PDA

View Full Version : Are some modem/routers faster than others?



mzee
12-07-2010, 09:05 PM
Are some modem/routers faster than others?

I use a DSE 4 port Modem/Router. The local computer store told me that I should upgrade to get extra speed. I came back armed with an
Airlive wt2000-ARM 4 port ADSL/2 Wireless 4 port modem/router.

Anyway, I spent 3 days trying to set it up but tho it said that there was a connection nothing came through, so I took it back.

What are the chances of the Broadband speed improving with another modem, bearing in mind that it is ADSL?

Speed is usually 3 to 3.5Mbs with Vodafone.

Greven
12-07-2010, 09:43 PM
Your DSE router is probably ADSL1 & you can achieve better speeds with an ADSL2+ router. I've never heard of Airlive - did the computer store sell it to you?

Why did the computer store tell you to upgrade? Were you having problems?

wainuitech
12-07-2010, 10:18 PM
If a router is playing up then it can cause all sorts of speed problems. Some routers appear faster than others, and in a way some are - usually the more $$$ ones.

Is This the router (http://www.airlive.com/product/product_3.jsp?pdid=PD1217407898724)

@ Greven This is airlive (http://www.airlive.com/)

Just had a look at the manual, looks easy enough, as long as the Username/Password are correct, the VPI=0 and VCI=100 and set to PPPoA, Encapsulation=VC-MUX should work.

fred_fish
12-07-2010, 10:30 PM
Are some modem/routers faster than others?
Depends how hard you throw them :)


Speed is usually 3 to 3.5Mbs with Vodafone.
At that speed it is unlikely that an ADSL1 modem is holding you back, they should go up to about 7Mbs without issue.
Bad modems generally exhibit symptoms like frequently dropping connections, rather than a solid slow one.
What speed does your plan advertise?

Chilling_Silence
12-07-2010, 11:00 PM
Some *do* sync faster than others, some also sync more reliably than others. Airlive are mediocre at best in my experience, though that was a few years ago now.

Go with a Linksys AM300 or a NetComm NB6Plus4Wn and see how you get on.

What was the make / model of the *old* DSE router?

decibel
12-07-2010, 11:31 PM
Speed is usually 3 to 3.5Mbs with Vodafone.

Before you go wasting money, find out what your neighbours are getting, if you are all similar, then there's nothing much you can do.

pctek
13-07-2010, 08:53 AM
Airlive wt2000-ARM 4 port ADSL/2 Wireless 4 port modem/router.

Anyway, I spent 3 days trying to set it up but tho it said that there was a connection nothing came through, so I took it back.
.

If your exchange has been upgraded to support ADSL2+ then yes, you'd need an ADSL 2+ modem.

But as your speed is low I'd say that isn't the case.

No harm in having it though if you are scheduled to be upgraded.

As for the no connection - I'd say you just haven't set it up right - ring your ISP for some help with it.

Chilling_Silence
13-07-2010, 10:50 AM
To be honest, the differences I've noticed between modems is around 10-15%. So we're talking on a 14m/bit line, some crappier routers would sync at 12m/bit, while the faster ones would attain 14m/bit.

Then you have the routers that attain the higher speeds, but are unreliable, and the routers which attain slightly slower speeds (Such as the Draytek DV120) but are * incredibly* reliable!

To be honest, it's probably not worth barking up that tree. see http://www.telecomwholesale.co.nz/maps for when your area gets the ADSL2+ roadside cabinets.

1101
13-07-2010, 10:57 AM
Speed is usually 3 to 3.5Mbs with Vodafone.

Is that the dsl connect speed or actual download speed??
Ive found that the limiting factor is usually the ISP(or local telecom exchange) , not the router. Try a speedtest (nzdsl.co.nz)
I would love to be getting 3Mbs

mzee
13-07-2010, 07:52 PM
The subject of the Router came up when my Broadband slowed down to a crawl, and Vodafone said that all was well at their end. I borrowed the AirLive (good customer :-) to ensure that it was not my old router, which is now working perfectly. After 3 days Vodafone admitted that the fault was theirs and fixed it. I tried the AirLive again when the Broadband was working again & the DSE working as well. I tried all the settings but no transmission.

The DSE router has been very reliable, sometimes the speed drops & it just needs switching off for a few seconds, this happens about once a month.

I have a Linkseys wireless switch on it for the 3 laptops.

1101
14-07-2010, 02:18 PM
Help desk script:
0) blame customer
1) blame customers cabling
2) ask for all phones to be unplugged. Ignore plea's that its a business with
separate phone lines in constant use.
3) blame customers router config
4) blame customers router
5) insist router is reset/defaulted. Ignore plea's that this will take down
their local network. Ignore the fact that a 2nd NEW router was also tried, both show DSL to be down.
5) go back to 1
6) refuse to check for ISP/exchange fault untill all 5 above have been done by customer , several times. Put them on hold for 5minutes then go to 5)
7) never acknowledge even a slight possibility of a telecom fault
8) never update network status on webpage,or on pre-recorded message on help 0800 number.

rumpty
14-07-2010, 04:41 PM
Before you go wasting money, find out what your neighbours are getting, if you are all similar, then there's nothing much you can do.

Good point. I had interesting encounter with "local limitations" where my son lives, in the Kaukapakapa area. Wondered why he was only getting 1.3 - 1.5Mb/s download speed, when his sync speeds were 7616 d/l and 640 u/l, with download attenuation only 12db.

Telecom responded very promptly to my helpdesk email, to say that the equipment installed in his local cabinet had this 1.5Mb/s limitation because of backhaul limitations. What a pity, with the potential of that great connection to the cabinet!

Chilling_Silence
14-07-2010, 07:54 PM
Many older exchanges / cabinets were oversubscribed and underpowered. All the newer ones like the Whisper cabinets get Fibre to them, with enough gear in them to even provide Fibre to customer residence.

decibel
14-07-2010, 07:59 PM
Telecom responded very promptly to my helpdesk email, to say that the equipment installed in his local cabinet had this 1.5Mb/s limitation because of backhaul limitations. What a pity, with the potential of that great connection to the cabinet!

Yes, the infamous Conklin mini-dslam; thank goodness they're not buying them anymore !!

PPp
14-07-2010, 09:36 PM
Help desk script:
0) blame customer
1) blame customers cabling
2) ask for all phones to be unplugged. Ignore plea's that its a business with
separate phone lines in constant use.
3) blame customers router config
4) blame customers router
5) insist router is reset/defaulted. Ignore plea's that this will take down
their local network. Ignore the fact that a 2nd NEW router was also tried, both show DSL to be down.
5) go back to 1
6) refuse to check for ISP/exchange fault untill all 5 above have been done by customer , several times. Put them on hold for 5minutes then go to 5)
7) never acknowledge even a slight possibility of a telecom fault
8) never update network status on webpage,or on pre-recorded message on help 0800 number.

Sorry not just Telecom, I'm moving on from my present ISP in an effort to get some semblance of service and 10X speed increase to maybe 1.0-1.5Mbs. This script does resonate with me!!!!!!!!! (You don't know how lucky you are in suburbia.)