PDA

View Full Version : Calling all Papamoa/Tauranga broadband users.



ianhnz
26-07-2010, 10:36 AM
Hi all Papamoa broadband users.

I email xtra (Telecom) for, I don't know, umpteenth time about slow broadband.

Normally they say they can do nothing, stock answer.

Reviewing their website, it says we are due to get adsl+2 in December.

However some bright spark, at Telecom, emails back and says we now have adsl+2 but I have the wrong modem.

I have a Thompson speedtouch st53 v6, which I'm assured is adsl+2 compliant.

Can anyone, OUT THERE, confirm or denigh this, please?

Thanks,

Ian

SP8's
26-07-2010, 10:41 AM
Here http://www.ciao.co.uk/Thomson_SpeedTouch_546_v6__6592011

Looks like it is 2+ compliant. Google is your friend !

ianhnz
26-07-2010, 10:45 AM
Here http://www.ciao.co.uk/Thomson_SpeedTouch_546_v6__6592011

Looks like it is 2+ compliant. Google is your friend !

Thanks for the link.

That's why I said I'm assured is adsl+2 compliant. It's was the ignorant person, at Telecom, that said it wasn't.

I'm interested in getting other Papamoa users speed tests, to see if it's true that Telecom has locked our speeds at about 5300 KB's.

GreacherTech
26-07-2010, 12:18 PM
I'm interested in getting other Papamoa users speed tests, to see if it's true that Telecom has locked our speeds at about 5300 KB's.

I'm not really too sure where you got this from?

What BB plan are you currently on?

Where exactly in Papamoa are you?

I'm not entirely sure if there is an exchange in Papamoa, but the closest one I am to is on 11th Ave, I live on 4th Ave so I am currently getting very fast broadband speeds. If you are far from the exchange, you will get slower speeds.

Tauranga and Papamoa DO NOT have adsl2. I'm sorry to burst your bubble but they dont (with telecom atleast) and even orcon who DO have adsl2 it's only available in tauranga central to like gate pa.


hope this helps

ianhnz
26-07-2010, 12:59 PM
I'm not really too sure where you got this from?

What BB plan are you currently on?

Where exactly in Papamoa are you?

I'm not entirely sure if there is an exchange in Papamoa, but the closest one I am to is on 11th Ave, I live on 4th Ave so I am currently getting very fast broadband speeds. If you are far from the exchange, you will get slower speeds.

Tauranga and Papamoa DO NOT have adsl2. I'm sorry to burst your bubble but they dont (with telecom atleast) and even orcon who DO have adsl2 it's only available in tauranga central to like gate pa.


hope this helps
Hi and thanks for your comments.

Yes there is an exchange, located about half way down Hartford Ave.

GreacherTech
26-07-2010, 01:02 PM
Ok well, still no ADSL2

Chilling_Silence
26-07-2010, 01:12 PM
http://www.telecomwholesale.co.nz/maps

Check your address in there :)

GreacherTech
26-07-2010, 02:09 PM
You can check your address, but I'm just saying if the city doesn't have it I don't think Papamoa will. It's way off.

Chilling_Silence
26-07-2010, 02:17 PM
It's possible.

It's also worth noting, I did a quick search, and part of Papamoa is being upgraded in Sept -> Dec from my quick scan ...

ianhnz
26-07-2010, 02:55 PM
Thanks

narutophantom
26-07-2010, 04:57 PM
I have an Aunt that lives on Percy street and she has adsl2+

ianhnz
26-07-2010, 05:10 PM
I have an Aunt that lives on Percy street and she has adsl2+

Sorry, don't know a Percy street in Tauranga area?:

narutophantom
26-07-2010, 05:22 PM
My mistake, I meant Percy Road off domain road.

ianhnz
26-07-2010, 05:27 PM
My mistake, I meant Percy Road off domain road.

Wow, you are right. I checked Telecoms website adsl+2 checker and it says, "Great! This address is near a roadside cabinet which has already been upgraded with ADSL2+ technology".

No fair :badpc: