PDA

View Full Version : Proxy bypass issue



stevesumner
15-07-2010, 03:01 PM
Hi all,

We have a long list of local addresses for which we need to bypass our proxy server, so we use a wildcard for our local domain in the "bypass proxy for local addresses" in IE8 (*.domain.com). However, we have an external site with the same domain for which we NEED to use a proxy server.

How can we force the use of the proxy server for the single external site?

Speedy Gonzales
15-07-2010, 03:08 PM
ip address, if it works?

Cellux
15-07-2010, 03:11 PM
Edit: Or maybe setting up PAC files?


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_auto-config

http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/3882/pac.png

Editeditedit> 9000:
The PAC file can be hosted anywhere that computer can connect to. E.g On itself; on a networked device or on the Internet.

stevesumner
15-07-2010, 06:10 PM
Thanks Cellux, the pac file idea is a goer.

Cheers

somebody
15-07-2010, 06:52 PM
If your clients are Windows PCs, you can push out proxy settings using your DHCP server - i.e. push out a proxy.pac file to use, so that your users never have to change anything at their end other than tick "Automatically detect settings".

The Error Guy
15-07-2010, 07:41 PM
if you use chrome or FFox then try proxy switchy, then set a rule to use the proxy when you visit the site that requires proxy. and bypass proxy when you visit siteX that doesn't need one