia site has Win XP screenshots which are totally useless.

Can anyone help?

Should be a "turn it on" (enable SLI ) in cmos.
Look in device manager and you will see it listed twice.

DeSade
04-08-2010, 04:42 PM
The card is listed twice but one of them is disabled, There is a picture in the thread I linked too

Agent_24
04-08-2010, 04:50 PM
Now I may be wrong but don't you have to do something like install the 1st card by itself, then shutdown, add the 2nd card, and install the drivers again?

DeSade
04-08-2010, 04:54 PM
Now I may be wrong but don't you have to do something like install the 1st card by itself, then shutdown, add the 2nd card, and install the drivers again?

Trouble is I don't know, I cannot find a tutorial that outlines it step by step anywhere.

Agent_24
04-08-2010, 04:58 PM
Doesn't the nVidia control panel itself say anything about SLI?

DeSade
04-08-2010, 05:05 PM
Doesn't the nVidia control panel itself say anything about SLI?

No its completely devoid of any reference to SLI, which leads me to believe the card is not detecting properly and probably faulty.

SolMiester
04-08-2010, 05:12 PM
Try one card at a time to verify single operation to satisfactory performance, then put both in!

DeSade
04-08-2010, 05:14 PM
Try one card at a time to verify single operation to satisfactory performance, then put both in!

Yeah I did that, One of them ran stable and fine, however the other crashed the dxdiag, it was a graphical crash also so another reason to believe its faulty.

qazwsxokmijn
04-08-2010, 05:16 PM
If it's being detected then it should be fine.

Look around in the Nvidia control panel, there should be an option there regarding SLI.

Agent_24
04-08-2010, 05:21 PM
Do you need to change any motherboard jumpers to enable SLI?

My nForce 4 board used a switch card... (although I never actually used SLI on it)

GameJunkie
04-08-2010, 05:22 PM
what about trying the card which you say crashes the dxdiag on its own first , just to make sure its at fault?

DeSade
04-08-2010, 05:26 PM
It was on its own when it crashed it

SolMiester
04-08-2010, 05:27 PM
Download MSI afterburner to checj VID and voltages etc.....it has its own version of furmark to stress the card!
http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=downloaddetail&type=utility&maincat_no=130&prod_no=2103

GameJunkie
04-08-2010, 05:30 PM
It was on its own when it crashed it

oh ok.

no worries