PDA

View Full Version : Finding broadband peaks/off-peaks



jareemon
16-07-2010, 05:33 PM
Hey guys, I'm looking for a program or a way to find out how I can record my broadband speed at 5 minute intervals for 24 hours so I can see the pattern of congestion in my specific area... any ideas?
cheers
-jared

Kelem
16-07-2010, 05:59 PM
Hey guys, I'm looking for a program or a way to find out how I can record my broadband speed at 5 minute intervals for 24 hours so I can see the pattern of congestion in my specific area... any ideas?
cheers
-jared


Utorrent :D

jareemon
16-07-2010, 06:08 PM
Utorrent :D

That would give a result that is tainted by dependance on available seeders AND broadband congestion, whereas a regular interval actual broadband speed test would be ONLY dependant on congestion wouldn't it?
-jared

angry
16-07-2010, 07:52 PM
That would give a result that is tainted by dependance on available seeders AND broadband congestion, whereas a regular interval actual broadband speed test would be ONLY dependant on congestion wouldn't it?
-jared

record broadband speeds tool on google brings http://www.auditmypc.com/broadband-speed-test.asp and many others. that one says it has logging

:happybday

google is you friend.

The Error Guy
16-07-2010, 09:49 PM
record broadband speeds tool on google brings http://www.auditmypc.com/broadband-speed-test.asp and many others. that one says it has logging

:happybday

google is you friend.

not really answering the question, he wants to record his broadband speed every x amount of mins to find his peak/off peak so unless you feel like sitting up for a week refreashin and writing down all the results for a week this isn't a great solution.

angry
17-07-2010, 02:10 AM
not really answering the question, he wants to record his broadband speed every x amount of mins to find his peak/off peak so unless you feel like sitting up for a week refreashin and writing down all the results for a week this isn't a great solution.

quick read of that toy, says that is records speeds over time. time intervals can be set.

results can be viewed at a later point in time.

other toys in that search make simular claims.

his problem/requirement is not new.

google, the answer to so many questions.

:annoyed:

The Error Guy
17-07-2010, 12:16 PM
Sorry. somehow I seem to be missing that angry. read a second time but could't find any reference to "intervals" on the page you linked. Truth is google is your friend and solution to most things.

this one requires an app to be installed but it has a nice graph. i'm going to try on my VM as it looks ok to me http://speedtestpro.net/

This one requires a manual test but shows the results in a graph. http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/

Chilling_Silence
17-07-2010, 01:10 PM
If you're looking for congestion, try this:
www.telecomwholesale.co.nz/maps
See when your local exchange is being upgraded

Depending on your sync speeds, it's also worth contacting your ISP to see if they think that adjusting your profile would provide a more reliable connection and better overall speeds, even if they adjust the profile so you sync slightly slower.

There's no hard and fast rule that says your exchange is congested, however looking on the Telecom Wholesale site will tell you if you're still on an ADSL1 exchange, which is usually a good indication.

jareemon
17-07-2010, 10:23 PM
Thanks guys, i went with http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/
I checked the telecom cabinet thing, im on an adsl 2+ cabinet and close, too. But havent got a 2+ modem yet. do you think its worthwhile getting one? can i just get a new modem and connect it to the old modem-router?

Chilling_Silence
18-07-2010, 12:28 AM
Absolutely. Ditch the old one.
This may be of use to you:
http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/?p=84