PDA

View Full Version : Slow broadband



Greg
26-07-2010, 09:17 PM
A friend has an ADSL connection with her ISP but is only getting close to dial-up speeds. I'm going to visit her to check that it's not a hardware issue, but need some advice on what to check software-wise.

Of course I'll first check for malware, viruses, trojans etc.

She's well under her data cap, and her next-door neighbour is getting full adsl speeds.

The O/S is Vista.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Renmoo
26-07-2010, 09:31 PM
Do a speedtest experiment on her computer and the neighbour's computer. Compare the result after that.

[Edit] Even better, boot up a Live OS on your friend's computer. From there, do a speedtest to see if there is a significant difference in ADSL speed.

narutophantom
26-07-2010, 09:39 PM
May sound obvious but just in case check if she's on a capped plan that gets throttled

Greven
26-07-2010, 09:55 PM
Lots of people use more data than they think. Check limewire isn't running on startup - I see that a lot at work.

Greg
26-07-2010, 09:56 PM
Yep done both of the above. Thanks anyway. (although not the Live OS thing).

Greg
26-07-2010, 10:07 PM
Lots of people use more data than they think. Check limewire isn't running on startup - I see that a lot at work.

Therein lies a clue.... I interrogated the suspect, and Limewire came into her confessions. ;-)

Agent_24
27-07-2010, 11:31 AM
Check ADSL sync rate first, if it's only connecting at dial up speeds...

SolMiester
27-07-2010, 11:36 AM
Go around the house looking for anything else plugged into the phone jacks, including Sky, and Alarm systems.