PDA

View Full Version : Dual display not working on HP8710p notebook



hp8710p
16-07-2010, 12:06 AM
I have a HP8710p notebook and since upgrading to Windows 7 Ultimate I cannot get my second monitor to work through the notebook VGA port. When you go to “Screen Resolution” I can see it has detected the second monitor with the correct resolution but the screen remains blank - the notebook LCD screen works fine and is also displayed with the correct resolution. I tried selecting fn F4 several times and besides a short flicker there is still no display on the second monitor. I have tried dual and extended modes with no success. Would appreciate any advice?

Alex B
16-07-2010, 12:12 AM
Have you tried setting it up in the driver, as in Intel/ATi/nvidia usually have their own control panel where you can set that type of thing up. If its not there try install the driver from the manufacturers website (manufacturer of the graphics card)

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 12:22 AM
I have installed the latest driver update NVIDIA Quadro NVS 320M and windows reports that “This device is working properly”.

CYaBro
16-07-2010, 12:29 AM
What happens if you try the Windows key + p?

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 12:34 AM
nothing...second screen still blank. Also connected my data projector and windows and nvidia software detects it but no images appears.

Alex B
16-07-2010, 12:36 AM
http://www.ehow.com/how_5728374_configure-independently-nvidia-control-panel.html

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 12:39 AM
also connected my data projector, windows and nvidia detects it but no images appear. It appears the signal is not getting through

angry
16-07-2010, 12:40 AM
DELL put a dual function on the f8 key crt/lcd some other laptops do some thing simular, i will look at my 2 dv9s when i go past my store and see if i can see anything.

:badpc:

Alex B
16-07-2010, 12:46 AM
still under warranty? Post up serial and pn and i can check if you like. think the 8710's had a 3 year.

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 12:57 AM
Serial No. CND8314KB4
Product No. KE185EA#ACQ
Thanks...

Alex B
16-07-2010, 01:33 AM
Yeah, doesn't run out until 23-9-11 - looks likes it was brought in South Africa

Can ring HP on 0800 449 553 - they may have some clues on how to fix it.

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 10:14 AM
Many thanks...

SolMiester
16-07-2010, 10:17 AM
Have you tested that the monitor is working period, how about a different cable...

hp8710p
16-07-2010, 10:23 AM
Yes, tested it on my desktop with the same cable.

hp8710p
19-07-2010, 10:36 PM
Just a short note to thank everyone. At your suggestion I contacted HP and they repaired my notebook under warrantee. (they replaced the motherboard which resolved the problem)

Best regards
Nick

Alex B
20-07-2010, 08:41 PM
Good to hear.