PDA

View Full Version : Downloading Fedora 6



Nomad
13-07-2010, 02:19 PM
Hi, due to my course I like to have version 6, would someone be able to provide me a link to a webpage so I can choose which variation I get.

Cheers :)

Snorkbox
13-07-2010, 02:22 PM
Here you go.

http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/publiclist

Nomad
13-07-2010, 02:47 PM
:thanks
What is PPC next to i386?



:)

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2010, 02:50 PM
PPC is the PowerPC architecture. You don't have one ;)

Nomad
13-07-2010, 02:53 PM
:thanks: :thanks:

Maybe this time I would like Linux better, being forced to learn it :D

Snorkbox
13-07-2010, 02:55 PM
PPC is for Macs

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2010, 03:25 PM
Use the latest Ubuntu then, not a rapidly aging Fedora :p

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2010, 03:25 PM
PPC is for Macs

Old macs. New ones have Intel-based CPU's.

Snorkbox
13-07-2010, 03:50 PM
OK. Old Macs then.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 09:03 PM
I managed to get the ISO after 4hrs cos it only had 1 connection thru Download Accelerator. Maybe due to being in the archives.

Question.
CD boots, great. But, then it ask me where it is located, I said local CD, it then ask me for a driver .. huh. I went back and chose HD instead and it said I had no HD and asked me for a driver diskette.

Is Fedora 6 too old? How did school put it on their Dells then.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 09:04 PM
At the course it said it had Gnone Desktop 2.16.0

Jen
13-07-2010, 09:47 PM
Fedora 6 is rather old. I am not sure why they want you to use that. It is like making you use Win2000 instead of Win7.

FC6 consists of several CD images or a single DVD iso image. Did you only download a single CD? What was the file name?

There is also a guide for installing FC6 here (http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-fc6.html)

Nomad
13-07-2010, 09:52 PM
The course uses version 6, so I wanted that so I could work faster by working at home.

Maybe school uses VMWare which gets around that.

I just downloaded Fedora 13 much smaller.

I got the DVD ISO file. I had a quick look at your link. The CD works fine, it just cannot find files for my motherboard after it boots into Fedora Setup after choosing the language. It ask me for drivers for the CD, then I said HD, and it said I had no HD and asked me for drivers.

Jen
13-07-2010, 10:01 PM
What is the make/model/age of your PC?

Nomad
13-07-2010, 10:07 PM
My PC is 2009 Jan - Asus P5Q mobo, Intel Quad 2.33Ghz.

School uses Dell Dimension 3100 I think or the Vertigo series :confused:

Jen
13-07-2010, 10:13 PM
Have you tried Fedora 13 yet? Your new PC may be too modern for the kernel that ships with Fedora 6.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 10:27 PM
I am on Fedora 13 now :D Firefox, not to bad eh .. better than the older days with Fedora. The larger screen sure helps. Now gonna get Open Office.

Jen
13-07-2010, 10:34 PM
Good to hear you got FC13 installed OK.

You should find OpenOffice on the DVD - check out the package manager and select the DVD as source.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 10:39 PM
I'm hopping around between diff HDDs. Now on W7. :D

The FC13 was just a 700MB CD. Does that have Open Office?
I need RPM right?

Jen
13-07-2010, 10:44 PM
Ah, in that case it may not be on the CD. You don't need to manually install any RPMs. Open up the package manager and look for and select OpenOffice. It will download and install OpenOffice for you.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 10:45 PM
:thanks:

Jen
13-07-2010, 10:46 PM
Read this Fedora setup (http://fedoraforum.org/?view=fedora_setup) - it will make things really easy to set up.

Nomad
13-07-2010, 11:54 PM
Doesn't appear to have the Package Manager.

It has Add/Remove Software but the list are huge.

I downloaded the RPM file which I extracted and double clicked on setup but I can't find the software under applications, nor can I open a doc file from my USB stick. :help:

I just need to get Open Office running so I can work thru my book :D

Snorkbox
14-07-2010, 12:06 AM
You can run Open Office under Win 7.Download from here.

http://www.openoffice.org.nz/

Nomad
14-07-2010, 08:43 AM
I need Open Office cos it's taught under the Linux module.

What do I download to get Package Manager?

Jen
14-07-2010, 09:17 AM
You can use the Add/Remove software package manager. Search for OpenOffice.

There is also a guide to installing software here (http://www.fedorafaq.org/#installsoftware). I like Yumex (GUI for yum) as a package manager, but I haven't used it for ages.

If you had installed off a full DVD instead of a live CD you would find more package manager tools (as well as OpenOffice).

Nomad
14-07-2010, 09:22 AM
I'll have a go when I get home. When I had a look I think there wasn't just one OpenOffice it was like many diff ones.

Yeah I googled about YUM. Looks easier to google a article and follow it line by line :D This was what put me off FC5 (?) last time. It's more complicated than DOS and what year are we :rolleyes: I tried Ubuntu in the past too, great improvement.

Nomad
14-07-2010, 09:39 AM
I think I will download the DVD next month. I got a trip coming up so I needa finish this Linux module a bit quicker than scheduled too :lol:

Jen
14-07-2010, 09:56 AM
I have Fedora 11 installed, but I am sure the Add/Remove looks the same. You should have a list of categories down the left hand side so select Office. Wait for the list to populate (may take a minute for the first time) and then scroll down to find the OpenOffice Word Processor application and put a tick beside it and click the Apply button. You will get a message about other require applications that also need to be installed. This is because you just selected the Word Processor and not the entire base system. Follow your nose and let it install the packages.

If you are going to get the DVD, then I would suggest you also install KDE (another desktop environment) as it does things differently to Gnome and will give you another perspective on a modern Linux desktop. You can pick which desktop environment to load at login time and switch between them with ease. I personally find Gnome borderline ugly and too minimalistic. :p

Nomad
14-07-2010, 10:03 AM
Thanks Jen

Yeah that looks familiar, there wasn't just one thing for all of Open Office. Do that tonight, may get the DVD next month due to my cap :D Maybe I need to put FC on one system and force to use it. The original theme looks ugly, it's like a mixture of Mac and Windows 3.1.

Nomad
14-07-2010, 07:35 PM
I have Open Office Writer installed :D Just that when you click on Office the list is not alphabetical. I did download the 180 ish MB but will look into RPM work later on .... :p

I don't have KDE but it works. Firefox is loaded. I find it okay. It is just not mainstream. Not as familiar as a work or school's computer. Cannot buy software and games outside. Doesn't work with window software natively that I have become accustomed to. I feel like a minority.

Jen
14-07-2010, 07:40 PM
It is just not mainstream. Not as familiar as a work or school's computer. Cannot buy software and games outside. Doesn't work with window software natively that I have become accustomed to. I feel like a minority.Ah ... it is Linux - not Windows. If you were hoping for a Windows clone to make things familiar then you picked the wrong OS.